Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet
Originally published at Rookie Romance.

I'm going to keep this review short and sweet, just like the book.

I was very impressed by how well developed the story was, considering the length of the story. It only took about 20 minutes to read.
I think because Sutbridge and Caroline already had a history together, it made it easier to have a...
Published 8 months ago by C. Halford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cynical Heroine... Lacking in Romance
Background: Caroline, Lady Ballister, was married at age 18 to a man she didn't love and who never gave her satisfaction in the marriage bed. Before she married, she was extremely infatuated with Lord Sutbridge who was 20 years old at the time. Now, she is a widow nearing age 30 with two young sons by her previous husband.

Her joyless marriage has contributed...
Published 2 months ago by Judge Tabor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 3 Jan 2014
By 
C. Halford "Rookie Romance" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Originally published at Rookie Romance.

I'm going to keep this review short and sweet, just like the book.

I was very impressed by how well developed the story was, considering the length of the story. It only took about 20 minutes to read.
I think because Sutbridge and Caroline already had a history together, it made it easier to have a meaningful relationship and the romance didn't seem too sudden.
Caroline is definitely not interested in marrying again after a loveless and cold first marriage, but Sutbridge has loved her for far too long to settle for just an affair.

It's a second chance love story and a very sweet one. It also serves as a great introduction to Sabrina Darby's books, and I'm already looking forward to reading more from this author.

*I received a review copy from the publisher, via NetGalley, for my honest review. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 25 Dec 2013
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Truthfully, I find novellas and short stories to be a tricky thing.

the shorter the story, the less mistakes you are allowed to make.

Want to know the weird thing about this one? Once I finished it, I felt as satisfied as if I read a full lengh regency novel.

I guess it's because the attraction was apparent, as was the love.

The characters had enough depth, and the plot was achieved.

The problem is I'm not sure what to say much about it. it's a short fun read. 20 minutes tops. And once I finished reading it, I knew the author made it as long as it was supposed to be, nothing left to be clarified and it wasn't dragging.

I'll certainly check more books by Sabrina Darby.

a copy was provided through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PERIOD NOVELLA, 6 Feb 2014
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
After her husbands death, Caroline is free. Now she can do as she pleases, and what pleases her is to have an affair with John Duke of Sutbridge. But he has something different in mind.

This is a really short read, a great introduction to this author if you haven't read her before. She has a very flowing style and packs this story with detail. It may be short but you're not short changed.
ARC courtesy of NetGalley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but satisfying, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
This is a great example of how to write a short novel. Found myself caring about the characters and wanting them to get together - and giving them a history made the plot development seamless and believable.
This a bargain for free, and I will definitely be looking for more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cynical Heroine... Lacking in Romance, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Background: Caroline, Lady Ballister, was married at age 18 to a man she didn't love and who never gave her satisfaction in the marriage bed. Before she married, she was extremely infatuated with Lord Sutbridge who was 20 years old at the time. Now, she is a widow nearing age 30 with two young sons by her previous husband.

Her joyless marriage has contributed to Caroline's cynical and hardhearted attitude and her decision to never marry again. However, she does want to have a sexual relationship in part because she never received sexual satisfaction with her husband. She feels that her most attractive years are behind her but she does want something out of life other than what she has known.

Since Lord Sutbridge's sister, Julia, is her best friend, she sees him on a regular basis. When she approaches him about a relationship on her terms, he turns her down. Apparently, he has wanted her since he was 20 and was taken by surprise when she married. He has longed for her since that time but he is ready for marriage and all that it involves. In fact, he strongly desires Caroline but only if she will marry him.

*Spoilers* Initially, Sutbridge tells Caroline marriage is the only way he will have her but changes his mind thinking she might come around to the idea of marriage if he can get her with child. So, they do indeed begin an affair. Caroline is very controlling and basically lets him know she will tell him when she wants him, etc. This doesn't go over very well with Sutbridge and they have a rocky start in their romance - if you could call it that. In my opinion, there was very little romance in their relationship except for the fact that Sutbridge wanted her and said he would be faithful to her. At least that was something.

In order for them to actually come together, Julia told Caroline that Sutbridge had become engaged to another woman and only then did Caroline realize that she loved and wanted Sutbridge. I realize this book is a novella and there isn't a lot of room for character development. However, to the extent these characters were developed, I found very little to actually admire or to enjoy about their personalities or relationship. This story didn't pique my interest much at all. I give the book three stars instead of two because even though the story-line was one I found uninteresting, the basic writing skills and editing were pretty good. I do wish writers of romance novels would realize that romance, desire, friendship, kindness, gentle touches, etc. are way more romantic than sexual details. In my opinion, the aforementioned elements are conducive to tugs on the heart and vital to keeping a story in the reader's mind long after the book is gathering dust or in the case of my Kindle, stuck in the "archived" section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story, 23 May 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Hall (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
This was a short story but it was packed with interest and did not leave you wanting. I have given the story 5 stars because it was well written, and a brilliant but short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Caroline and the duke by Sabrina Darby, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book and loved the writers unusual story a man in love with a woman who wanted him but not marriage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story but only 50%, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
A good regency story about love lost and found ten years later with some persuasion. The rest if the book is 50% extracts from other books by this author. It was a good freebie. Shane it,was only 50%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shame, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
this story was very good, its a shame it ended so soon may be she could add to it?????????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caroline and the Duke: A Regency Short Story (Kindle Edition)
Too short, but enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews