Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I disagree with the earlier viewer!
In the 1980's the Disney studios released a handful of very good animated features, but the one given the most credit is The Little Mermaid. Oliver and company was released a year or so before the Little Mermaid (though many people believe the re-release was the original release, same goes for Great Mouse Detective). This rendition of Oliver Twist replaces the main...
Published on 21 Oct 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disney again doing there best to rip off the uk
good film no extras again no special features. NOTHING again disney you are a disgrace. just look at the usa r1 versions of most disney films. then look at uk r2 versions.
Published 4 months ago by Whizzer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I disagree with the earlier viewer!, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
In the 1980's the Disney studios released a handful of very good animated features, but the one given the most credit is The Little Mermaid. Oliver and company was released a year or so before the Little Mermaid (though many people believe the re-release was the original release, same goes for Great Mouse Detective). This rendition of Oliver Twist replaces the main character with an abandoned Kitten in 1980's New York. The story is pretty simple, but well executed with great songs, and an 80's favorite of mine, Billy Joel, as the canine version of the Artful Dodger. Changing the characters to adorable, modernized animals in my opinion was a great boost to the original story, in making it much easier to stick with without getting bored. I can watch any and all versions of a Christmas Carol without blinking, but it's easier to be picky with Dicken's other works. Disney once again uses it's enormous ability at improving stories and comes out with a very cute and entertaining film well worth owning on DVD. I'm glad to see it's finally being released in this format, and even happier to see that it will be including several of the kind of extras I LOVE getting on Disney DVD's. They're making major improvements compared to their first DVD releases which had NO extras. I'm looking forward to seeing more and more Disney Titles on DVD, especially the classic stuff, and the difficult to find old television stuff that can only be caught on the Disney Channel on ocassion if at all. I only wish they would stop the editing they sometimes do to their classic films because of stupid Political Correctness. Tampering with TV and movie history is equal with book burning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL DVD RELEASE!, 25 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This Disney release is a joy - especially considering the poor film-only DVD releases of late on Region 2 format.
Oliver and Company has been given a quality treatment and the DVD boasts the new technology with an animated menu and sound (not just a static picture). From the menu you can choose your various options including the well-endowed Bonus Features section.
The Bonus Features are fitting and plentiful including a lovely animated short (cartoon) called 'Puss Café' from Disney's Golden Age. The 14 page extensive gallery with conceptual art, character development and layouts makes for good viewing and is a rare peak in to the wonderful making of the film progress which is also documented in an ample featurette.
In addition to these features Disney have also included a short featurette on the theatrical re-release of the film as well as a featurette on the animation of Disney animals throughout Disney history - a gem of a bonus on this disc.
In true Disney style, as on R1 DVD releases, the DVD also has two Sing Along features.
The presentation, detail and consideration that has gone in to this DVD release sets a high standard for the new wave of UK DVDs from Disney. The included documentaries feature interviews with Bette Midler and Billy Joel et al. and are padded with interesting information which fans will welcome.
This film is a historic one for Disney - just note the trial of CGI and rebirth of Disney magic under the omniscient eye of Roy Disney in his foundation attempts to regain dwindling love for the House of Mouse.
A winning feature with no flaws - and many paws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film for kids or adults!, 8 Jun 2009
Im a HUGE disney fanatic and let me say, oliver and company is up there in my top 10, fantastic film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent as per usual from disney.
dont know why there is no uk release. usa region free. of course dvd wont play. i dont want the dvds anyway. isnt this why we are buying blu ray discs. yes the film looks glorious. all the usa edition are region free here is a little list of non uk editions.
lilo and stitch
atlantis
emporers new groove
home on the range
basil the great mouse detective. and of course..........
the many adventures of WINNIE THE POOH.
ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Little dated, 29 Jun 2014
By 
S. Carhart "Sarah" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
LOVED this when I was little and it first came out so bought it on DVD for my nephews to watch when they come over, the story is great (a version of Oliver Twist) and it has a great soundtrack but I was surprised that it seemed a little dated to me having not seen it for maybe twenty years! The boys still seemed to enjoy it but I just don't feel it has aged as well as Robin Hood or The Sword in the Stone, for example. Maybe because they are classic stories told in classical fashion whereas this was a classic story they attempted to modernise in the 80s and now it just seems a bit cheesy - but in the nicest possible way! Maybe its just that I'm not 5 anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wat the dickens, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oliver & Company [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
really amusing film for children and adults alike loved the story and the characters where great as well so i recommend it to one and all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oliver and Company, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Title says it all :) It is a true Disney treasure that has been overlooked so it borderlines illegal :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Job we'll done, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got it within 2 days perfect! Got what I asked for and the family loved it thank you x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it's suppose to, very good value for money, no faults so far, I strongly recommend this product :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute favourite of mine from when I was small. Superb quality DVD ( have only just realised Billy Joel was amoungdt the star studded cast) excellent Disney spin on a classic fairy tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oliver & Company [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Oliver & Company [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by George Scribner (Blu-ray - 2014)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews