Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
51
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2014
I bought the 3 cd set in a nicely presented black and gold digipack for £9.99. I must say it was a worthy purchase.

Each cd is mixed but the mix between tracks is very short. Each cd seems to start off sounding quite commercialised with heavy vocal tracks but then as you become accustomed to it's predictable and inoffensive style it will suddenly throw in an attention grabbing number. Cd 2 especially guilty of this but as a collective of tracks there's something for everyone here who has any interest in house music.

I question the continuity of the genre of deep house at times though as there's quite a few other genres of house thrown in but for variety it all works well. The cds have been mixed and compiled perfectly.

As a listener of deep and soulful house I was very pleased with the end result of each cd. Not every track is an instant winner for me, but for the changing of house sub genres and styles at the right time it does it very well in keeping your attention.

There's plenty of vocal, deep, dancefloor grooving, soulful, upbeat, classic combinations of house and garage here that make for a great collective of deep dance music. Pleasing to the ear and value for the price.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
I had high expectations for this album after reading all the positive reviews but turned out to be very disappointing. Maybe it's because i already have a lot of the better tracks on other CDs but i was still expecting it to deliver on being a great club mix. Unfortunately though the mixing style does not work very well for this type of music - the transitions are too smooth, there's absolutely no build-up over the duration of the mix and all three mixes feel very flat with a very random track order. CD3 especially is a disaster where they've bundled in lost classics from the early 90's with tracks as recent as from 2013 and it just doesn't work!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I must admit this is a fantastic album, all the tracks you would expect from a deep house album. The pre-mixed tracks are fantastic also. I do my own mixing and every song on this album is helping me out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Pure Deep House is a 3cd set that throws in what it regards as the very best in deep house and garage. I can't agree with it's title wholeheartedly, as it's track selection is all over the place in terms of house styles. Deep house has always been a more underground, spacier sounding genre to what's on offer here. There's a few tracks that could probably be classed as being in the deeper vibe to everything else that's being mixed here, but you'll be hearing alot of more mainstream house than what's regarded as "deep". Especially those that are more familiar with listening to deep house in it's true form.

I can't help but feel that the "best of" and "pure" wording is "purely" for marketing and sale desirability. Fortunately the quality of sound, mixing and track choices are good enough to make it a solid house collective, but if you're looking for the best in pure, deep house then you may be better off looking elsewhere.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
A True Masters Release

Before I give any advice or comments on this release, it is worth noting that if your ears are still not completely tuned to the electronic sounds that are dominant in the market place today, I would recommend Ministry of Sounds - Marbella Sessions, which is probably a softer way of introducing a more discerning or stubborn listener, and a CD that has had my 7 year old bopping away happily in the back of the car for quite some time now. Where to start on this one?? Well, firstly I feel that I need to point out that my favourite genre of dance music is Jazzy House so this will obviously have an impact on how I review this release. So, with that said, lets start with Disc 3. A rare collection of deep, soulful, groovy baselines that spiral flawlessly from one track to another, this set will take the listener on a journey from West Coast to East Coast and across the Atlantic with a collection of sounds that is sure to put a smile on any deep House fans face. Designed to appeal to both the new and older listener, the set starts with a subtle rearrangement of Aly Us - Follow me and a very skillful and experienced set of hands rollercoasters through a mix of well established and brand new deep House grooves. The set is firmly stamped, and original tweaks of Balearic and Garage make their debut amongst the deeper American influenced soulful tracks. The entire set takes a change when Shaun Escoffery - Days Like this is introduced, and in a flash the entire mix jumps across the Atlantic where the UK rhythm is perfectly infused with the dreamful lyrics of Wookie - The Hype. Base and sound is round, vocals are simply masterful and the arrangement and style is nothing short of amazing.
On to Disc 2... An interesting set which starts with the more energetic modern Electronic sounds of today but presents them in a laid back relaxed style and then moves seamlessly into the deeper more progressive House sounds that so many fans have grown to love. Naughty tribal beats tease the listener in the form of Green Velvet - Bigger than Prince and a lot of restraint and control is used to keep the pace constant. Garage, Electro & House beats are all combined together as the set continues to build to an explosion of fusion in the shape of Dusky - Careless. Base is much sharper on this mix and the UK sound dominates from start to finish. It is fair to say that the experienced compiling of Disc 3 over shadows this set but it would be unfair to knock the mix for this reason.
On to Disc 1... Bursting with youthful energy, this mix takes everything that is good in the modern dance world and blends together a collection of commercial tracks that are very pleasing to younger listeners ears. Once again, a skilled and experienced set of hands uses clever arranging to echo sounds from the previous two sets. The placement of Breach - Everything You Never Had is simply poetic and the entire mix revolves around Lana Del Rae - Blue Jeans, which is arguably one of the best tracks on the entire compilation. Pace and tempo is masterfully controlled and the sound production is clean, crisp and a little more shallow which perfectly highlights the powerful collection of vocals. EDM beats, tweets, breaks and pitchy sounds are practically nonexistent and whilst the genre of the music is questionable, one element remains constant throughout the set, which is an absolute love of House music. Two questions prevail - Which track is better, Lana Del Rae -Blue Jeans or Wookie - The Hype, and which order should one play the discs? Releases like this do not require criticism, they only deserve respect.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
New and old stuff. All good tunes. You'll particularly appreciate the old stuff if you raved to it in the 90's...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
its a bit bland and samey but the more i listen to it the more i like it. good background music
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
fed up of the way things are getting classified these days - and this proves the point. This album, whilst being very good, is far from "deep house". In fact, very few of the 60 tracks could even be considered deep house at all - Shadow Child's "23"? I don't think so. It's like they are trying to do something different by purely naming it so - without actually getting any deep house to put on the album. Most people will gladly accept it as deep house purely because it has been labelled as such...!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
This sort of music is right up my street, dark, dirty deep house with some uplifting lyrics. Takes me back to Shindig!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Liked this a lot. Some really good tracks and my favourite cd this year. nearly worn it out. worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse