Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL DVD RELEASE!
This Disney release is a joy - especially considering the poor film-only DVD releases of late on Region 2 format.
Oliver and Company has been given a quality treatment and the DVD boasts the new technology with an animated menu and sound (not just a static picture). From the menu you can choose your various options including the well-endowed Bonus Features...
Published on 25 Oct. 2001

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Disney's best but not quite their worst
From Disney's wilderness period after the departure of studio chief and Walt's son-in-law Ron Miller and before Alan Menken and Howard Ashman revitalised their animated features, until Treasure Planet came along this was a pretty safe bet for Disney's worst animated feature. Short but not terribly sweet, it's a very unconvincingly watered down canine and feline version of...
Published on 15 Jun. 2010 by Trevor Willsmer

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL DVD RELEASE!, 25 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This Disney release is a joy - especially considering the poor film-only DVD releases of late on Region 2 format.
Oliver and Company has been given a quality treatment and the DVD boasts the new technology with an animated menu and sound (not just a static picture). From the menu you can choose your various options including the well-endowed Bonus Features section.
The Bonus Features are fitting and plentiful including a lovely animated short (cartoon) called 'Puss Café' from Disney's Golden Age. The 14 page extensive gallery with conceptual art, character development and layouts makes for good viewing and is a rare peak in to the wonderful making of the film progress which is also documented in an ample featurette.
In addition to these features Disney have also included a short featurette on the theatrical re-release of the film as well as a featurette on the animation of Disney animals throughout Disney history - a gem of a bonus on this disc.
In true Disney style, as on R1 DVD releases, the DVD also has two Sing Along features.
The presentation, detail and consideration that has gone in to this DVD release sets a high standard for the new wave of UK DVDs from Disney. The included documentaries feature interviews with Bette Midler and Billy Joel et al. and are padded with interesting information which fans will welcome.
This film is a historic one for Disney - just note the trial of CGI and rebirth of Disney magic under the omniscient eye of Roy Disney in his foundation attempts to regain dwindling love for the House of Mouse.
A winning feature with no flaws - and many paws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I disagree with the earlier viewer!, 21 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
In the 1980's the Disney studios released a handful of very good animated features, but the one given the most credit is The Little Mermaid. Oliver and company was released a year or so before the Little Mermaid (though many people believe the re-release was the original release, same goes for Great Mouse Detective). This rendition of Oliver Twist replaces the main character with an abandoned Kitten in 1980's New York. The story is pretty simple, but well executed with great songs, and an 80's favorite of mine, Billy Joel, as the canine version of the Artful Dodger. Changing the characters to adorable, modernized animals in my opinion was a great boost to the original story, in making it much easier to stick with without getting bored. I can watch any and all versions of a Christmas Carol without blinking, but it's easier to be picky with Dicken's other works. Disney once again uses it's enormous ability at improving stories and comes out with a very cute and entertaining film well worth owning on DVD. I'm glad to see it's finally being released in this format, and even happier to see that it will be including several of the kind of extras I LOVE getting on Disney DVD's. They're making major improvements compared to their first DVD releases which had NO extras. I'm looking forward to seeing more and more Disney Titles on DVD, especially the classic stuff, and the difficult to find old television stuff that can only be caught on the Disney Channel on ocassion if at all. I only wish they would stop the editing they sometimes do to their classic films because of stupid Political Correctness. Tampering with TV and movie history is equal with book burning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best!!!!, 20 April 2012
Quite simply, this film is one from the Disney Vault; I have read how some people do not like this at all (they feel that this is where Disney Studios went "off the track", if one will, which is fine... everybody has an opinion which must be respected whether we like it or not, and that's life). For me though, this truly is one of Disney's animated Classics and which fully deserves more credit that it actually gets!

The plot is somewhat based on Charles Dickens' Oliver Twist; Imagine a modern setting: New York City, but the characters being portayed as Animals (Stray Dogs and Cats, respectively), while some (Fagin and Sykes) remain as humans, albeit Fagin is a down-and-out and Sykes is a debt collector of some description. Imagine all of the above and you will have a reasonable idea of what the film is like (brilliant, in my opinion).

The casting in this movie is one of Disney's best; Pop singers Billy Joel and Bette Midler (the legend... Dorris Holland, check yourself out in this one, haha... Private Joke on my part!) are superbly cast as Dodger and Georgette, respectively. Also, Robert Loggia is amazing as Sykes (although, I must caution, some younger viewers may find him a little scary... Parents Beware!). Finally, the character of Tito is one of Disney's most lovable, funny and memorable characters, the utmost credit to the actor for his portrayal!

Finally, I must dictate that this is a movie that the kids will love; I have the fondest of memories myself of growing up and listening to my mother singing all the songs ('Why Should I Worry', 'Perfect Isn't Easy', etc. etc.) featured here... also, the kids will in no doubt be educated on one of the finest lessons in life: the importance of building a teamwork of friends and retain that eternally.

So, without further ado, get buying and Happy Viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Disney's best but not quite their worst, 15 Jun. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From Disney's wilderness period after the departure of studio chief and Walt's son-in-law Ron Miller and before Alan Menken and Howard Ashman revitalised their animated features, until Treasure Planet came along this was a pretty safe bet for Disney's worst animated feature. Short but not terribly sweet, it's a very unconvincingly watered down canine and feline version of Oliver Twist relocated to a lazily animated 1980s New York: Oliver's a kitten, Dodger's a street dog, Fa gin is a warm-hearted dog lover in hock to loan shark Sykes. And an hour after watching it, that's probably all you'll remember about it. Oh, and the fact that the continuity is so bad that the Cheech Marin-voiced Chihuahua's chewed up ear keeps on changing from left to right. Even the animation is nothing to write home about despite some once-groundbreaking early use of computer generated backgrounds. It's not terrible, but sadly the magic just isn't there.

Not much in the way of extras on the DVD - three brief featurettes, stills gallery and vintage cartoon Puss Cafe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 20 Sept. 2011
By 
Puzzle crazy (Walsall, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oliver isn't the best known Disney movie, but is a little gem for animal lovers. Loosely based on the story of Oliver Twist (not for puritans!), the film is about a little kitten in New York City, who is taught the tricks of survival by a dog called Dodger. The film is full of Disney in-jokes and lots of catchy, though not entirely memorable songs. perfect for a wet afternoon! My 8 year old daughter loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver and Company, 7 April 2014
By 
A little while ago, I saw this on Sky Movies Disney and thought my 11 year old daughter might like it. She likes the majority of the classics and also loves films about animals. At first she was a bit reluctant but after 40 minutes or so, she was really hooked! A great film for those who like the Aristocats and Lady and the Tramp. Simply magical full stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film for kids or adults!, 8 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im a HUGE disney fanatic and let me say, oliver and company is up there in my top 10, fantastic film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver & Company [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This seems to be one of those Disney films that is often forgot or overlooked. That is a shame as this is a really good film and like all Disney films very watchable and enjoyable. For those who haven't seen it this is basically a Disney film version of the Charles Dickens classic story Oliver Twist. Children will definitley love it as will the majority of Disney fans. This is no means up there with Lion King etc but it is still a really good film to watch with the usual good songs and story with a life lesson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a very young niece who has discovered all things Disney, but as I had a full collection on VHS my last VHS player gave up and so I am now rebuilding my collection on DVD, as this is the same as my VHS version it will be a good and enjoyable watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I absolutely loved this film as a kid so I thought I ..., 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this film as a kid so I thought I should buy it again. I'm very glad I did, brings back memories of my childhood. It was delivered 1 day after I ordered it and I wasn't even expecting for it to come so soon, so I'm very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver & Company [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Oliver & Company [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by George Scribner (Blu-ray - 2014)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Black Cauldron [DVD]
The Black Cauldron [DVD] by Ted Berman (DVD - 2010)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (85)   
Buy new£9.45
In stock

The Fox and the Hound (Limited Edition Artwork & O-ring) [Blu-Ray] (1981)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5)   
Buy new£23.99
In stock

Brother Bear [Blu-ray] [2003] [Region Free]
Brother Bear [Blu-ray] [2003] [Region Free] by Joaquin Phoenix (Blu-ray - 2013)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (105)   
Buy new£9.99
In stock