Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Art for the pop conoisseur.
Where would this series be without the staples of ZTT if you need mentioning -Art Of Noise, Frankie, Propaganda and 808 State if you need the names. However this time round overall they feature less prominently. There's fine variations on old themes and Frankie prove they were more than their number ones but the only genuine rarity for what its worth, is the highly...
Published 9 months ago by M. J. Farnworth

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing selection
I was very disappointed with this selection. Songs are badly chosen. Mixes are poor. Does not do 12inches any favours. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Published 7 months ago by H. Hoaran


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Art for the pop conoisseur., 12 Feb 2014
By 
M. J. Farnworth "beetroot" (preston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Where would this series be without the staples of ZTT if you need mentioning -Art Of Noise, Frankie, Propaganda and 808 State if you need the names. However this time round overall they feature less prominently. There's fine variations on old themes and Frankie prove they were more than their number ones but the only genuine rarity for what its worth, is the highly listenable 19min Complete Machinery from the "Abba On Stockhausen". The full 4 part suite of ABC's Look Of Love (first time in its entirety on CD) works pretty also as a full listening experience and i'll argue the most significant project Trevor Horn has ever been involved in.

There's a heady stylish previously unreleased, somewhat PSB/Shep Pettibone sounding mix of Act's "Friendy Warning"- great and some tasteful 80s syncopated brassy funk pop from Stephen Duffy-a fair choice in these surroundings.

Each successive release in this series has moved away from just including ZTT acts. While Vol 2 sometimes featured associated personnel as remixers or artists outside the labelVol 3 includes artists where the connection can be rather tenuous- the dub version of Our House and extended 12" of Sign Of The Times are worth having (although previously released) but their presence here disappointingly seems a bit slight due in part to be the association of their titles to the subtitle of Vol 3 -"A Soundtrack For Living" rather than any highly chiselled and ultra modern ZTT type sounds. You might forget why you got into the series.

More positively theres an enticing new context provided in themes from cutting edge youth TV (plus The Word!)and related tasteless self promotion of Sigue Sigue. Flashy, and frantic and yet a little gauche electro soundtracks neatly erm soundtrack the times. Its a pity though that this couldn't have become more of a defining concept and stamp on the album as the sleeve notes reveal the failure to licence other TV related tunes. New Orders 'Reportage' and Art Of Noise Max Headroom theme just 2 amongst them.

By scanning the net further with more non ZTT artists including tracks prior to the labels existence this compilation feels a little more disjointed than previous volumes.But yet that could mean its possible to listen end to end constantly diverted. Of course there is still more of the same premise- new excursions and explorations in the world of the 12 inch. Where the edited version is only a mere morsel to be bypassed. Indeed there is a Network 7 (12 inch version!) Those in the know might complain of still unreleased nuggets bypassed for more familiar material but there are still a fair share of rarities.Reaching the parts that other 80s compilations don't reach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing selection, 23 April 2014
By 
H. Hoaran "zoid" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
I was very disappointed with this selection. Songs are badly chosen. Mixes are poor. Does not do 12inches any favours. I would not recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music i love, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
the art of noise vol. 3 has bands i liked in 80,s etc like frankie goes to holly wood,sigue sigue sputnik,art of noise, and different mixes of songs i really like and things ive never heard before.its brilliant cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Sep 2014
By 
Patrick Pearson "pp" (mk uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
same as all of these some very good some ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
Good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The art of fleshing out....., 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
I can honestly say this third release in The Art Of The Twelve Inch series has left me feeling quite let down. ZTT have taken to fleshing out their material with music from associate companies that care loosely connected to them....why?? Are they scraping their barrel or are they money laundering their fans by placing musical gems(and there are a few on this release....just a few) amongst a lot of material that sounds and feels totally out of place......The Bell Stars.....Madness.....Eighties shows theme tunes and closing credits are nothing but pointless stocking filler. Please stop insulting the fans with the hands that Fed your bank accounts in the eighties and nineties with weak releases like this...it's very disappointing and insulting. For those that purchase this, I hope you enjoy it better than I did. I will not be buying volume four respectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vol 3, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
If you get this one, you more than likely already have Vol 1 & Vol 2 also. A collection that now waits for Vol 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
how i remember these mixes and tv shows never thought i would be albe to get them all together great collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 (Audio CD)
CD excellent and sounds great, very pleased with the CD. It is Various Artists at their best and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3
The Art of the 12inch Vol. 3 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews