Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good unit but you need to be computer savvy!
Arrived promptly and well packaged. On opening it was not in a branded Panasonic box and was instruction less which for me was a pain.

I mailed the vendors who said it was a Panasonic unit in an unbranded caddy exterior.

I have a Macbook Air which, I found out, does not have the software to run this unit. Mac and Blu ray do not get on well...
Published 8 months ago by Dino

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor
OK.

It arrived. It seems to work. I'm giving this a low-starred review for the following reasons:

It's not "by Panasonic" as the product page states. It may well have been assembled using Panasonic components (the drive certainly reports as a Matsushita UJ-265), but it also uses components from other (unbranded) manufacturers. There are...
Published 1 month ago by John Peacock


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good unit but you need to be computer savvy!, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
Arrived promptly and well packaged. On opening it was not in a branded Panasonic box and was instruction less which for me was a pain.

I mailed the vendors who said it was a Panasonic unit in an unbranded caddy exterior.

I have a Macbook Air which, I found out, does not have the software to run this unit. Mac and Blu ray do not get on well together!

I tried to find some free-ware but it was appalling so finally, on advice of vendors, I tried the Aurora Blu ray player download. It will cost but it works very well but it would, for me, have been so much easier with some proper instructions and warranty papers included. It would have saved me a lot of worry and hassle.

But the unit seems to do a good job and the Aurora download is first class.

Hope this helps and don't be deterred as armed with my notes, us not so savvy users, should manage well.

The vendors may like to comment?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THINGS YOU NEED TO UNDERSTAND BEFORE PURCHASE, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
Pro's:
- Slick appearance, looks nice; Works well and runs reasonably quietly; Doesn't get hot.
- Reasonable price; 2 bonus Blu-ray discs included; Prompt delivery.

Cons:
- Advert does not make it prominent that this product is actually an INternal drive that has been modified by a 3rd party to make into an EXternal drive. It thus contains a Panasonic drive but is not therefore a totally a Panasonic product. Therefore should there be any problem with the Panasonic product and if the seller went out of business, then would Panasonic really honour any guarantee, given 3rd party modification?
- You need to understand that this product just won't work unless you ALSO purchase 3rd party software, and that the recommended burning software can be very expensive i.e. for me and my Mac it recommends Roxio Toast - which is about £80 i.e. almost as much as the cost of the product itself - i.e. what looks like a reasonably priced product turns out to cost almost twice as much in all.
- The 2 included Blu-ray discs are entirely unbranded and don't indicate their capacity either. The included instructions don't give this info either. (The on-line advert says they are 2 x 50GB).
- The guarantee period stated in the instructions is unduly short (6 months) but you might might challenge that under UK Consumer law.

TIP:
On the Apple App Store you can now buy a cut down version of Roxio Toast (called 'Toast Burn') that just has the burning features you need, for just £13.99, this is what I bought and I confirm it works with my Bly-ray burner and mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, compact and portable, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
Just opened this drive and have it up and running with the Aurora Blu Ray Player software. Tried everything out on a free trial initially, which is a great way to try the software before you buy.

The drive itself is nice and compact. It can be put in to a side pocket of my second skin carry case, which I use with my MacBook Air. This drive is well worth the money, considering the official Apple product is priced at £65. For a bit of extra money, you get something better, because it can play and write to Blu Ray Disc's, two of which you get for free when you buy the drive. You get the other two, when you leave feedback.

Previous reviews suggested some instructions to be included, which I received. The instructions give the names of the software to download depending on your OS. It would be helpful if the websites for this software could also be included. A very minor criticism and the only thing I can pick on.

The item was dispatched very quickly and I had it in my hands within a couple of days. I was surprised that it arrived so quickly. I would recommend the product and the vendor. I'll certainly use them again in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine, 4 April 2014
By 
fallingforstars (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
I purchased this as a replacement for an external Apple USB SuperDrive and although its slightly noisier I haven't burned any discs yet as the unit only arrived today. I have played blu-rays, dvd's and cd's after downloading MacGo Blu-ray player software (just under £32) and everything seems to work as expected.
Are there any niggles?… well the eject system can emit the disc with different degrees of effectiveness but that is a minor point, however, the warranty is only quoted as 6 months which is not at all good news and doesn't inspire confidence as well as not being legal in Europe.
I will update this review after a year or sooner should anything unexpected happen but for now I am recommending this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray burner/player for Mac OS Mavericks, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
External drive M-Disc ready and capable of burning blu-ray media. Aesthetically very pleasing. Does the job perfectly with Roxio Toast 11 software. Price extremely reasonable for such a versatile piece of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works as described by previous reviewers, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
Bought this on strength of positive reviews below, even though they could have been positive to get the two free discs. However the fact remains everything is as described by them - one A4 sheet giving the bare facts and one well-packed slot load drive that just plugs in and goes. Downloaded Aurora Free Blu-ray Copy and am happily ripping my first disc. The two discs were just a nice incentive to post my first review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Apple USB SuperDrive, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
Looks identical to the Apple drive - slick, minimalist, matches up with a MacBook perfectly - but most importantly it's a Blu Ray player. Exactly what's needed for highest quality of film playback without being stung for excessive iTunes HD rental fees. Seems to work perfectly with Aurora blu ray player software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb product and great match for my Imac, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
Plugged into my 27" imac and worked straight away. replaced my superdrive with a nice blue ray writer and am extremely pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great alternative to a portable blu-ray player and more besides...., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
I bought this some months ago, largely as an alternative to a portable blu-ray player, which don't seem to be widely available on the market any more, and I must say I'm very happy with it. Lookswise it matches up perfectly with my grey Macbook Pro, and once you've downloaded the Aurora software (+/- 36 € - a bit of a drag, but it is a must as far as I can see, and I look on it as an investment) it plays blu-rays beautifully. Just one tip on the Aurora software: when you insert your blu-ray initially (this is not necessary for DVDs) and open up the software you need an Internet connection for the disc to be decrypted and recognised. You only need the Internet for that first stage, after which the disc is recognised even without a connection, e.g. if you're travelling etc.. You just have to think ahead a bit. I've also ripped DVDs and blu-rays with the drive (partly to transfer to my iPad) using MakeMKV followed by Handbrake and that works well too. All in all a very nifty piece of equipment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drive, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic UJ-265 (Silver) Slim Slot In External USB 3.0 3D XL DL TL QL Blu-Ray / DVD / CD Drive / Burner / Writer / Player SuperDrive for Apple Mac iMac OS X Windows PC + !! FREE BLU-RAY BLANK DISCS!! (Personal Computers)
No complaints at all from this drive, well, apart from the stupidly short cable but where it counts (under the hood) it's as good as it gets.

I have 'backed up' 100s of BluRays using this drive, one after the other, day after day for months and it's never faltered. It gets a little warm when heavily used though!

5 out of 5 for price, performance and reliability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews