Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessarily imperfect
First of all, let's clarify what this collection is NOT:

1) This is NOT a complete box set of the Beatles' output in America, and contains no material from 1967 onwards.
2) The mixes contained on here are those approved by The Beatles and George Martin in the 60s, and NOT the butchered, fake stereo, reverb-laden... etc... tracks issued by Capitol without...
Published 4 months ago by Paul F

versus
73 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impressive on first look - but in the end frustratingly flawed
The set on initial inspection looks fantasic. A collection of mini lps with original artwork, inners and disc labels, on heavy card stock containing mono and stereo versions of the albums where applicable, from the best sourced and cleaned up master tapes, all designed to mimic the original unique Beatles 60s US releases as faithful reproductions

However a...
Published 5 months ago by C. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessarily imperfect, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
First of all, let's clarify what this collection is NOT:

1) This is NOT a complete box set of the Beatles' output in America, and contains no material from 1967 onwards.
2) The mixes contained on here are those approved by The Beatles and George Martin in the 60s, and NOT the butchered, fake stereo, reverb-laden... etc... tracks issued by Capitol without their consent.
3) Aside from a few unique mixes and quirks preserved for this box (see below), there is no new music on here that you won't find in either the Stereo or Mono boxes released back in 2009 (Apart from a few instrumental tracks on the 'A Hard Day's Night' and 'Help!' soundtracks, that is)

To state the obvious, your interest in this set will largely depend on the level of your interest in The Beatles. This US Albums box is aimed squarely at the completist / collector audience who wants / needs it all.

If you haven't got anything by The Beatles, buy the Mono boxset first, and then get 'The White Album' in stereo, 'Let It Be... Naked' (instead of the original), the 'Yellow Submarine Songtrack' (again, instead of the original), the 'Past Masters' compilation and 'Abbey Road' to complete your collection. This box is just a happy bonus for Beatle nuts who can't get enough of them.

However, this is what you DO get with this set:

1) Well-crafted replica sleeves of the (cheesy) original US Albums listed above, sequenced as per the original Capitol releases, with all the surprising / baffling tracklisting choices associated with them.
2) Mono AND Stereo mixes of almost all of the band's material up to and including Revolver, together with the odds-and-sods, contract-fulfilling, stereo-only compilation 'Hey Jude', released in 1970.
3) Unique US mixes of tracks like 'And I Love Her' (Paul's vocal is single tracked), 'I'll Cry Instead' (20 seconds longer), 'Help!' (with Bond-style intro), 'I'm Looking Through You' (false-intro on stereo) and versions of 'She's A Woman' and 'I Feel Fine' that sound like they were recorded in an aircraft hangar.
4) Mono mixes that sound even better than those released in 2009. Certainly louder and (to my ears) perhaps a little bit punchier, too.
5) 'The Beatles Story' - only available with this set. This is an audio biography of the band released by Capitol at the height of Beatlemania. It often gets criticised by fans for being a bit lame (factual errors, overly sanitised, PR-friendly... etc...), but it's not intended as a rival to the Anthology films, and should be enjoyed as a piece of history.

This collection has been released to celebrate the 50th anniversary of 'Beatlemania' sweeping America, but you have to understand that this almost happened in spite of Capitol, and not because of them. As the American arm of EMI, they had first refusal on the band in 1963, but seemingly had no faith in their music, leaving Brian Epstein having to arrange deals with small independent labels to get the boys' material released in the US.

However, when the band finally did hit America by storm, Capitol went into overdrive, repackaging the band's UK material, and releasing them all out of sequence, against the artistic decisions made by the band and their producer, even going so far as to rush-release tracks in fake stereo (yet to be finished in London), or adding echo to appeal to a US audience. John later said that the infamous butcher sleeve on 'Yesterday... and Today' was a comment on Vietnam, but it also (arguably) sums up Capitol's treatment of the band's art.

One of Brian Epstein's last acts as their manager was to renegotiate their EMI contract in 1967 so that the same albums went out everywhere from Sgt Pepper onwards. (Ok, so the Magical Mystery Tour album was a US creation, and is now recognised as part of the UK catalogue, but that's the exception).

However, Capitol still churned out Beatles compilations into the 70s and 80s (Love Songs, Rock'n'Roll Music, Reel Music... etc...), to the point Ringo complained at the time "Please let us know what you're doing with the records we made. We'd like it done, how do I say... nicely!". It wasn't until they struck a deal in 1989 that the surviving Beatles gained control over their own music, and could govern future releases.

In some instances, the crazy sequencing by Capitol works to the music's favour (eg. 'The Beatles' Second Album' is a revelation), whereas the needless chopping of 3 Lennon tracks from the US 'Revolver' album is barbaric by comparison. But this is how America experienced the band, and it's a fascinating history lesson for anyone who cares.

The decision NOT to remaster the original Capitol mixes marks the necessary imperfection of this set in my title. It won't please the purists, but this is the band preserving their art and their legacy by taking a stand and saying "THIS is the music we made and how we wanted it to be heard", correcting the historical wrongs carried out against their will.

This 2014 set is what Paul, Ringo, Yoko and Olivia signed off on, like it or lump it. Volumes 1 & 2 of the Capitol Albums are still available, and these albums are available individually if you want to complete your set. They probably should have put out a Volume 3, but since that didn't happen in 2007/08, it probably never will now.

Personally, I really enjoyed this set, and it compliments the 2009 stereo and mono boxes well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Impressive on first look - but in the end frustratingly flawed, 22 Jan 2014
By 
C. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
The set on initial inspection looks fantasic. A collection of mini lps with original artwork, inners and disc labels, on heavy card stock containing mono and stereo versions of the albums where applicable, from the best sourced and cleaned up master tapes, all designed to mimic the original unique Beatles 60s US releases as faithful reproductions

However a closer look reveals some frustrating flaws which for something which seems to have been designed and created so meticulously - is unforgivable.

Firstly - packaging - the early to mid sixties US Beatles albums had 2 part covers pasted onto cardboard stock. The back sheet also contained top/bottom and spine info and was pasted to the back first and then wrapped around the sides. The front cover square was then pasted on to complete the cover. These new releases are the opposite way about with the front covers wrapping round to the back. A small observation - but important to those looking for authentic reproductions. Evidently the Japanese version of the box set does does it 'right'.

Secondly - music - Most Beatles mixes were standard the world over but, as with some other countries, the US occasionally got unique mixes and edits. The US also reformatted some of the standard UK supplied mixes to suit american tastes by adding reverb, or converting stereo mixes to mono and vice versa when the correct type of mix wasn't to hand.
These new releases promise to use the correct mono/stereo mixes so in most cases the approved 1st generation UK masters are now used, the US tapes only being used where the mix/edit is unique. All sounds good right? Not Quite...
Again due to factors unknown the set doesn't quite deliver what it promises. Any US versions which are essentially UK mixes with added reverb have been replaced with the standard reverb-less UK mixes, meaning that to some folk these won't just sound 'cleaned up', but substantially different and 'dryer' compared to the originals.
The UK approved mixes include some questionable decisions which have carried forward to these releases. For instance 1964s stereo 'Meet The Beatles' album now includes a mix of 'I Want To Hold Your Hand' made nearly three years later, overlooking a superior stereo mix made at the time of recording. Also 26 stereo tracks across the US stereo versions of Help, Rubber Soul and Yesterday and Today have had their original 60s mixes replaced with versions done in the late 80s.
Worst of all, four unique stereo US mixes (Long Tall Sally, I Call Your Name, I'm Only Sleeping, Dr Robert) have been completely overlooked, the standard UK mixes being used instead for some unknown reason. This is despite claims that all unique US mixes and edits would be included.
There are smaller niggles such as some of the US mixes having their starts and ends slightly cropped off. The list of woes seems to go on and on......

All in all the set falls short, where it could have easily been the last word in the often overlooked but nonetheless important part of the Beatles recorded history. Joe Average might not notice or bother about the set's shortcomings, but it's not the type of set I see Joe Average buying. It seems aimed at the diehard fan, but these are the very same people who will ultimately ponder about how easily this set could have been perfect instead of ending up as a lesson in George Lucas-esque revisionism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Robert P. Gregory "Crumbling Mice" (Crumbling Mice) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
Firstly, I have to agree with the person who commented about people being able to post 'reviews' without even having invested in an item. That's particularly relevent, as I was a little dubious about pre-ordering this myself, after reading that the 2009 remasters had been used in many cases here. Before I get to my day's listening impressions: Yes- the packaging is BEAUTIFUL & positively scary in it's attention to detail. It screams quality (though I'm not going to paste the 'trunk cover' sticker over the Butcher sleeve & steam it off just yet! :-)).
As for the music (of course- superb), I'm a fan of many years, but NOT an expert when it comes to the various differences in mixes etc, that made the US albums intriguing for us Brit's. However, what I CAN say is:
This collection IS NOT just a reformatting/re-sequencing of the 2009 remasters, as has been presumed by some (myself included), though the differences aren't listed anywhere in the notes. This isn't an 'archealogical dig' folks. Of course, it made sense to get rid of the horrible 'fake stereo' tracks (which were enough to drive you nuts through headphones) & the original US applied reverb was an acquired taste. Never having owned all the US albums, I can't go into this in great detail (though someone will I'm sure)& personally I actually LIKED IT on 'The Beatles Second Album': one of the few I picked-up years ago & thought: "Hey!- this sounds kinda different!". Well- in that instance, the reverb's gone. But fear not: the mono versions of 'I Feel Fine' & 'She's A Woman' have their reverb intact & still sound like they were recorded in an aircraft hanger (for better or worse). The MONO mixes of 'I'm Only Sleeping', 'And Your Bird Can Sing' & 'Dr Robert' on 'Yesterday & Today' are the earlier mixes that made that album such a nice surprise on this side of the pond. There's far more actually going-on here than I initially thought there would be. I only received this beautiful release this morning, so I just thought I'd at least TRY to mention some of the mix differences etc.I know there are more, but it's a start :-).
Of course it won't please purists, but what would?. Let's also not forget that these releases offer the chance for many to hear the mono AND stereo versions of these tracks on a single disc too (especially appealing if you want to cherry-pick a few titles). If only the UK pressings offered that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still 5 Stars despite criticisms., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
I must confess to owning the Capitol Albums Vol 1 since release, and not listening to them much as I baulked at the reverb soaked duophonic madness!!!! I purchased Vol 2 recently as a panic buy due to it probably going out of print (plus it was dirt-cheap!). So I had 2 choices with this review - purchase the missing albums from Vol 3 that now wasn't going to happen, or plump for the box. Amazon had the box for 106 when I looked, so it was a no-brainer.
What to make of the US Albums box? First off the packaging is lovely - just the same as the Mono box - it is perched next to mine on my bookcase, they look the business (how very shallow of me...).The mini LP's are fabulous - the attention to detail is wonderful.
Regarding the music, there's definitely been some tweaking of the 2009 remasters to match the 'feel' of the original albums, the mono tracks especially are a bit louder, with what I gather a bit of eq applied across the board. I don't miss the duophonic mixes, or the added reverb one bit, but then again, I'm not American and didn't grow-up with these albums. The original track listings of the albums themselves (with the exception of the 11 track Revolver) is entertaining, Rubber Soul takes the Gold in this respect, although it's track listing has more to do with available material rather than being cleverly thought out by Capitol's execs.
If you don't own the Capitol Volumes, or the Mono Box, I can heartily recommend the US Albums Box, if you have these releases, you'll probably be buying this box anyway.... At the end of the day, it's all about the music, which of course, is just FAB!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When I'm Sixty-four, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
No new material just a 50th year celebration. I think I've got all the original vinyls and cds and the UK remastered box set and a lot of the other Beatle material issued, Bootlegs etc. ,bit sad really but that's Beatle Mania for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Capitol on form with this one, 20 Jan 2014
By 
S. G. Holt (RADCLIFFE, MANCHESTER United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
Just to echo what Glynn said, I can't fault this product, very well made, very good booklet. Music great as we all know. I bought the set for the CD's that were not in the Capitol Vol 1& 2 set. Very pleased with it & would recommend it to any collector, or just anyone who likes the Beatles.

I actually received this yesterday & at 106-73 a nice bonus, thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEATLES - FROM A STATESIDE PERSPECTIVE..., 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
Undoubtedly, there will be those who believe that this boxed set of Beatles albums packaged together in their American configurations is a cynical attempt to eke out yet more revenue from one of the most prestigious catalogues in the history of popular music. It is also safe to assume that the majority of Beatles fans would agree with the viewpoint that these collections are artistically inferior to the original British editions upon which they were based and which, at the time of their original release, made The Beatles themselves become progressively more frustrated with the interference of their American label, Capitol Records, upon their ever-evolving sound. Nevertheless, as we look back over what is now half a century since The Beatles first landed on American soil, these albums clearly have their place in history and help to illustrate the true impact of Beatlemania, with six of these records finding their release during 1964 alone.

MEET THE BEATLES, THE BEATLES' SECOND ALBUM, A HARD DAY'S NIGHT, SOMETHING NEW, THE BEATLES' STORY and BEATLES '65 were all greeted with rapture by an insatiable public hungry for product and released by a record company which was arguably trying to glean as much as possible from the Fab Four before this presumed fad would burn itself out and a fresh, new homegrown band would usurp The Beatles' popularity. Of course, hindsight informs us that this never happened, but it was undoubtedly the "game plan" discussed by Capitol Records' executives in the board room at the time. Indeed, it was remarkable how the label was able to stretch out four British albums and half a dozen or so singles in quite the way that it did. Of these, MEET THE BEATLES and BEATLES '65 are perhaps the strongest collections in this group, resembling as they do the UK releases WITH THE BEATLES (1963) and BEATLES FOR SALE (1964) respectively. However, the likes of SOMETHING NEW and the interview album THE BEATLES' STORY (originally a double album but compressed to a single CD here) were rather more blatant cash-ins. SOMETHING NEW was issued just a month after the A HARD DAY'S NIGHT soundtrack and, what's more, half of its contents was already available on A HARD DAY'S NIGHT! Speaking of which, this latter album was released in the States as genuine film soundtrack, containing just the songs from the film (plus 'I'll Cry Instead') bolstered by a crop of orchestrally arranged instrumental versions of the film songs. As the essay contained within the booklet suggests, fans were no doubt beginning to feel a little short-changed by such releases and even Capitol were relieved when they could plunder BEATLES FOR SALE - the product of the band's latest recording sessions back home in London - to assemble a whole new album entitled BEATLES '65 and get it out to the shops just in time for Christmas.

The "exploitation" continued into 1965 with the release of the somewhat implausibly titled THE EARLY BEATLES, a grab-bag of 1963 Beatles leftovers (it's essentially the UK PLEASE PLEASE ME album with the tracks jumbled up) which had been the property of the band's original US label, VeeJay. With VeeJay's license to issue Beatles tracks having expired, Capitol eagerly reissued them to what was now a more receptive public. Next came BEATLES VI (by and large a mash-up of the rest of BEATLES FOR SALE and the UK non-soundtrack side two of HELP!) and then the HELP! soundtrack album itself, a lavish gatefold affair featuring once again only the actual songs from the film accompanied by incidental music laced with a then unusual Indian theme, all of which was scored by Ken Thorne this time around as opposed to the perhaps more expected George Martin. Nevertheless, the US edition of HELP! spent nine weeks at Number One.

It was the release of the American version of RUBBER SOUL in December 1965 which conceivably witnessed The Beatles frustrations with Capitol over the standard of their Stateside releases come to a head. This supremely pivotal album in the group's development had such gems as 'Drive My Car' and 'Nowhere Man' removed in favour of the HELP! leftovers 'It's Only Love' and 'I've Just Seen A Face'; the latter track was used to open the album in place of 'Drive My Car' and it sounds very odd in this context. Beach Boy Brian Wilson claimed that hearing RUBBER SOUL for the first time inspired him to write his band's masterpiece, PET SOUNDS (1966); if so, imagine what he may have come up with had he heard RUBBER SOUL in the sequence that British fans did!

Yet despite Capitol's seemingly rapacious quest for new Beatles music, even they only managed to cobble together two Beatles albums for 1966. The infamously packaged YESTERDAY... AND TODAY arrived in June, encased in that controversial "butcher" cover (impeccably reproduced here) and comprised from bits of RUBBER SOUL, yet more numbers from HELP!, the 'Day Tripper'/'We Can Work It Out' single and three newly recorded works from the forthcoming REVOLVER which, when released in the States just two months later, featured only 11 of the 14 tracks contained on the stellar UK original. By February of 1967, The Beatles had renegotiated their contract and (MAGICAL MYSTERY TOUR aside) future Beatles albums released in America would mirror their UK counterparts.

February 1970's HEY JUDE compilation was the last assemblage designed for the American market, although it saw release in many other countries too - except Britain. Allowing fans the opportunity to buy the epic title track and a number of other non-album Beatles singles like 'Paperback Writer' and 'Lady Madonna' in both long-playing and stereo formats for the first time, HEY JUDE was a huge seller, bridging the gap between the sublime ABBEY ROAD (1969) and the shambolic swansong of LET IT BE (released in May of 1970).

Of course, on a personal basis, I would never claim that any of these American Beatles albums eclipse their original British editions. But it bears testament to the power and endurance of the band's music that they are all still thoroughly enjoyable. The packaging of this set is delightful, with all of the albums presented in replica sleeves which are also made from that thicker brand of cardboard typically used on American album covers of the period. YESTERDAY... AND TODAY also comes with a stick-on replacement "packing case" cover shot which you can paste over the "butcher" sleeve if you wish (although quite who will want to risk doing this, I'm not really sure), while the box itself sits nicely alongside THE BEALTES IN MONO set.

Finally though, and with what will undoubtedly be greeted with a certain amount of controversy by the purists, we move on to the sound quality. By and large, the albums sound rich and weighty, with each one (with the exception of THE BEATLES STORY and HEY JUDE) being presented in both its mono and stereo editions and although the original Capitol master tapes have crucially NOT been used in reconstructing these albums (the 2009 remasters have been employed), the variant mixes and edits of certain tracks which were prepared in London by George Martin have, however, been utilised in order to preserve the qualities which made The Beatles' US albums unique (like, for example, the false start which occurs on the stereo version of 'I'm Loooking Through You' from RUBBER SOUL but which was absent from the UK stereo master, as well as the considerable amount of echo which is present on both 'I Feel Fine' and 'She's A Woman' from BEATLES '65). The booklet explains that the decision to not go with the original Capitol tapes was taken due to the presence of such things as "duophonic" (false stereo) tracks on a number of the original albums, along with the fact that some songs on the US LPs were apparently mastered from as much as fourth-generation tapes. Ultimately, it was felt that the Capitol tapes would not deliver the best possible listening experience and that, back in the 1960s, Capitol had also quite pertinently altered such things as the bass frequencies in order to take into account the household playback equipment of the time, along with generally doctoring The Beatles' sound with added reverb in an effort to make the band sound "more American".

True, this boxed set is pretty expensive and it is probably aimed largely at The Beatles' completist. However, these albums are unquestionably a part of Beatles history and provide us British fans with an idea of how The Beatles slammed head-on into the American consciousness. It is nice to see them available again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous box set, 20 Jan 2014
By 
A. Wilson "tonyandanne" (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
As an avid Beatles fan as soon as I saw it listed I ordered. Arrived here with me yesterday (Sunday)and I wasn't disappointed. I bought it via Amazon's price guarantee at an amazing price and received it a day before its official release date. The boxed set is just great and adds a new dimension to my collection as some five discs have never been released on CD before. I cannot recommend this highly enough not just to fans but to anyone who loves music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating but for fans only!, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
Beatle music has to have five stars from me. No matter what order the tracks are played the music is superb. The packaging is good. Housed in a box similar to the Beatles in Mono, are thirteen albums. Twelve of them released in the period 1964 to 1966. The Beatles released seven albums in the UK up to the end of 1966 (eight if you count Oldies but Goldies). Interesting book enclosed telling the story of the album releases in America and why they were so different. Told from the perspective of a fan at the time who only heard these versions. There is the mono and stereo versions on the same disc. I was under the impression for some reason that Capitol had messed about with the sound, adding echo for example. Not the case according to these discs*. These tracks sound the same as the remastered mono and stereo reissues from 2009.

Whether you buy the package or not would depend how much of a fan/compleatist you are. There is nothing new on here. However for a fan like myself it is fascinating to hear how the Americans first witnessed the Beatles on record. At first you think that it is incredible that the Americans were so late to come to the party. But in 1963 there was not the communications there are today. America was a long way away and had its own huge stars. Why would they be interested in anything from the other side of the pond? Particularly as the Beatles weren't from London. Also in retrospect the early singles and Please Please Me album were not that amazing. It only started to get amazing around the time of She Loves You. The Beatles and George Martin just got better and better in those early days.

Meet The Beatles
The Americans had joined the party so late that there was a wealth of Beatle music already available for them to play. Two albums (please please me/with the beatles plus four A sides and four b sides). It is interesting from their first album the tracks they picked. They took only one track from Please Please Me (they had given the rights away to another record company Veejay!), I saw Her Standing There, and that was probably because it was the B side of their first hit single over there, I Want To hold Your Hand (which starts the album). The rest are mainly tracks from the Beatles second UK album With The Beatles plus This Boy which was the B side of I Want To Hold Your Hand in the UK. A great track which disappeared without trace in the UK until they started releasing rarities albums in the 70's.

Second Album
Even though these albums are a mishmash of the UK releases the writer of the book does point out that even though they accept that the UK versions are the `definitive' these are the albums they were brought up on. They knew no different and the Beatles second album when you see it from that aspect is phenomenal. More tracks from With The Beatles along with a and B sides of She Loves You (I'll Get You another track that fell into obscurity in the UK until the rarities albums) and two tracks from the brilliant EP (not a concept recognised in the US) Long Tall Sally. A great collection even with side two only being 11 minutes long!

A Hard Day's Night
Here the American fans did get short changed says the author. I agree. One of the best albums in my opinion totally butchered on the American version. Only 8 of the 13 uk tracks appear on here. Padded out with instrumental versions of the film songs.

Something New
Then a month later was issued this album with 5 of the 7 film songs. Altogether there are 8 of the 13 songs from the uk Hard Days Night on here. A good collection along with the two other tracks from the Sally EP if you hadn't already bought the previous album!

The Beatles Story
I guarantee that I will not be taking this one out of its little packet again. A very poor, lifeless documentary amateurishly put together. Music snippets which were surprisingly good sound. Not sure that Liverpool would appreciate being described as a `slum town'!

Beatles 65
8 of the 14 tracks from Beatles For Sale plus the single and B side to I feel Fine plus the last track from the UK edition of Hard Days Night! Bizarre! They only put a maximum of 12 tracks on albums (11 on this one). The result, more mishmash albums. I do not blame EMI/the Beatles for being angry at the time and refusing, until now, to release these on CD.

The Early Beatles
Capitol had refused to issue the album Please Please Me so another record company had reaped the rewards. These songs reverted to Capitol in October 1964. So they reissued Please Please Me in this package ie without I Saw Her Standing There (already appeared on meet the Beatles) There's A Place and Misery (these tracks don't appear to have been released on album over there at that time, unless someone knows different?! Apart from the Veejay album of course).

Beatles VI
7 tracks from Beatles For Sale, 2 from UK Help, 2 other tracks (1 B side Yes It Is and Bad Boy).

Help
The 7 film tracks plus orchestral filler.

Rubber Soul
10 of the 14 UK tracks plus and two from the UK Help album. You would have thought that by now the releases could be the same. They are nearly there with this one, even had the same cover, but then......

Yesterday and Today
The 4 missing tracks from Rubber Soul, 2 tracks from Help, 3 from Revolver plus the single Day Tripper and We Can Work It Out. What a hotch potch! The Beatles even sent them the famous butchered photo for the cover. To let them know what they thought presumably? And they used it!!! This is in the box set along with the one used to cover it after the complaints.

Revolver
11 0f the UK tracks. Devalued by putting three great Lennon tracks on the last album. Right cover though!

Before Sgt Pepper came out the original contract with the Beatles had finished. The new renegotiated contract said that all releases had to be the same. There were two other releases that were agreed to, one of which, Hey Jude is included. Another hotch potch of old material that had not appeared on a Capitol album before. The other (not included here) was Magical Mystery Tour. The Americans did not have EP's so they were allowed to bring out an album of these tracks along with various singles. This was for once a good idea and has been incorporated into the official Beatles Catalogue.

An interesting box set but for fans only!

*I have since seen from another review that the mono versions of I Feel Fine and She's A Woman on Beatles 65 have the different sound. Air craft hanger sound is a very good description Mr R.P.Gregory! On Something New the mono version of And I Love Her has a single track Paul rather than the usual double track. There is also a piano break missing on the mono version of Any Time At All. That last one is not really noticeable. Apparently the American reviewers are very unhappy because in most cases the original 'reverb' sound has been replaced by the 2009 remaster. That sound is what they remember and what they thought they were getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's The Beatles........., 22 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Coley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The US Albums (Audio CD)
I cancelled my first order after reading some previews. Then, when I saw it reduced to 106.00, I thought what the hell & re-ordered - I'd probably regret it if I didn't . I'm glad I did. I already own the Capitol Albums volumes 1 & 2, vinyl copies of stereo & mono A Hard Day's Night and stereo, mono and duophonic Yesterday and Today so have the original mixes that are raising Cain. It's a new listening experience in that there are differences between the Capitol Albums and the 2009 CD releases - and a nice addition for collectors.

Do a little research, first, to see if you think it might be your thing.

Consider whether you can afford it.

Consider whether it's worth it to you.

And, in the end...... it's just up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The US Albums
The US Albums by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews