Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steamie - superb!
The Steamie has been a fixture on Scottish Television New Year schedules since it was filmed in 1988 (it has also been a successful stage play) and, at last, it is released on DVD.
It is a superb production set in the 1950s wash house (or Steamie!) - a mixture of laugh-out-loud comedy and tear-in-the-eye sentiment, with some songs thrown in.
The performances,...
Published on 31 Dec 2003 by Alex S

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO SUBTITLES
Bought it because of fond memories of seeing it when it was aired.

I would recommend it to someone who is fluent in the Glaswegian variety of the English language (not a French person like me)
Published 10 months ago by Michel Petit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steamie - superb!, 31 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Steamie has been a fixture on Scottish Television New Year schedules since it was filmed in 1988 (it has also been a successful stage play) and, at last, it is released on DVD.
It is a superb production set in the 1950s wash house (or Steamie!) - a mixture of laugh-out-loud comedy and tear-in-the-eye sentiment, with some songs thrown in.
The performances, especially Eileen McCallum and Dorothy Paul, are excellent.
Although set in Glasgow, it appeals to much more than a West of Scotland audience. I never tire of seeing it - superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute gem-you'll laugh and cry with the Glesca lasses., 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This is an exceptional TV version of Tony Roper's stage play, featuring many of the original cast, and glowing with the honest, often raw humour of Glasgow working-class women. Set in 1953, on Hognamany, one of the most important nights of the Scots calendar, they gather in the steamie (the communal laundry) to "wash out the old" before "ringing in the New". The Steamie is not just a laundry, it's *their* place, a place to meet and greet, to share a laugh, or to support one of their own in time of trial. You'll share in their everyday lives, often cruelly hard, their dreams, and most of all, their indomitable spirit, liberally laced with a razor-sharp humour, which permeates the whole play. Sprinkle lightly with a couple of poignant songs and you have an irresistable mix.
I defy anyone to watch this without becoming truly involved in the lives of the Glesca lasses; to share a belly laugh, aye, and a tear with them. A vibrant celebration and a truthful portrayal of the lives of Glasgow women in the 1950s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Hogmanay on Glasgow Green at the steamie..., 1 Oct 2003
Tony Roper's nostalgic look at the steamie (wash house) culture in 50's Glasgow is by turns sad, hilarious and simply delightful. A fine ensemble cast including Eileen McCallum, Dorothy Paul and Peter Mullan ensures that the judicious balance of comedy and tragedy is kept even.
There are also some great songs in the production - notable are 'Pals' and the closing number, 'We Wish You...', a New Year song which captures the bittersweet warmth of the season.
This DVD is a must see for anyone who remembers Glasgow this way, or has a granny who does...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 4 Jan 2009
By 
A. Miller "Annie" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"The Steamie" brought some wonderful memories back to me as this was one of the "chores" I had as a child. My Mum would get the old pram out and fill it with dirty clothes and bedding to take to the "Steamie". As a child this always seemed like a major chore but looking back it was a wonderful time shared with my Mum. "The Steamie" protrays with great accuracy the humour that was shared whilst doing the washing and waiting for the driers to work their magic. "The Steamie" is fantastic and I could watch it hundreds of times and still laugh out loud and cry the next minute......wonderful. Well done to everyone involved in this Scottish masterpiece and thanks for re-awaking my childhood memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable reaction!, 4 Feb 2009
I purchased this DVD as a Christmas present for my mother. I came accross it by accident and remembering that she had recorded it off TV many years ago I thought I would surprise her with a new copy. I can honestly say I have never had such a reaction to a gift before. It was hilarious. She LOVES this DVD and all her friends want it now too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steamie, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One has not REALLY lived until one has watched or seen the original 'Steamie'. The characters are wonderful! This is the perfect gift for anyone from the Celtic regions of the UK or even the English - as long as the latter are given a lesson on the vernacular. It is a unigue experience! I never tire of watching it and bought this one as a gift, to introduce the recipient to a new but very old kind of Scottish theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO SUBTITLES, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Michel Petit (Middle Of Nowhere in Francece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it because of fond memories of seeing it when it was aired.

I would recommend it to someone who is fluent in the Glaswegian variety of the English language (not a French person like me)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Steamie dvd, 27 July 2010
Play about a typical day in a Glasgow wash house of the 1950s, only this is Hogmanay. It's about the interaction between 4 of the women there and their aspirations, memories, thoughts - some of it's funny, some is poignant, all of it is warm-hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied customer, 22 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. Paul F. Mooney (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent production of what was originally a stage play set in Glasgow, Scotland. It captures an essential cultural experience for many in post-war Glasgow, in a communal wash-house, provided by the local government for common use. For those who hail from Glasgow it will ring true to the culture of those days of little in a heavily industrialised city with few comforts. A most enjoyable experience of viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Steamie, 8 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Steamie

A true depiction of Hogmanay in Scotland in the 'good old days'. Poignant and very moving in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb59c20c0)

This product

The Steamie [DVD] [1988]
The Steamie [DVD] [1988] by Haldane Duncan (DVD - 2014)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews