Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie finally relerased on blu ray BUT it's edited ...
Classic movie finally relerased on blu ray BUT it's edited stick with the VHS versions or laser disc versions.
Published 5 months ago by Gimmick4Life

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crazy and Hilarious
No Holds Barred is crazy and drop-dead hilarious. Mind you, it isn't supposed to be, making it all the more endearingly funny. Starring Hulk Hogan, this movie follows the adventures of big wrestling star Rip Thomas as he wins the heart of his account executive Samantha and battles the maniacal wrestler Zeus, controlled by the evil tv executive Brell.

In terms...
Published on 31 Oct 2010 by Atli Hafsteinsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crazy and Hilarious, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
No Holds Barred is crazy and drop-dead hilarious. Mind you, it isn't supposed to be, making it all the more endearingly funny. Starring Hulk Hogan, this movie follows the adventures of big wrestling star Rip Thomas as he wins the heart of his account executive Samantha and battles the maniacal wrestler Zeus, controlled by the evil tv executive Brell.

In terms of entertainment, No Holds Barred delivers the punches. There is hardly a dull moment, and this doesn't just reach to the numerous, rather gritty fight sequences, either. As those good people at i-Mockery have rightly stated, Rip would make an awesome pirate, growling and generally destroying anyone foolish enough to take him on. When he's not giving them his guns, though, he's the nicest guy there is, even reluctant to advertise his name (something the real Hulk Hogan never had much of a problem with, if my memory serves me). And of course Rip has a love story with his beautiful account executive Samantha (Joan Severance). Then we have the dubious inclusion of Rip's apathic younger brother Randy, whose range of emotions can be counted on one hand. He mainly serves the purpose of getting his hide kicked to give the hero some motivation to face the bad guy.

Ever-angry tv exec Brell (Kurt Fuller) is determined to pull his tv network out of the depths of ratings hell (largely thanks to Rip getting all the spotlight to his channel). So, after failing to make a deal with Rip, he comes up with a stroke of brilliance; getting a bunch of crazy, testosterone-raving misfits into the ring of the No Count Bar in the aptly-named "Battle of the Tough Guys". Marketing genius. When demented wrestler Zeus makes short work of the competition, Rip sees he has to face him.

Needless to say, No Holds Barred is highly entertaining. There are a lot of action scenes, most of which underline how completely badass Rip is. However, this entertainment often leads into the territory of puzzling, but hilarious, madness. Rip can explode through the roof of a limo and literally cause a bad guy to soil his pants. Hell, he can even defeat two restaurant-robbing bad guys with pies - that's how badass he is. Zeus (Terry Tate) is both good at wrestling and growling and roaring like a maniac, for no reason at all. He barely speaks an intelligible line in the entire film, apart from ecstatically sighing his name, "Zeuuuuussssss..."

The No Count Bar, however, takes the cake. This seedy hangout is about the craziest place you can imagine. Here we have a bar with a ring taking most of the space, so that fights can take place easily. There is a midget who hangs out in a cage suspending from the ceiling, for no reason at all. The bathroom doesn't look so much as a bathroom as the most disgusting alley you could imagine, with urinals overflowing with bile and a dog chained to the wall for no plausible reason. The set designers had a field day on this movie. The characters that hang out at this bar constitute my favourite moments in this film. The Battle of the Tough Guys sees such aptly-named characters as Klondike Kramer and Brock Chisler (who even has a funny eyepatch joke). However, the most mental of the bunch are the toothless Bubba and his sister the waitress. Their interaction with Brell's terrified cronies are fidget-inducingly funny. I can just hear them laugh "Tayeneee! Tayneee!" I'm sniggering as I'm writing this.

As you can see, No Holds Barred is a great deal of fun. It's entertaining and hilarious to boot. It may not be intended to be as funny as it is, but it's a charming quality that the movie would be lesser without. The extreme macho attitude of the movie should also make it a favourite pizza outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A script full of Rrrrraaaaargggghhhhhhhh and not much else., 22 Nov 2014
This review is from: No Holds Barred [DVD] (DVD)
You really have to be a kid of the 80s or just love wrestling in general to enjoy this one. But growing up with the WWF in the 80s will surely help. Hulk Hogan plays Rip Em' or something to that extent who refuses to sign with a seedy rival head network. So that network assign Zeus a one mean mother....... Eventually we get to see the fight we are craving for.

In between that there is an awful plot, terrible dialogue and woeful acting. Hogan is nothing special but his son played by Mark Pellegrino wins the bong award on this one. At least Zeus hates him enough to beat him up a few times. It's all quite mild fun, though there is a misogynistic streak running throughout the movie. Hogan's would be girlfriend is beaten up, kicked and almost raped but the film plays it all with an 'oh well' attitude and nothing gets serious.

The grand finale fight is interesting- though you have to wonder what type of bloodsport society we live in when the audience clap two live TV murders. Bizarre, but probably essential for the wrestling/ Hogan fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie finally relerased on blu ray BUT it's edited ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic movie finally relerased on blu ray BUT it's edited stick with the VHS versions or laser disc versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holds Barred [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift and nit my type of movie but my son said it was brilliant so got A * from him ..xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hulky baby, 3 April 2014
By 
mornau (TELFORD, SHROPSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
those red pants of his,wow.this is a very good film to watch if you,re a fan of hulk hogan or just wrestling itself,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hulkamania roooar, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holds Barred [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Hogan about time was out on dvd. The beginning of wwe adventures into film, cheesy in places but people like cheese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars issued on dvd at last!, 8 Oct 2013
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Holds Barred [DVD] (DVD)
as hulk Hogan's first film, "no holds barred" is entertaining enough, so long as the viewer takes everything at face value and doesn't expect anything original or creative.
there won't be any Oscars due to the hulkster, who is simply playing himself, but he delivers the goods on the action front. in all honesty, the supporting cast don't go much of a look in and that is probably just as well, as it is Hogan that fans will want to watch in every scene of the film.
I have waited on and off for about 4 years for "no holds barred" to make its way on dvd as the video release is quite scarce. the picture and sound quality are very good and certainly far better than on VHS.
I only recommend this film if you are either a big fan of hulk Hogan or of WWE wrestling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a good film but i would say mainly for wrestling fans ..., 30 Oct 2014
By 
D.L (barnsley) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holds Barred [DVD] (DVD)
a good film but i would say mainly for wrestling fans and fans of Hulk Hogan and maybe a bit of over the top acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Holds Barred [DVD] (DVD)
Blast from past but not aged well for completist or collecter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a no holds barred action epic, 6 July 2010
This film is great i dont know how the two leads did not win any kind of film award for this masterpiece of film. For anyone who thinks hulk hogan can not act they must see this, even mega superstar tiny lister jr cannot compair to hogans amazing performance. i can only imagine that it was due to hollywood snobery that he was looked over for the oscar that year. Even though this is an action movie the script is up there with anything shakespear wrote, however you must remember that this is an action movie and as such you might want to keep the kids away. The fights in the film are very gory indeed, I would say they were up there with films like hostile and the Texas chainsaw massacre only with far more blood and guts. But if you can get past that you will find a classic masterpiece that you will enjoy time and time again. or until your old vcr chews up the tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Holds Barred [Blu-ray] [1989] [US Import]
No Holds Barred [Blu-ray] [1989] [US Import] by Hulk Hogan (Blu-ray - 2014)
Used & New from: £7.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews