Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Norther Life
This is an excellent book, with tremendous northern humour and plenty of local historical contents from the past......took me down memory lane numerous times! There is without a doubt something unique about Manchester citizens.
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars
Unusual book, started reading it but have lost interest a quarter way through . will get round to finishing it at some point.❇
Published 2 months ago by susan pimlott


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Norther Life, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Rochdale,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book, with tremendous northern humour and plenty of local historical contents from the past......took me down memory lane numerous times! There is without a doubt something unique about Manchester citizens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Northern life, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant!!!! Brought back fab memories,especially the story about the Bookies, my Granddad always told me ladies didn't go in the Bookies so I don't!Also the mention of Monsall Hospital,my Grandad Joseph Henstock was the lodge man there in the early 60s xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best biographies I've ever read, 14 Dec. 2013
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely brilliant, laugh out loud funny, trying to ration it to make it last, but the urge to read it all in one go is hard to resist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this would recommend to everybody brought up in Manchester hopefully more books to follow like this worth the 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top book, laugh out loud funny., 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
Proper made me laugh, brought back so many memories of my childhood in Miles Platting, rough and ready as they used to say, I would recommend this book to any Mancunian who wants a trip down memory lane, I'm looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brings back happy memorys, 27 Dec. 2013
This review is from: A Northern Life (Paperback)
Brilliant from start to finish, so many laugh out loud moments, couldn't stop reading this book, couldn't believe how many happy memories this book brought back to me, one word describes this book, AWESOME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Northern Life...A.L.Mottley, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Northern Life (Paperback)
A must read book for anyone with a Mancunian childhood or background, with laugh out loud memories of the author and her family who are easy to relate to so much so that its hard to put down until the last page...which leaves you wanting more...cant wait until the next book from A.L. Mottley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Northern Life (Paperback)
You don't have to be 'northern' to enjoy this book! A wonderful read and an excellent first book, hope there are more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read in a long time 'r kid, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
R. J. Yates (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoy reading books about real people from real places then this is the book for you. An added bonus is if you come from the same area in North Manchester that the author is writing about.

Follow `r kid, her five sisters and one and only brother "The Chosen One", growing up in working class 1960s and 70s Moston and Collyhurst. Riding the CIS lift and visiting her Dad "at his office". The days when playing with her Nana's button tin was entertainment enough, a far cry from the I want, I want of today.

You can feel the love on every page that the family has as the author tells us of her Mam Joyce, her Dad "who is not from round these parts" Callie, her Nana Flo and Grandad Rob whose favourite subject is "the war".

This book is well worth its price and I for one cannot wait for her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking little book, couldn't put it down!, 10 Dec. 2013
This review is from: A Northern Life (Kindle Edition)
This author's first book is a laugh out loud assortment of tales from her life growing up in North Manchester as the child of a mixed race marriage. She is tremendously funny in her telling of anecdotes, and stories involving her parents and grandparents, siblings and friends.

I could identify totally with her memories of life in the 50's/60's/70's as part of a normal working class family and her real characters are funny in a way that unfortunately doesn't exist anymore (pc brigade take note). I'm afraid I was so enjoying reading it, that by the time I looked at the clock it was 3am!!

It would be a shame NOT to buy this book at such a great price. I'm sure we are going to hear lots more from this author and I can't wait for the next book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Northern Life
A Northern Life by A L Mottley
£3.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews