Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars cant go wrong, 18 May 2014
By 
N. Higham (north west U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
Marillion make a great job of this Christmas song adding various twists along the way. A great celebration of the festive season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grea Christmas Single, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
Good video too (well, it's good if you like Marillion!!) - catch it on youtube. This is a haunting song, and benefits from the Marillion approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
What an excellent track. Ok I may be slightly biased being a huge Marillion fan but even I was surprised. Whilst its obviously based on a classic Christmas song, Marillion have defiantly put their stamp all over it. Three quarters of the way through you are treated to a classic guitar solo by the great Mr Rothery and the ending is great. There is also a bit of Fish era Marilllion in there. I would defiantly recommend this track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great track, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
Great. Marillion are a class act. What a brilliant Christmas song. Only what you would expect from a class act. One of the best Christmas songs I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
I have not really been into rock music for many years now but when I heard Marillion were doing this song I had to listen!! What I discovered was AWESOME!!! What a fantastic rendition of this classic christmas song, with brilliant guitar solos! Wish it could have been advertised more because I think it would have given the rubbish X factor christmas number 1 a run for its money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas Song Ever, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
OK, I'm biased, because I'm a fan of Marillion anyway. But I absolutely love this, and now need some sort of excuse to listen to it after Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
Vastly underated band. Marillion are the band that need to be listened to again and again. Superb musicianship. Should be number 1, next year?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Rocker - with sophistication and feelgood factor, 22 Dec 2013
By 
R. PEMBERTON "theoriginalpembo" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
A genuinely beautiful Carol with a good dose of oomff as it progresses. Marillion manages to achieve what few do - to rock up a traditional carol without losing the beauty of the carol. There is an arrangement of the carol here that could match the most beautiful choral and orchestral arrangements you might find in a classical treatment, that manages to build in some of the heaviest prog playing you would hope to encounter too. I know it sounds impossible, but it is probably one of those things that this band has become increasingly capable of achieving as they lead the way in taking prog rock forward into bigger and better things. Not your Emerson or Wakeman-esque attempts at blending the genres - good as they might be - Marillion manages a blend that feels natural and sophisticated rather than the stitched together attempts of their forebears. You really have to hear it for yourself to understand what I'm getting at. And to cap it all, they manage to introduce a spirit of light-heartedness by introducing the most enduring film-theme of them all - not necessarily much to do with Xmas, other than that, at one time, there would always - but always - be one screened on TV at Xmas - but still good fun, and well implemented,
One thing - don't listen to part and think "oh this is just an up-beat treatment of a Xmas Carol - the rockiness builds up in the later parts of this fairly long (for a single) track. Stick with it and you'll find it worth it - and also get why it had to be such a gradual build-up.
But overall, let's be quite straight - a track to truly get you in the mood for Xmas without kicking you in the teeth with Yo-ho-ho., and plenty of feel-good factor. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great song, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
great song ,great band , and its for a good cause,very festive and enjoyable,love most of their stuff. buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Christmas Tune, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carol of the Bells (MP3 Download)
Excellent carol, with a 007 twist for fun, and supporting a great cause. Buy it for yourself and your friends! You can't get much of real value nowadays for less than a quid AND you can feel good about making a family really happy. Merry Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carol of the Bells
Carol of the Bells by Marillion
Buy MP3 Album0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews