Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flash Drive: Great concept, Ideal for phones, tablets and more...
The fact that you are reading this review means that you are probably considering to buy this innovative wireless flash drive, so I will try to highlight certain features before delving into the full review. That way you could decide whether this unit is for you.

The Sandisk Connect is a 32GB USB flash drive with WiFi capabilities. It has a replaceable micro...
Published 14 months ago by Antoine Camilleri

versus
39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing in practice
Set up and file tranfer worked fine. But i want to use it from my iPad as a photo album and to stream music and it falls down on both. Photos load too slowly, several seconds of blank screen between images is not good enough. Music streams fine but only one track at a time. Every other music player i have allows whole albums to be played, on this one every track must...
Published 17 months ago by Mrs Krys Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flash Drive: Great concept, Ideal for phones, tablets and more..., 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri (Malta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fact that you are reading this review means that you are probably considering to buy this innovative wireless flash drive, so I will try to highlight certain features before delving into the full review. That way you could decide whether this unit is for you.

The Sandisk Connect is a 32GB USB flash drive with WiFi capabilities. It has a replaceable micro SD card memory, so you are not limited to the included 32GB micro SD shipped with the unit. It will expand your iPad, tablet and smartphone storage via Wi-Fi.

What it does really well:
✓ Transferring of files between your device and the Sandisk (no need for internet connection)
✓ Great for uploading the high quality photos from an iPhone (and smartphone) whilst on the field. Not limited by phone's memory storage
✓ Viewing of documents stored on the Sandisk, without the need to download them to the device

The "cloud" restricts users to data plans when on the move, so this little flash drive offers a much more accessible alternative.

What it does not do well: These could probably be addressed via firmware updates.
- Streaming of video files directly from the Sandisk stutter. The SanDisk Connect 64 GB Wireless Media Drive is best suited for media, as the name suggests
- Limited video format support

Now to the full review:

The 32GB is a Sandisk Ultra class 10 micro SD card which is replaceable. The Wi-Fi capability means that this drive can be used as a standalone hub, which is ideal when on the move. It transmits it's own SSID, which can be renamed and is compatible with virtually all platforms, including the Kindle Fire.

I was slightly disappointed with the build quality on unpacking this item. It just does not feel as sturdy as most Sandisk products. (Edit: After 4 months of ownership I have got used to the feel, and the unit still looks like new).

When I first plugged the Sandisk into the computer and downloaded the App for the iPad, a popup appeared telling me to upgrade the firmware, which was fast and very easy to follow.

An App called "Sandisk connect wireless Flash Drive" is available for iOS and Android.

iOS users will find that only mp4 media files are currently supported whereas Android will play avi files too.
When using the Android platform, clicking on a media file prompts you to choose a program for viewing the file. I find VLC media player(beta) a great option, and streams HD videos seamlessly from the Sandisk.

Some reviewers noted that when the flash drive is connected to a computer the unit stops transmitting. That is because the computer sees it as a mass storage device. Yet if you connect it using the cheap PortaPow Fast Charger (which blocks data tranfer) on your computer or directly to a 5V USB power supply, the drive will transmit and charge at the same time.

The battery status of the device is not displayed on the unit itself, yet it is available via the settings tab of the app itself (for both iPad and Android)

I use this flash drive extensively for setup and antivirus programs and important scanned documents. However I do occasionally use it for videos and music.

Considerations:
If your objective is media streaming than the SanDisk Connect 64GB Wireless Media Drive is a much better option
Being a Wi-Fi server, albeit limited range, make sure to set a password on the wireless flash drive (if using on public transport or public areas), else anyone in the vicinity can view your files.
Apps for iOS or Android get frequent updates, and this could mean better support in the future.

The Sandisk Connect has great potential and is probably an indication of where the future lies, yet I feel that the support has not kept pace, and needs polishing up. However the pros far outweigh the cons hence I still rate the Sandisk 5 stars. Time will tell whether support will enhance its functionality.

Highly recommended to anyone wanting to share data on multiple devices, or extend the capacity of their tablets and smartphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gadget, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDWS1-064G-E57 Connect Wireless Media Drive - 64 GB (Accessory)
Bought this mainly for storing photographs instead of using iPad for storage.
I found it easy to set up and use. Just followed instructions.
Excellent gadget.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Media Drive: Premium Quality Versatile Streaming Device, 29 April 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri (Malta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDWS1-064G-E57 Connect Wireless Media Drive - 64 GB (Accessory)
° UPDATE: Now supports a myriad of video formats. (AVI, MKV,WMV, to name a few)

The SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive seems to continue where the SanDisk Connect Wireless Flash Drive left off. However these units have specific uses and are targeted for different audiences.

As the name suggests this device is optimized for media streaming, and apart from PC and Mac, it is also compatible with iOS, Android and Kindle Fire via an app called "SanDisk Connect Wireless Media Drive". The iOS user interface seems to be more polished, and understandably so, as the iPad does not support native expandable storage in contrast to most android devices.

---------------------------------------

Package contents and initial impressions:

The "frustration free" packaging includes a USB data transfer/charging cable, a quick start guide, and the unit itself, measuring 6.5cm x 6.5cm x 1.2cm and around 75 grams.

The SanDisk Media Drive's premium finish reflects great attention to detail, sporting a chamfered aluminium bezel, a chequered board top and rubberised anti slip base. A power button, SD card slot, micro USB data port and three tiny indented LED lights are optimally placed on the casing.

I really find it incredible how SanDisk managed to pack 64GB of native flash memory, an 8 hour battery, and a WiFi server in such a tiny device. Add an optional 128GB SD card to that and you have a whopping 192GB of storage!!

Key Features:
' Compatibility with iPad, iPhone, iPod touch, Kindle Fire, Android devices PC and MAC computers
' Works wirelessly via Wi-Fi (802.11 b/g/n). No internet or router required
' Up to 8 hours of continuous use on a single charge
' Simultaneously connect up to 8 devices and stream video to 5 devices
' Supports movies, photos, music and documents
' Wi-Fi password protection
' Accessible up to 150 feet away
' Expandable Storage

-----------------------------------------

Hands on experience:

The Sandisk Connect Wireless Media Drive is very easy to set-up and use. The concise and comprehensive instructions are very easy to follow, and explain how to easily connect to the internet via the device settings.

When the Media Drive is connected to the computer, it is recognised as a "Media Drive" hard disk and displays 4 folders "Photos, Videos, Music and Files". New folders can be created, or existing ones edited. Basically it is treated as a normal hard drive. Once disconnected, and Wi-Fi is activated, these folders can be viewed on any device which has the app installed.

I have put the SanDisk through its paces and more or less confirmed all of the above claims. Streaming of HD media to an iPad 3, iPad Air a Nexus 7 and a Samsung S4 phone simultaneously, provided seamless, stutter free results. I placed the SanDisk around 80 feet away and still got optimal results. (Important to use password protection if you have sensitive data)

Another neat feature which I discovered by accident, is that data on an SD card can actually be transferred to the Media Drive's internal memory via the app itself. This comes in particularly handy if you happen to run out of space whilst snapping photos and do not have a spare SD card. It actually happened to me at my parents house, and I was lucky enough to have my new media drive with me.

Pros:
✔ Works as promised on the tin!
✔ Can be used whilst being charged from external power bank (Computer USB port when connected via the cheaply priced PortaPow Fast Charger which inhibits the unit from entering data mode).

Cons:
- No USB3.0 (USB2.0 data transfer from a PC or Mac can take a very long time, especially when transferring large amounts of data)

Users will find that they cannot access the internet when connected to the Media Drive, unless, that is, certain settings are set. Once the home network Wi-Fi password is entered, it will remain in memory. Every time the unit is switched on it will automatically connect to the home network too. The internet connection is routed through the Media Server, and as such there internet speed might be impacted. I could still play youtube videos in HD and had no buffering. Having said that I usually do not connect the device to the internet in order to save on battery power and use all available resources for streaming.

--------------------------------------

Who will benefit most?:

' iPad users will find this media device indispensable.
' Great to share photos with family and friends when at gatherings or parties, (They will need the app installed on their device, and the number of simultaneous users is limited to 8).
' Instead of having the same media installed on separate phones, tablets and computers, this can be stored on the SanDisk Media Server, which will act as a hub.
I listed only 3 yet there are so many more benefits which would appeal to different individuals.

This drive has the potential to become a best seller thanks to its great functionality and versatility.

I hope you find the overview of the SanDisk Connect Wireless Media drive useful in deciding whether it is for you. I honestly think that this device is simply awesome and cannot recommend it highly enough!

Please feel free to comment or ask any questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 90 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 29.7GB of storage but limited video format compabitility, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
H Jackson (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As with most storage devices, the quoted amount of storage isn't quite what you get. Only 29.7GB of the 32GB is available for storage.

That's not a major problem. But the limited video formats that it's compatible with IS more of a limitation.

INSTALLATION
Simply plug the SanDisk Connect into your computer's USB port and you can drag and drop music, photos and videos to the SanDisk's flash drive. The flash drive writes quite slowly at around 4MB/second, so transferring say a 1GB movie can take 3 or 4 minutes.

On my Android tablet, I also installed the SanDisk Wireless Flash app from the Google Play store. This was very straightforward.

When your SanDisk Connect is fully charged (2 hours, the instruction leaflet says), you simply unplug it from your computer and press the power button for a few seconds. You then select the SanDisk wireless network on your tablet and start up the SanDisk app.

The SanDisk app brings up a simple file management list of folders. Clicking a folder full of photos brought thumbnails up of the entire folder. Click a particular photo and it takes around 4 seconds to bring the actual photo up on screen, although subsequent photos can be quicker as my tablet seemed to buffer further photos.

Similarly, click a song (mine are all mp3 format) and it streams from the SanDisk flash drive.

Click on an mp4 video and my tablet asks me to 'Complete Action Using' (and then I can either use the native Android player or any of the players that I have installed such as MX Player and MoboPlayer). Streaming even 1080p quality video worked beautifully.

So far, so easy.

MULTIPLE STREAMING
My son also has an Android tablet so we tried playing different videos from the SanDisk and this worked well. Even though we were watching different videos on our individual tablets, there was no noticeable lag on either of our screens.

LIMITED VIDEO FORMAT COMPATIBILITY
Unfortunately, most of my videos are in formats other than mp4. I have lots of avi and some mkv file formats, which do not stream from the SanDisk flash drive.

In order to play these, you click one of these and then it downloads from the flash drive onto your tablet (which takes several minutes). This isn't the best solution as clearly you could just download the video from your computer straight to your tablet.

I found this extremely disappointing.

SECURITY
I recommend going into the Settings menu, and then selecting the Network option in order to create a password for your flash drive. Otherwise, anyone else in the vicinity could also connect to your SanDisk flash drive and not only read your files but also delete them if they wished!

OVERALL
A handy gadget for carrying more content with you. It's particularly handy for sharing content. Rather than having a video saved on every separate person's tablet or phone, you can have it on the central SanDisk flash drive. I can see this being particularly useful for iPad users and tablets that do not have a SD slot.

However, I found the lack of compatability with video formats other than mp4 extremely disappointing and so this reduced my rating from 5 stars to 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing in practice, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Set up and file tranfer worked fine. But i want to use it from my iPad as a photo album and to stream music and it falls down on both. Photos load too slowly, several seconds of blank screen between images is not good enough. Music streams fine but only one track at a time. Every other music player i have allows whole albums to be played, on this one every track must be played individually (and no playlist function). So while the concept is fine practical issues limit its usefulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, simple, effective, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDWS1-064G-E57 Connect Wireless Media Drive - 64 GB (Accessory)
I got this for use with the iPad 2 as storage for a bank of video for my five year old. The Sandisk app works, although it seems insane that they have had to (very effectively btw) rewrite music and video viewers instead of being able to just use the iPads own. Another example of Apple control freakery I suppose.

How it works:
1) Buy the device and install the sandisk connect app on your device
2) Connect the device to your PC via USB, it shows as a media drive (and an SD card separately if one is installed)
3) Drag the files you want over into the device, you can add folders, sub folders etc
4) Disconnect the device, make sure it is turned on
5) Connect the iPad Wifi to the device in the Wifi settings screen
6) Open the app.
7) For me this seamlessly found the device and starts with a screen with all the content (video) on the device, this is a tad annoying as it ignores the Film / TV Programme / Series groupings that you would naturally get in the iPad app - BUT --->
8) Select the "File" view and it will show you the file system (folder structure) you created at point (3) - this means if you organise your folders properly and use this view you actually get more organisation than the native iPad video app gives you :-) ie stick your kids films in "Kids Films" and your stuff in "Adult Films" or whatever. Actually, maybe don't call it "Adult Films" - may give the wring idea.
9) Pick a video and play

Streaming is perfect, multiple devices work just fine.

This is an effective solution to additional storage for the iPad, perfect for us going on holiday and travelling as my daughter can choose what she fancies from all the content we have rather than being restricted to what we could fit on the space on the iPad.

I paired it with a 128Gb high speed SD card that cost £33 so for under £100 I have about 200Gb of storage which can be accessed from our various devices. This came into its own when my wife and I were watching the same episode of a TV show - me on my Android Nexus 5, her on her iPhone while my daughter was watching a film. All happily sitting next to each other on a plane. Social it wasn't, but it was a really easy way to pass the time on a flight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best media sharing device out there, 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: SanDisk SDWS1-064G-E57 Connect Wireless Media Drive - 64 GB (Accessory)
The best gadget I've bought in ten years. Having tried umpteen ways of storing, transferring and viewing videos, pictures, music and documents across multiple devices (Android, iPad and PC in my case), this is the only thing that lives up to its hype I've tried. Ignore the reviews which talk about slow upload speeds - they've missed the point - so what if it takes an hour or two to transfer media? Once it's on there, it'll probably take you weeks or months to view it! Besides, uploading the odd extra file is both simple and pretty quick I'd say, and given the continuing silliness of trying to hook up Android and Apple devices for file sharing, this really is a cute, flexible little device. Moreover, I use it as a means of moving and sharing documents - anything you can think of will work - so if you've a Word document, PDF, MP3, MP4 or indeed anything else languishing on your iPad or Android HD, you can simply connect all your devices simultaneously to the Sandisk, then transfer up, down, sideways, whatever! The other thing is that the device itself is so tiny you can shove it in a shirt pocket! The SD function is also genius - I've got the 64 gb version (bought it in China for about £50 last year), and if you put in a 128 HB SD, you've straight away got yourself close on 200 gb of storage, which isn't so far off what a lot of laptops have! If that's still not enough for you, then buy yourself one or more 128 gb SD cards from Amazon (I bought the cheapest, unheard of brand for £28) and then you can pop them in and out of your Sandisk willy nilly, effectively making the device limitless in capacity. I bought the Seagate Satelite a few years back, hoping it would achieve something like this Sandisk can do, and frankly it is hopeless - five times heavier, slow as hell and only a few hours of battery life (Seagate are still flogging these, albeit packaged in a sleeker shell), but much more expensive than the tiny Sandisk and a lot more hassle with dropped wifi signals and rubbish interface.

In short, this is the on-the-hoof media consumer's answer - spend a Sunday morning sticking your entire iTunes and other media/docs onto the Sandisk/external SD cards, and enjoy accessing it and moving stuff to and fro for as long as you wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1080p/25 video at 16 megabits works fine on my Air, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SanDisk SDWS1-064G-E57 Connect Wireless Media Drive - 64 GB (Accessory)
I purchased this for use with iPad Air, Kindle Fire HD and iphone 3 GS (old). After a lot of struggling I did what I was told and upgraded the firmware. It was transformed!

My 20+ GBs of videos, photos and music were already organised into main and sub directories and this fools the app producing some confusion, particularly about the difference between an artist and an album, but it work well in "files" mode. I have managed to get it to work with FB ( FileBrowser) using FTP so you can add/ remove directories, copy, delete and move files around all within the unit as well as from and back to the iPad. This makes most of the PC based requirements redundant. But note that because it uses FTP you can not stream from within FB, it downloads the whole file and then plays it..

I have measured the transfer rate to the iPad Air using FB and a 1 GB file and it varied between 2.8 and 3.5 MB/sec. This puts it well out in front against other units tested by me. 1080p/25 video at 16 megabits works fine on my Air.

So overall I am well pleased, so why the 4. Well the app' caches data as you go along and this builds up in your IOS device until it grinds to a holt. There is no feature to delete temporary files. The solution is simple, just delete the app' and immediately reload. Simple that is if you know about it!

But still a good product although the SD card slot looks a bit delicate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible instructions, difficult to use, 12 Sept. 2013
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I understand the principle of this item. I stick it into my laptop's USB port (initially you do that just to charge it up, which took only about 90 minutes) and then you can download onto it your music, photographs and/or videos of your choice which it can store up to about 28gb, and it will then make that content available (without necessarily being attached to your laptop/PC) streaming it via its own wireless network, to any device upon which you have downloaded a special app. called the SanDisk Wireless flash drive app. That I did onto my Samsung Galaxy S2 from the Google Play Store, no cost involved.
From that point on I have to say that everything becomes very confusing. The instructions assume a reasonable level of computer knowledge, which many users do not have. There is no information coming up as to how I actually drop music, or videos or photographs from my laptop into this drive. No icon with options appeared on my laptop screen after plugging in the activated flash drive. Further, my Galaxy S2, once I've activated the app. downloaded onto it, seems to be wanting not to receive anything but instead is offering me photographs already in the phone's memory to possibly be transferred wirelessly into the Flash Drive, however there are no instructions on how to achieve that, even if I wanted to do so. On my phone's screen I am offered 2 options - Downloads, files downloaded on my phone - and Phone Gallery, which say it is for photos and videos on my phone. Music is not mentioned. Underneath both those things on my phone's screen is an icon labelled "SanDisk Flash." When I press thatI get a page headed "Internet Connection", telling me that while I'm connected to the Flash Drive, the phone is disconnected from the internet, but it also tells me that I can connect to the internet while also being connected to the drive if I go to preferred networks in my phone's app settings. So I've done this and see my usual wi-fi connected and the SanDisk Flash FBA25F listed under it not connected but giving a good signal. So I press the screen for the SanDisk network that then connects, but it disables my normal wi-fi. However, what next? All my camera pics come up on the phone's screen, but why? Does that mean I can now send them to my laptop? If so, how? And if files are to travel wirelessly the other way, from my laptop to my phone, how will that work? And first, whichever way they are to move, they first have to be downloaded to the flash drive, and there are no instructions telling me how to do that or how to activate them once they are in there.. there are certainly no options for music, moving it in either direction from device to device or for dropping anything into the flash drive for later transmission.

I'd love to move a copy of my substantial music files from the phone to the laptop, but that doesn't seem possible. Samsung Kies is so useless so do not suggest that. I'd love to move some photographs from my laptop to the flash drive device for later streaming to any other interested mobile devices which have downloaded the app. The accompanying literature tells me I can "...access my movies, photos, music and documents for up to 4 hours on a single charge."
If that's true, then please tell me in plain English how to achieve that! The instructions are a disgrace, so basically, the whole shooting match sits there flashing and doing nothing and I have no idea what to press or when.
I write this in the full knowledge that many other people have made it work, but I refuse to believe that I am a one-off idiot!
In the interests of fairness, if any of this changes I will return to this review and amend it accordingly. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars warning if you want to stream purchased itunes movies to an ipad using ios 8 or use android 4.3 or higher, 4 Dec. 2014
By 
mojo "mojo" (tel aviv, israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: SanDisk SDWS1-064G-E57 Connect Wireless Media Drive - 64 GB (Accessory)
I have a 32 gig ipad and I am now in a position where I can only store a few movies because of apps, music photos etc. This looked like the best way to get over a problem of streaming kids movies for journeys. I understand that with IOS 7 it was possible to do this (the movies load to safari and can be watched from there). But, if you upgraded to IOS 8 then this no longer works. If I had known this ahead of time I am not sure I would have bought it. The irony is that if you have an non itunes purchased movie it works fine! I must be quite unlucky because I also have a samsung s4 and initially it would not connect. Workaround is to go to settings, wifi, advanced and disable Auto network Search. Then the S4 can recognise the media drive. Right now I think this will mostly be useful for photos storage, docs. I have not tried playing music from it yet. Its a shame apple placed such a restriction and i thought i waited long enough before upgrading to the new ios (which i did before I bought the media drive).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews