Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Bad
I Bought this version purely for the DVD. I don't think the DVD quality is as bad as people make out all thought i will say the sound quality of the TOTP Christmas special has a strange ticking in the background and the sound drops in and out. Apart from that i am quite happy with it especially having Video Destructo version of Two Tribes.
Published 5 months ago by Soundwave9473

versus
34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ZTT milking it yet again!
I received this from Amazon today and was looking forward to seeing all the original videos again, however, in this day and age I would have expected them to have been digitally remastered, but alas they are not! The quality is appaling and nothing better than you would see on Youtube, so why bother paying for them in that case?

I honestly feel that ZTT are yet...
Published 5 months ago by Me@VIP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Bad, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
I Bought this version purely for the DVD. I don't think the DVD quality is as bad as people make out all thought i will say the sound quality of the TOTP Christmas special has a strange ticking in the background and the sound drops in and out. Apart from that i am quite happy with it especially having Video Destructo version of Two Tribes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Features, 16 Feb 2014
By 
O. R. Peake (Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
This is a great DVD and I can certainly not see anything wrong with the picture/sound quality as some have mentioned. I'm not sure, however, why the TV appearances are all from BBC programmes and why certain BBC ones weren't included, for example 'Warriors of the Wasteland' performed on TOTP, 'Rage Hard' on 'Wogan', 'Warriors' on 'Roland Rat The Series' etc. Of the TOTP appearances that are featured 'Two Tribes' from Aug 1984 stands out as Ped in particular is having a whale of a time away from his drum kit standing at the front pretending he's the bass player whilst Mark hams it up on drums. The Christmas 1984 'Power of Love' is a unique mix of the song (with chorus and different instrumentation) that I have certainly never heard before. So the DVD is certainly more than worth the price especially as the TV appearances are really a bonus to the videos, which should be the main reason for purchasing this. The greatest video, of course, is the 'Video Destructo Two Tribes' which in my opinion is the best music video ever made.

By the way, there is an Easter Egg if you hit the ZTT logo on the main menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Said..Again..This Time With Videos, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
So we are coming up to the 30th anniversary of FGTH storming the pop charts of the world. For fans there will be much rejoicing.Their debut double album "Welcome to the Pleasure Dome: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition" is set for a major super deluxe reissue later this year and the hardcore of us Frankie fans have eagerly placed their orders at another online store.Be quick if you're chasing a copy of the 30th deluxe,there's only 2000 being made.
This reissue of the most recent Frankie compilation comes with a dvd containing all of the vintage 80's promo plus some previously unreleased TV performances.Please be aware that the early original videos are as produced in the 80's and have not been restored or had their audio remastered.The major reason is the unique audio mixes that many of them have.It's not just a case of syncing the vision to the original recordings.They need to go back to the original source material,film and audio tapes,a task that is currently being undertaken for the 30th anniversary.So if you're expecting HD video quality on this dvd you will be disappointed.If you can cope with watching vintage TV "as is",there is much here to enjoy.
Of course it's no the first time that the Frankie video catalogue has been compiled.If you own any of the previous dvd releases and are not a completist,save your pennies,there's nothing new for you here.If you must have everything that Holly & The Lads made there are the nine TV performances and a couple of vintage commercials plus a short behind the scenes look at the filming of a video.All previously unreleased on home video and an unexpected if not humorous bonus.
The cd audio has also been released before as "Frankie Said",it's currently around the same price as the cd/dvd edition which makes this deluxe version pretty good value.The cd is quite possibly the best Frankie compilation ever released.
"Shoot It In The Right Direction...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ZTT milking it yet again!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
I received this from Amazon today and was looking forward to seeing all the original videos again, however, in this day and age I would have expected them to have been digitally remastered, but alas they are not! The quality is appaling and nothing better than you would see on Youtube, so why bother paying for them in that case?

I honestly feel that ZTT are yet again just cashing in on FGTH, without spending anything on post production to bring the recordings into the 21st century.

Unless you don't have the videos or tracks previously, which most fans I assume would already have on previous dvd and cd releases, then there really isn't much point in wasting your money on this con.

My opinion I agree and some might feel otherwise, but just informing potential purchasers, so that they don't waste their money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have Frankie collection., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
Awesome best of collection featuring a 16 track CD & must have DVD. Includes all the hits, a couple of 12" versions, all the promo video's, TOTP appearances including the 1984 Christmas specials, couple of live tracks from The Oxford Road Show, TV ads and backstage. Comes with booklet and triple fold out digi-pak. An essential Frankie purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie says 'Good enough', 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
Great memories. Good CD, good DVD. Packaging a bit on the cheap side (just a card sleeve) but overall very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Still Saying, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
5 Stars is for the DVD. The music a re-release from 2012, but still worth 5 Stars if you don't already have it too. The best videos of the 80's, The rare performances. If you or any of your friends like to have pleasant sounds coming into your ears then this is what you need to buy and listen to and also watch. Yes you could say the people at ZTT are milking the Frankies once again, but what is here that has not been available before will be enough to satisfy the needs of the many Frankie fans that want more from Frankie than what they have already had. You want more I hear you shout at your PC screen, then wait as im sure there will be more to come in future years to ensure every generation grows up listening to and watching the sights and sounds of the 80's phenomenon that was just a dream that came true for 5 lads from Liverpool in the form of FRANKIE GOES TO HOLLYWOOD! Frankie Said........and will Keep on saying it! SOUND AND VISION IS MORE SPLENDID THAN JUST ONE CHOICE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] (Audio CD)
all the hits all the videos what more can be said about an era defining band Frankie said and we listened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD]
Frankie Said (Deluxe Edition) [CD / DVD] by Frankie Goes To Hollywood (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews