Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story
On the whole, I found this to be an enjoyable read. DCI Tom Caton and his new bride Kate are honeymooning in Venice, when they quite literally come across a dead body floating in the canal. Back home again, Tom is soon joined by Commissario Bonifati and his assistant Sovrintendente Caterina Volpe who fly to Manchester from Venice when the body is identified as being a...
Published 6 months ago by ElaineG

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He's written better!
Seems a bit rambling and missing the point for much of the story. Bill has obviously done a lot of research into the Italian community, in Manchester and possibly is learning the language, and he seems determined to use it at all costs, including losing the pace and structure of the story.
Published 5 months ago by M. Stevenson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story, 29 Dec 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
On the whole, I found this to be an enjoyable read. DCI Tom Caton and his new bride Kate are honeymooning in Venice, when they quite literally come across a dead body floating in the canal. Back home again, Tom is soon joined by Commissario Bonifati and his assistant Sovrintendente Caterina Volpe who fly to Manchester from Venice when the body is identified as being a Mancunian,Giovanni Richetti. The story then twists and turns and you are certainly kept guessing as the trio try to work out why he was killed and who by. You also very soon realise that Bonifati is not telling Tom everything he needs to know. There are a couple of subplots running alongside the investigation, but it all seems to pull together at the end quite nicely and to say more about that would be to spoil the read entirely.

I like the characters of Tom and Kate, they are nice, down to earth people with a passion for fine dining. I also particularly liked the way the author depicted Manchester, with lots of little nuggets of information about the city which really brought the setting to life.

However, I did come across a lot of typos, along the lines of missing words and than/that errors, but more importantly some quite confusing transpositions. However I understand the author has corrected these errors and submitted a second edition so I have amended my review upwards from three stars to four. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story from Bill Rogers, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Karen Collins (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed the latest book about Manchester detective Tom Caton. Not the best of the series but still very good nevertheless. My Italian is non-existent and there were a few sentences in the book without obvious translation but this didn't detract from the story at all. Manchester is my favourite city and its lovely to read little snippets about it, especially the restaurants ( have Katsouris deli on my 'to visit' list from previous novels) Interesting seeing the characters develop in each novel, can't wait to see how Kate's jealousy pans out in the forthcoming stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars He's written better!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
M. Stevenson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Seems a bit rambling and missing the point for much of the story. Bill has obviously done a lot of research into the Italian community, in Manchester and possibly is learning the language, and he seems determined to use it at all costs, including losing the pace and structure of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Venetian Moon by Bill Rogers, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Bill's novels hust keep getting better and I thoroughly enjoyed this latest DCI Tom Caton story, 'A Venetian Moon' which begins in Venice where Tom and Kate are on honeymoon. A young woman's scream draws the detective to the scene of a bloated body floating face-down in the canal.
Some time later the investigating officer, Commissario Umberto Bonifati and his stunningly attractive assistant, Caterina Volpe, arrive in Manchester to follow up the case. It transpires that the body in the canal had been murdered and the victim was a Mancunian!
Tom and Umberto are soon following up connections to Manchester's gangland and the Mafia, while Tom tries to decipher exactly what is Umberto's brief.
With his usual attention to detail Bill creates the atmosphere of Venice, a place he knows well, with confident strokes. The main characters are easy to identify with and clearly drawn. The sub plots provide plausible background without being allowed to distract from the main story.
A well paced book with plenty of excitement, underpinned by a thought provoking theme in the form of an awareness of the scale of organised crime and the need for international cooperation, by law enforcement agencies to combat its powerful and sinister influence.
Sue Almond
January 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cream of Manchester, 20 Jan 2014
By 
MR J PEARSON (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Bill Rogers is right up there with best of them - Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson, Stephen Booth - the cream of British crime writers.
A Venetian Moon takes his sense of place abroad and brings an Anglo Itallian perspective to his character Tom Caton.
As with all his previous works you'll find it difficult to "put down".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series just gets better and better!, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
I haven't been to Manchester or Venice, but Bill Rogers writes in such detail and with local knowledge that I felt I had been transported to both places when I got engrossed in this latest Tom Caton tale. This is a clever, complex story that weaves current changes in policing at local and national levels into the plot as well as updating us on Tom's relationships with his wife and son.
It is a very skilled author who can carry so convincingly so many different characters; I especially liked the Italian police officers and running two languages through the book enhanced the enjoyment for me and was not distracting as I initially thought it might have been.
Based on real places, Bill leads us into Tom's world. His drawing of Tom Caton is well rounded and utterly convincing; I love that Tom is thoughtful and mindful of his responsibilities as a police officer, dad, husband and colleague.
I had read all the previous books in the series at a gallop, one after the other and will now have to wait impatiently for the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing!!, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. As with all Bill Roger's books it has a good story line, is well written, with an excellent detective in Tom Caton, who is also a good policeman, a good husband and colleague. I actually gave it 31/2 stars as it took some getting used to the Italian phrases and translations as you went along, but you get used to that. A good ending too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking good read, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. K. J. Alexander "Archaeology Addict" (Anglesey, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
I have come to love Bill Rogers' style and the characters he has established in his Tom Caton books. Having lived and worked in Greater Manchester I know many of the locations he uses. This time he uses Venice as a location and I know each place he mentions there. This book wrapped itself round me and my only complaint was that it was over too soon. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
As always in all Bill Rogers writes a good story and you can not put the book down to see what is next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Venetian Moon (DCI Tom Caton Manchester Murder Mysteries Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews