Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you start reading this you will never put it down, 4 Nov 2008
By 
A. Hewes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
Loved this book, normally I read crime fiction such as Jeffrey Deaver but this was up there with the best thrillers I have ever read. Loads of plot twists, action, amazing characters and really thought provoking. I was just disappointed it had to end, still wanted to know more about the characters. A thoroughly good read and would make an amazing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 28 Mar 2008
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
Found Bite was a gripping, entertaining read which kept me enthralled right until the end!
Having grown up in Africa (albeit Southern Africa) I found the descriptions of Africa, both cultural and environmental to be very accurate and evocative.
I would love to see this at the top of the best seller list or even better, on the big screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars danged skeeters, 5 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
Wow! Started to read at 19.00 and finished at 00.10. Really couldn't put it down. Lots of gripping twists, then a twist on the twist. In the end Max could trust no one, and maybe the bad guys would win. Read it to find out. Me, I'm waiting for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was a gripping read!, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Louise Charman "Lolly" (Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Was a great and clever plot and I couldnt put it down - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
A fast-paced and explosive thriller about a subject that really matters. It's quite a feat to twist together a daring and unpredictible plot with a real insight into the way the drug industry works. I found it not only more exciting than 'The Constant Gardener', but more convincing too. There's a truly amazing twist towards the end, and I defy anyone to guess it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't put it down!, 14 Nov 2007
By 
L Barker (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
Bite is gripping stuff. Right from the first scene on the plane I was hooked. It is an unusual subject that helps it stand out from most thrillers. There are interesting characters, that again make it different to many run-of-the mill heros in thrillers. The diary entries are so well written, so descriptive of somewhere you just wouldn't want to be. The whole book is an excellent, gripping read. Get one - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb thriller with a very gripping, believable storyline, 6 April 2014
By 
J. Sheppard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite: The most gripping thriller you will ever read (Kindle Edition)
This book captivates you from the beginning with a cracking opening chapter, then splits into two storylines in different time-frames which build on the intrigue, before they converge to devastating effect for the exciting denouemont. The African back-story, sense-of-place, and central plot line regarding medical research into a cure for malaria are written in convincing detail that make the whole scenario very believable. Best book I have read in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite: The most gripping thriller you will ever read (Kindle Edition)
THis was an enjoyable story, and quite a feasible storyline. Having travelled to Africa several times for various holidays, I found it very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Original Thriller, 2 Nov 2013
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
A gripping story with an original idea. Well researched and well written. Lots of twists and turns to keep you guessing until the end. Well done Nick Louth, let us see more of your brilliant work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bite (Paperback)
"Bite" is a very compelling, complex and fast moving thriller. The writing is punchy and clear, even when dealing with complex topics, such as the behaviours of different varieties of mosquito or the mechanics and epidemiology of disease transmission. The plot has a complexity of its own. There are some twists and turns, which gives surprise value but, more ambitiously, there are back stories (the main one being about the male protagonist's girlfriend) and a parallel narratives. He is an ex-USA Coast Guard man turned avant-garde sculptor, working chiefly in metal. She is a biologist who has devoted her life to studying malaria. Her back story takes place mainly in Africa. I do not wish to give away too much of the story, but her kidnapping, just before she is about to present her latest research, is linked to the outbreak of malaria in the developed world. I recommend this as a great read that ticks all the boxes. I was reminded of John Le Carré by the author's meticulous research and careful drawing of characters. The plotting, in its sequencing and layering, again reminded me of the Le Carré, with shades of Tolstoy, as the entwined emotional lives of the hero and heroine are brought to a shared resolution. The level of technical detail, which is clearly communicated and always plot relevant, reminds me of Len Deighton. The grittiness reminds me of Andy McNab's Nick Stone stories, of which I am a big fan, and the (obligatory?) sex scenes - as I recall, there are just two or three that are told in any detail - not only fit the script but, even within the conventions of thriller writing, have an erotic intensity that far outstrips that of, say, the popular Grey's trilogy (a work I sampled but chose not to proceed with, although that perhaps is something not difficult to achieve).
The locations are brought to life well. Some of the antics of heroes and villains are rather Bond-like and larger than life but, hey, this is a novel. It is not War and Peace! The book is perfect for bedtime, the beach, a long train or plane journey or a long winter's evening. Enjoy! I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x1141d228)

This product

Only search this product's reviews