Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited, available at last, what we've been waiting for, for so long!, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Ross Nockles (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Count Arthur Strong' words cannot express what these words mean to those who, erm, know what they mean. But if you don't know then you are in for a right treat because at last Series 4 of Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show is available, at last. Apparently the BBC have the right to broadcast the radio shows over their airwaves a certain number of times before we the public can buy them on CD to listen to at our leisure.
But what is it that you get if you buy 'Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show Series four' I hear you ask? Well what you get is, what you get, on three CDs, is the Six episodes from Count Arthur Strong's Radio Show Series 4 what did you think you would get an evening with Rolf Harris?! I'm susprised that you would think that - idiot!

What you get is six episodes of 28 minutes worth of mirth. Count Arthur stumbles his way thorough life doing the thing he is best at, doing his best.

'All Tourettic tics, false starts and nervous fumblings, badly covered up by a delicate sheen of bravado and self-assurance. An expert in everything from the world of entertainment to the origins of the species, everyday life with Arthur is an enlightening experience'

And that is a quote off the CD of his first series so, you know, that just goes to show you.

Series four on the other hand is more of the same, only better, and I'd like to illustrate that by quoting from some of the episodes in series 4. I'd like to but I can't actually remember much about any of them. I do know that they made me laugh out loud (or 'lol' as they say nowadays!) I know that Wilf, Gerry, Jeffrey, and Sally are all included in the fun and Whitfield Street and the Shoulder of Mutton get a mention.

I also know that to those of you, who I can only describe as the un-intimidated, er un-initiated I mean, Count Arthur may take a bit of getting used to but just imagine Tony Hancock mixed with equal measures of Alan Partridge and you may get the idea. It is the character comedy of the later mixed with situation comedy of the former. This is genuine humour of a bygone age but right up to date and although it does not find the need to resort to swearing or deliberate outrage for outrage's sake can be just as wicked as any of Humphrey Lyttleton's double entendres. The best thing about Count Arthur is that you can listen again and again and still get a lol and even just thinking about him can make one do the same.

Count Arthur Strong is one of Britain's true comedy greats but has built up a following through the traditional means of live performance before getting on to the radio. Once he hits TV, as surely he will before too long, an even wider audience will be able to laugh and marvel at the shear audacity, intensity and brilliance of his performance. Buy this CD and you will be able to enjoy him right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just gets better and better...., 1 July 2010
By 
M. Hayes "Maz" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I LOVE The Count and this most recent series is the best yet. He just keeps getting better and better! The episode called 'Documentary' is probably the best thing he has ever done. Numerous 'laugh out loud' and 'wet your pants' moments including: 'My Mother sent me to electrocution lessons so that I could speak with other people's plumbs in my mouth' and: 'I will be taking this up with the Chief Constable when he next holds one of his policeman's balls'. As for The Count in a lap-dancing club encountering a lady called Pandora... well, priceless :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top-drawer British Comedy at its Creative Best, 30 Jun 2010
By 
Irish Critic (Leopardstown, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
Steve Delaney is one phenomenally talented comedy actor. Radio 4 is already known for the high quality of its comedy output, but this material is their "Crème de la Crème". Count Arthur Strong (Delaney) is the middle-aged, fumbling, penny-pinching master of the malapropism. The convincing Yorkshire accent and skilfully affected speech impediment are superb - as is Delaney's small pool of supporting actors. This particular style of humour is not everyone's cup of tea, but I find it side-splittingly funny.

There are 6 episodes in a series, each episode being 28 minutes long as the crow flies. It's all recorded before a live audience. Each malapropism is hilarious enough in its own right, and there are literally scores in each episode. But almost as funny again is the Count's desperate flustering to recall the CORRECT word each time. The delivery and timing of the gags are what make this a true masterpiece of radio comedy. So if you're a fan of malapropisms and verbal screw-ups in general, order your copy without further adieu!

COMMENTS SPECIFIC TO SERIES FOUR:
One-time Deputy Assistant Acting Vice-president of the Deputy Assistant Acting Vice-Presidents' Association, Count Strong names musician Sammy Davis Jugular among his friends. Although he speaks strangely because his mum sent him to electrocution lessons, Arthur never lets the cat out with the bathwater and likes to read the Recyclopedia Brittanicalculus. He dislikes unanimous phone calls, writes novels under a pseudocream and walks around inside buses to avoid deep vein trombonist. His favourite TV show is "Big Deal or No Deal" and his favourite starter is Whore's Duvet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Count 321 Arthur Strong's Radio Show Series 4, 16 Aug 2010
Have all four series now and his latest doesn't disappear, i mean disapprove, oh disappoint, shut up and listen to what i am saying. Laughed through all six episodes and will listen to them several times over, oh and mind your head on that light fitting. Just brilliant can't rate it high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Count Arthur just gets better and better !, 14 July 2010
By 
S. Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a massive fan of Count Arthurs work, a pure genius, I recommend this latest CD and if you have not got his other work hang your head in shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a title, 23 Jun 2010
Well they should have made that clearer, what they wanted. Comedy genius. Bloody marvellous, and that's swearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Post Scriptum - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If I had to question anything about this wonderful comic creation, it would be the "Count" part - when everything else about his "back story" works so well, this title always pops the plausibility bubble for me. What's that you say - stop being such a pompous pedant? You're quite right. This is another incredibly funny set of episodes, highly likely to render you helpless with laughter many times over. It's a remarkable performance, simultaneously nostalgic and current, and it shows no sign of fatigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning!, 1 Oct 2010
Do not listen to this whilst driving. It is seriously funny and made me cry with laughter. I had to pull in in order to avoid an accident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Count Arthur strikes again, 18 July 2010
Once again Count Arthur has managed to make me laugh out loud, he turns all situations into fabulous romps, with his pompous manner somehow still being quite charming. The script is so well written and all characters well rounded and recognisable, Count Arthurs Radio Show is a must Look forward to series 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not the greatest series..., 3 April 2014
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was the poorest series to date, but dont be misled, this is still far funnier than most shows.
The actual stories seem to be a bit more involved this time round, and maybe that's a slight problem as there is more to get to grips with rather than just have funny out and out banter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews