Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time to get out the tupperware!
This is a very well written and researched book. It covers the often overlooked meal that is lunchtime. It sets out to try and re-invigorate the lunchtime menu throughout all workplaces. It is a delightful book to read with some humorous quiffs and some clever tips and tricks to both improve and inspire your lunch while saving your a few bob while you're at it...
Published 10 months ago by Seán Óg

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous book
I can only think that the reviews on here are from the authors friends and family as this is a ridiculous book. Most lunch plans need to be cooked in the morning before work, "it only takes 22 minutes," say the authors. What normal person has time for that every morning.
Another suggestion is that sandwiches are wrapped in greaseproof paper and secured with...
Published 9 months ago by Jan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea for a cook book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have purchased a number of these as it's such a great and imaginative idea. It's practical, useful, entertaining and imaginative. Like it......more than once for "friends"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book with lots of ideas for exciting lunches!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Lunch (Kindle Edition)
Great recipes and ideas on how to package the food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of simple ideas for a better lunch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it :-), 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Lunch (Kindle Edition)
I've never written a review before but I really would recommend this book for anyone fed up with boring sandwiches. The recipes do require quite a lot of ingredients but most are easy to assemble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Book of Lunch, 19 July 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this for myself. Thinking about what to take for lunch can become something of a drag, even become a bit routine. This book shakes up your thinking as to what you can take, how you can take it, and offers a huge variety of options for everybody in every circumstance of lunch-requirements.

What I really like about the book is that it shows you how you can incorporate the preparation of your lunch into your daily routine without it being a bind; making soup and freezing some for later lunches; preparing vegetables or other ingredients while you’re making dinner the previous night, and then what you need to do the next morning; how you can pre-prepare to a cerain extent and then what you need to do at lunchtime to complete your luncheon experience. The ideas and recipes range from really simple to rather exotic, but they’re all guaranteed to raise lunch envy amongst your colleagues and actually make you look forward to getting up in the morning and going to work (no, not really, I didn’t even convince myself there). But it can certainly make you look forward to lunchtime anyway.

There’s a fair bit of fun presented in the book, too – I laughed at the Enid Blyton lunch experience; I remember well the wonderful sounding packed lunches in the Famous Five and Secret Seven books and how I thought even as a child I would enjoy them thoroughly; now I can make a modern version of an Enid Blyton packed lunch for myself – lashings of ginger beer all round. Definitely recommended – would make a great gift for a starting, or returning person to the workplace, or just to brighten someone’s day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a gift for my busy daughter & she loved it. I really liked the packaging, making it look like a parcel is a a brilliant idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous book, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Lunch (Kindle Edition)
I can only think that the reviews on here are from the authors friends and family as this is a ridiculous book. Most lunch plans need to be cooked in the morning before work, "it only takes 22 minutes," say the authors. What normal person has time for that every morning.
Another suggestion is that sandwiches are wrapped in greaseproof paper and secured with string! Really, again do these people not work.
A particularly appetising recipe seems to suggest various vegetables with boiling water poured over. "A posh cup-a-soup ," say the authors. Well how delicious, I can't wait for that!
On a positive note, some of the recipes do look very nice and the photography is lovely but I would only recommend this book if you don't work or don't start work until lunchtime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Mar 2014
By 
I. Morrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of Lunch (Kindle Edition)
As a full time student also trying to hold down a part time job, I never have time to eat lunch at home and can't afford to eat out every day. Had completely lost inspiration and was eating cold pasta out of a Tupperware every day till I found this book. Full of great, cheap, healthy recipes and tips on how to make, pack and eat them. Best thing I've bought in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration!!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for some inspiration as I'm sick of boring sandwiches. It's brilliant. Loads of tasty ideas to brighten up lunch time at work. So far I've made the smoked mackerel and potato salad and it was delicious! Looking forward to trying out some more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Little Book of Lunch
The Little Book of Lunch by Sophie Missing
£6.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews