Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woman on the edge of a nervous breakdown
A more serious film from Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine tells the story of Jasmine, a spoilt New York Socialite forced to move in with her sister in San Francisco after she loses her entire fortune after her husband is arrested for fraud. While not up there with Woody Allen's great films like Annie Hall or Manhatten, Blue Jasmine is one of his better recent films with...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
It's alright, has some good moments and performances but doesn't really go anywhere. I expected more after the oscar hype.
Published 1 month ago by Otisdog


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woman on the edge of a nervous breakdown, 28 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A more serious film from Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine tells the story of Jasmine, a spoilt New York Socialite forced to move in with her sister in San Francisco after she loses her entire fortune after her husband is arrested for fraud. While not up there with Woody Allen's great films like Annie Hall or Manhatten, Blue Jasmine is one of his better recent films with excellent all round performances especially Cate Blanchett in the lead role and Alec Baldwin as her husband who appears via flashback. While Jasmine is a completely unsympathetic character and a snob at least to me anyway, it's Blanchett's superb performance one of her best in fact, that keeps you watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greek tragedy - Grim, but wonderfully constructed and acted, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Susan Glazier (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a grim, but wonderfully acted, story about Jasmine, an unquestioning, super-rich, society wife who by a deliberate act of malice against her unscrupulous, unfaithful, con-man husband, causes her world to completely unravel, leaving her husband dead (from suicide in prison) and her with nothing. The film is about her attempts to put some of the pieces together after having a severe mental breakdown which was treated (we learn) by ECT. She is on the verge of madness throughout the film, covered by a seemingly sophisticated, upmarket veneer which she uses to function. Nevertheless, her attempts at re-educating herself and learning skills for the jobs market are hampered both by her poor mental state and what seems like confusion and memory loss, which could have been left by the ECT. She falls back on trying to find another rich husband to care for and pamper her as she has been used to. All goes horribly wrong. Although Jasmine is not a sympathetic character who seems to have learned nothing from her experiences, I did strangely feel sympathy for her and her predicament. The film is very interesting and thought provoking, wonderfully constructed and acted. The other thought I've recently had is that unfortunately no one was seeing Jasmine's madness (probably because of cultural factors) and taking her in hand either by seriously talking with her, checking on her medication or getting her more mental health support (ideally counselling). The film is a Greek tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 13 April 2014
By 
miss "cherry" (oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really beautifully acted and thoughtful films with a twist. Really emotional and interesting, it just flew past. Has to be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching for Blanchett alone, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you would expect from Allen, the film is sleek, well-written and stylish. Blanchett's performance is 5 star, full of humour but heartbreaking at the same time. The film a very much above average 3 star with some outstanding supporting roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant performance by Cate Blanchett, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can see why she won the Oscar for this mesmerising acting performance, she almost single handedly dominated the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Woody's best, 16 Oct 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought a ticket to this movie knowing absolutely nothing about it, and almost immediately as it began I knew I was watching a Woody Allen movie.

I cannot say exactly why this is so. Perhaps it was the richness of the character study, and the fact that Allen writes so excellently for female characters. In any event, Cate Blanchett's character, and her brilliant performance of this down on her luck former socialite married to a conman husband played by Alec Baldwin, may be the best female character performance you will see on a movie screen this year, and Blanchett's performance is probably the most Oscar worthy I have seen so far.

Set in San Francisco in the present day it unfolds the complex relationship of two sisters, one upper class but fallen on hard times, and her working class sister who makes working class choices. Because it unfolds in a non linear fashion it appears to dip randomly into different events over a period of about 15 years or so, and we understand why the sister is working class.

One of the themes of the movie is honesty, and facing reality, and Jasmine makes choices that seem oblivious to it. She fibs and tells little lies, at one level self deceptive, and at another deceptive of others. We may not like her for this, but if you're like me, I felt tremendous compassion for her, even loved her in spite of everything, which is not often I feel that way about a character. She suffers from severe anxiety, and the events she has to undergo take a toll on her. One particular choice she makes has particularly severe repercussions, yet in the moment we fully understand it.

I think it is fair to say moving to Europe and making films there has been wonderful for Woody Allen. In an interview he said that his previous movies were critically acclaimed but commercially unsuccessful. Now he has made a series of outstanding movies, and written brilliant roles particularly for women.

I cannot claim to love all of them, but Vicky Cristina Barcelona was excellent and Penelope Cruz won an Oscar for her performance. Match Point is probably my personal favorite starring Scarlet Johansson and Jonathan Rhys Meyers, about an upwardly mobile ambitious tennis coach, and what may be a perfect murder. Midnight in Paris was dreamy and sentimental, and won an Oscar for best screenplay. Woody Allen has been nominated a staggering 23 times for an Academy Award winning four times, three times for Best Original Screenplay, and once for Best Director of Annie Hall.

Actors who worked with him have also won Oscars. Remember Mira Sorvino for Mighty Aphrodite, and Michael Caine for Hannah and Sisters.

As someone who lives in San Francisco, I can say that he makes it look almost better than the reality, and a beige BMW can do wonders to enliven the surroundings.

It seems to me that like a good wine, Woody just gets better with age, and easily maintains his excellence with this movie.

I think most people will enjoy this movie, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's alright, has some good moments and performances but doesn't really go anywhere. I expected more after the oscar hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ego melt down., 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Woody Allen departs from the ensemble approach to film making with Blue Jasmine. Before our eyes we see an ego dissolve and there' a little surprise near the end. Cate Blanchette deserved her best actress oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great film let down by slapdash resolution, 2 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thought while watching this that Woody Allen was right back on form: there was no-one impersonating him now that he's too old to play himself, the acting with of the highest quality (especially by Sally Hawkins) and the story really breathed. Then the last third of the fall sees the whole structure come tumbling down as the relationship problems of both main characters are solved in moments with no depth at all. This is when you get to wondering again whether Woody Allen's output being so great, he wouldn't take more care if he didn't have the next one coming right up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film!, 2 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Hilary Hilton "Hilary" (Winchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Jasmine [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a great film. I took it to a friends house and we were glued to it. I can see why Cate Blanchett got an award - brilliant film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1e44234)

This product

Blue Jasmine [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free]
Blue Jasmine [Blu-ray] [2014] [Region Free] by Woody Allen (Blu-ray - 2014)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews