Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars957
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2014
This a wonderful but painfully descriptive account of the true wickedness of Slavely. It's disturbing at times but a well written story of humble man who's hopes are finally realised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
An excellent narrative about the brutal treatment endured by the Southern slaves ( Could this all have been endured by one man or is it a collection of experiences made into a book?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
I wanted to read the book before seeing the film. It's intense, incredible, powerful and such an incredibly important piece of history that I believe everyone should be made to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
This a true story of how man treated man and should be read so this sort of thing cannot happen again. It was a really moving story and Solomon never lost his dignity or his faith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
This book is a must.i have never cried at a book but this got me twice with sadness once with joy.the best book I have read in years.i couldn't stop thinking about this man.amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I chose to read the book rather than to see the film, the story is well known of the cruelty of slavery, what makes this book different is the horror from a gentleman who was free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Every individual can learn from the gross inhumanity displayed by those that wield power. It clearly demonstrates that there is a right time and a right place for things to happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Cannot wait to dive into the detailed story of solomon Northup before i see the motion picture!

Product came very fast and in perfect condition :)

many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Some of the dialogue is a bit "southern" but this is still a must have true story.I watched the film and then wanted to read the book.Not disappointed and would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Best read in a long time. Insightful, emotional - much better than the film!
It was a bargain too compared to the amount of money spent at the cinema.
Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)