Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Frolics!
HA, Ha, Ha! I am still laughing at Maureen's attempts to impress her friend by making her a hand crafted card for Christmas.
As is the case with real life friends I have grown to love Maureen's character as much for her flaws as I do for her attributes. This wee story is the ideal antidote for all those seasonal stresses, no matter what a guddle you get yourself into...
Published 4 months ago by harasrrek

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather short story
I love the Maureen series and have enjoyed each one, but I was rather disappointed by how very short this latest offering is.
Published 3 months ago by Ms. C. Ellison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Festive Frolics!, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
HA, Ha, Ha! I am still laughing at Maureen's attempts to impress her friend by making her a hand crafted card for Christmas.
As is the case with real life friends I have grown to love Maureen's character as much for her flaws as I do for her attributes. This wee story is the ideal antidote for all those seasonal stresses, no matter what a guddle you get yourself into over the festivities just keep this book to hand, think of Maureen and reassure yourself 'it could be worse'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
A lovely short tale about the antics of poor Maureen. She tries her hardest, but the sherry gets in her way and causes no end of problems. This is a lovely break from the Christmas preparations and a definite laugh for anyone who needs it at this time of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crafty Maureen, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Joo "kuforum" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
This is a mini-Maureen adventure. If you think that making a Christmas card WOULDN'T be an adventure, then you've not met Maureen yet.

This might be a short story, but it's full of Maureen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short charming Christmas story, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
An entertaining, witty story about Maureen's Christmas preparations. We all have a friend/family member/neighbour who makes us feel inadequate. Maureen is trying to face Louise with admirable determination, and her efforts are funny but not very successful. Thank you for this warm read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
Saw this as a free kindle book. An easy quick read, light hearted.. will look for some more Maureen books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
Maureen proves once and for all that some people just shouldn't be allowed scissors.

Jonathan Hill brings us a cracking new Maureen tale, with a couple of extra shorts for good measure.

Read it - you'll be glued to the table, Literally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Christmas Maureen!, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
If you already know her you'll love this latest story from Jonathan Hill about his hapless creation, Maureen. In this special Christmas offering Maureen is at her social climbing, sherry slurping, self-deluded best. Although you know where this story is going before Maureen gets there you're thinking "No! Stop! It won't work Maureen" but she goes to the limit with the inevitable consequences.

If you haven't met Maureen before I'm sure you'll enjoy this short story and want to read the other books too.

In Maureen the author has created a wonderful character who at times amazes with the extent of her crassness but occasionally is poignantly sensitive and insightful. Beautifully written with clarity and precision, Jonathan Hill once again demonstrates that he is the master of small details - a talented writer of short stories.

In addition you get two Maureen drabbles - a form of writing at which the author excels - and an additional story from an earlier period in Maureen's life. All in all an entertaining and lively read for Christmas or any time of the year and excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Cards will never be the same, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
I have never met Maureen before, but I like her! Having made a rash promise, Maureen decides to make her own Christmas card this year. This is a terrible mistake. Particularly if you like Bountys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maureen strikes again!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
Maureen Gets Crafty is a nice little Christmas tale involving Jonathan's fantastic comic creation. I enjoyed how Maureen just seems to get into these little scrapes, whether they be big or small, the author has a way of making it hilarious. Whilst I worked out the ending before I got there (hey, my brain tends to wander when I read and tries to work out the end long before it has arrived) it did not detract from the story.

This collection also includes some Maureen drabbles, a Maureen prequel and letter to the calendar company mentioned in the main story. They all raise a smile. Maureen strikes again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather short story, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. C. Ellison "lexar" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maureen Gets Crafty (Kindle Edition)
I love the Maureen series and have enjoyed each one, but I was rather disappointed by how very short this latest offering is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab4da54c)

This product

Maureen Gets Crafty
Maureen Gets Crafty by Jonathan Hill
0.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews