Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2013
HA, Ha, Ha! I am still laughing at Maureen's attempts to impress her friend by making her a hand crafted card for Christmas.
As is the case with real life friends I have grown to love Maureen's character as much for her flaws as I do for her attributes. This wee story is the ideal antidote for all those seasonal stresses, no matter what a guddle you get yourself into over the festivities just keep this book to hand, think of Maureen and reassure yourself 'it could be worse'.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
If you already know her you'll love this latest story from Jonathan Hill about his hapless creation, Maureen. In this special Christmas offering Maureen is at her social climbing, sherry slurping, self-deluded best. Although you know where this story is going before Maureen gets there you're thinking "No! Stop! It won't work Maureen" but she goes to the limit with the inevitable consequences.

If you haven't met Maureen before I'm sure you'll enjoy this short story and want to read the other books too.

In Maureen the author has created a wonderful character who at times amazes with the extent of her crassness but occasionally is poignantly sensitive and insightful. Beautifully written with clarity and precision, Jonathan Hill once again demonstrates that he is the master of small details - a talented writer of short stories.

In addition you get two Maureen drabbles - a form of writing at which the author excels - and an additional story from an earlier period in Maureen's life. All in all an entertaining and lively read for Christmas or any time of the year and excellent value for money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
An entertaining, witty story about Maureen's Christmas preparations. We all have a friend/family member/neighbour who makes us feel inadequate. Maureen is trying to face Louise with admirable determination, and her efforts are funny but not very successful. Thank you for this warm read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
A lovely short tale about the antics of poor Maureen. She tries her hardest, but the sherry gets in her way and causes no end of problems. This is a lovely break from the Christmas preparations and a definite laugh for anyone who needs it at this time of the year.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
This is a mini-Maureen adventure. If you think that making a Christmas card WOULDN'T be an adventure, then you've not met Maureen yet.

This might be a short story, but it's full of Maureen.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Saw this as a free kindle book. An easy quick read, light hearted.. will look for some more Maureen books!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Maureen making her own Christmas Card? You might think 'that can only end badly.' You'd be right.
Throw in some slapstick, written with no small amount of skill, some Cliff Richard ( Christmas isn't complete without him) and a good laugh and you've got a little cracker. Great stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Maureen proves once and for all that some people just shouldn't be allowed scissors.

Jonathan Hill brings us a cracking new Maureen tale, with a couple of extra shorts for good measure.

Read it - you'll be glued to the table, Literally!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
I have never met Maureen before, but I like her! Having made a rash promise, Maureen decides to make her own Christmas card this year. This is a terrible mistake. Particularly if you like Bountys!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Maureen Gets Crafty is a nice little Christmas tale involving Jonathan's fantastic comic creation. I enjoyed how Maureen just seems to get into these little scrapes, whether they be big or small, the author has a way of making it hilarious. Whilst I worked out the ending before I got there (hey, my brain tends to wander when I read and tries to work out the end long before it has arrived) it did not detract from the story.

This collection also includes some Maureen drabbles, a Maureen prequel and letter to the calendar company mentioned in the main story. They all raise a smile. Maureen strikes again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.