Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Strange This is Quite Good!, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
Strangely Strange This is Quite Good!
I first came across these tracks listening to Spotify.
I typed in Pink Floyd and was amazed to see quite a few of these tracks coming up.

Yes I know what you are thinking-
Not Pink Floyd tribute artists etc etc.

If you think only members of Pink Floyd can sing Pink Floyd songs I will give you two words of a name.

Roy Harper.

Right.

BUT when I read the names of the actual performers I thought I'd give them a listen.
I was totally amazed at just how good they are.
Whilst they never ECLIPSE the originals if you will pardon my intended pun?
They are a remarkably satisfying set of great songs as a tribute to the Wall.

The artists numbers featured on here run into the high forties and if you have an average of 3 really good musicians on each track you will get an idea of how vast the roster is.

Each track has very well know musicians and each and every one is well known... well well know to quite a few people.
Most are really great musicians and many are superb, at the top of the tree performers and its a wonderful exercise to listen to a track whilst reading who the heck is on it.

Adrian Belew, Bill Bruford Tony Levin and a couple more King Crimsons step up to the Mic and drums and base and organ..
There are loads more like Keith Emerson, Edgar Winter, Dweezle Zappa and Uncle Tom Cobbly and all
Ok I lie about the last 2.

What really shines through is their love and appreciation of the music of Pink Floyd.
This is a double CD down with reverence, respect and panache.

Now there are other albums which feature these tracks.

I can really recommend the Pink Box, and that is personally I would look and try first.
Pink Box: Songs of Pink Floyd

Progressive Rock- a trio of good music also heavily features these tracks and is well worth a look
Progressive Rock-Trilogy

Now what I suggest you do is try Spotify, tap in Pink Floyd and listen to some of these wonderful tacks and I suspect like me you will be really amazed at just how good they really are.

This is brilliant music played by top of the range musicians and if you can get over the thought of Pink Floyd not Pink Floyd them this is for you.
Well worth the money and effort at getting the things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a fresh wall of wind blowing over you, 13 April 2014
By 
J. Williams (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
This is like a fresh live view of The Wall that could almost be Pink Floyd. Tracks are in-keeping with the album versions with some tweaks and mood and tempo changes. Highlights to me are things that seem to either add to the originals in a non disprespectful way, eg, Ian Anderson's flute on the second track, and improve on the originals like elements of the last section like The Trial - all is less muddy than the original. I really like the fun of Young Lust too and the changes to the sound effects and background words in different tracks.

It's like Floyd are playing again and toying with the music for your pleasure. Good musicians delivering a different take...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good tribute to a classic album, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
It's 'The Wall' - but the likes of Ian Anderson, Glenn Hughes and Rick Wakeman put their own spin on various tracks.

Highly reccomended whether you are a fan of Pink Floyd or Messrs Anderson, Wakeman et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ian anderson one of my favourite artists contributing to an album by another of my favourite bands, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
an excellent tribute to a fantastic band by artists of world renown,this album mirroring the original masterpiece to an equal standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only two gripes, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
Fairly close to the original with enough differences to make it a worthwhile listen. However, it would have been nice to have a decent booklet with the CD, explaining more about it's inspiration and the artists involved on each track, although thre is a bit more on Wikipedia.
After I'd listened I played the original Comfortably Numb. The recording clarity of the new version is much better, with the benefit of 30 years worth of newer technology but NOBODY can replace David Gilmour's guitar solo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good tribute to Pink Floyd, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Pink Floyd for over 40 years, so I know their music inside out! Very good album, superb tribute to P.F ,without trying to copy them exact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thank you YES!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
Nice to remember the classics, thanks for the reminder and a pleasant nostalgia.
But it`s not PINK FLOYD.
Еo each his own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine rendition of The Pink Floyd's great album., 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
Many former Yes members, including the promoter, Bill Brufford. An unexpected pleasant surprise is Malcolm Macdowell's participation on disc 2. Recommended to all Pink Floyd Fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Players,great music., 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
I,m am just wondering.
The cd suffer from information.Lots of musicians here,but who is playing,at every track.?
Jan ěivind ěstensen Bergen,Norway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
By 
Vladimir L Voronoff (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall (Audio CD)
Cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall
Pink Floyd - A Tribute To Back Against The Wall by Ian Anderson (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews