Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suzy's acoustic tribute to Merle, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Suzy Bogguss since I bought her debut album soon after its release more than 20 years ago, for which the title track was Somewhere between, a Merle Haggard song. I've been a Hag fan for even longer. This is not the first tribute album to his music I've bought; that was Mama's Hungry Eyes: A Tribute to Merle Haggard, but this is a very different album.

Despite having plenty of Merle's music myself, I think that Suzy knows a lot more about the man and his music than I, or indeed most country music fans, will ever know. It shows here, not only in her recording but in her song selection, which includes some famous songs but also some relatively obscure songs, although I've heard them all before.

Perhaps the least well known songs are The running kind (from the 1978 album A working man can't get nowhere today, and a #12 country hit) and You don't have vey far to go (from his classic album, Branded man, which also included Somewhere between, mentioned earlier). It is not difficult to find the original Merle Haggard recordings of those songs, but the others are even easier to find.

Suzt co-produced the album with her husband, utilizing just six musicians, who don't all play on every track. It's hard to pick favorites among Suzy's versions. I've heard many versions of the opening track but never tire of hearing yet another. I could nominate The running kind, because I don't hear that song as often as the others, but I think I'll give the edge to the title track.

This is a fine album and a magnificent tribute by one great country singer to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lucky Merle, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
Loved Suzy's music from day one over 20 years ago and she never fails to deliver.All tracks on this album are penned by Merle Haggard and Suzy makes a lovely job of each track, a must for Suzy fans and an education for those who have not heard the works of Haggard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
An album which anticipated a trend to pay tribute to the legendary Merle Haggard. The production was refreshing and less predictable than I had anticipated and all the better for that. A little heavy on the drums but Susie's vocals flew away on Silver Wings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NO LUCK NEEDED HERE, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
This 12 track CD of Merle Haggard, written or co-written songs is not, according to Suzy herself, a tribute album. Instead she refers to it as a collection of songs that she has always wanted to record. She has always been a fan of Merle Haggard since her first album release in 1989, entitled "Somewhere Between".

The arrangements differ from the original versions slightly in some cases, more so in others. Some of these songs were distinctly for a man to sing, yet with her gentle re-interpretations, all seems normal for the feminine touch. A quotation recently attributed to Suzy, read `What I really wanted to illuminate is not only is this guy awesome to see live and awesome to listen to on his records, but his songs are very relatable for somebody else to communicate to other people.` She proves that without any doubt, whatsoever.

I think if you are a fan of songs by Merle Haggard and the voice of Suzy Bogguss, you are on to a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 5 May 2014
By 
A. R. Balstone (uk herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
Excellent cd,another true Hag fan,I think she done an excellent job of paying tribute to the great man.Well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
This cd is excellent. Fantastic covers of merge haggard songs. Would highly recommend this to anyone who likes Americana. Suzy has a fantastic voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this cd, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
a brilliant cd by a lovely lady Suzy Boggus is a fabulous singer with a the voice of an angel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific CD from Suzie, 11 April 2014
By 
M. D. Tucker "MDT Esq" (Chippenham, Wilts., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
Sadly I cannot get to see Suzie live in Bristol this year but this CD is wonderful with new arrangements of old favourites - and I get to play it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suzy can do no wrong, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
Excellent voice and although a tribute album she makes the songs her own. Everything Suzy does is excellent.
Roll on the next release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucky (Audio CD)
Suzy has never got the recognition she deserves. This is a great 'old fashioned' country album but I'm not sure it will add to her following. I'm very happy with it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucky
Lucky by Suzy Bogguss (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews