Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Muppets... Again!
This film had big shoes to fill. The Muppets, its predecessor, was the perfect Muppet movie. It was nostalgic but fresh, familiar but surprising, filled with inventiveness and a genuine love of the characters.

In light of this, it was almost impossible that the follow-up wouldn't be in some way disappointing. Alarm bells rang for fans when we saw that Jason...
Published 9 months ago by David Morgan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun
"The sequels never quite as good" sings Kermit in the opening song and it's hard to argue with him. This isn't as good as the excellent previous Muppets film but it's not at all bad and still has enough going for it to make it worth a watch at least.

It's got a suitably absurd plot this time out - a Kermit lookalike master criminal infiltrates the...
Published 3 months ago by Richard Morton


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Muppets... Again!, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
David Morgan "mask_and_mirror" (Cardiff, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
This film had big shoes to fill. The Muppets, its predecessor, was the perfect Muppet movie. It was nostalgic but fresh, familiar but surprising, filled with inventiveness and a genuine love of the characters.

In light of this, it was almost impossible that the follow-up wouldn't be in some way disappointing. Alarm bells rang for fans when we saw that Jason Segel was not going to be present in any capacity. We also knew that the story had to be something new; the bringing-the-muppets-back-together formula wouldn't cut it a second time in a row. However, in the face of overwhelming odds and expectations, the director, cast and crew managed the incredible feat of making a film nearly as good.

And in this case nearly as good is good enough. This is in every sense a classic Muppet movie, and though the jewel-theif caper theme isn't new, the villains and settings are bold choices which create opportunities for fantastic comedy moments with the characters, old and new alike.

There is no Oscar Winning song here, but they are all very catchy and funny. Brett Mackenzie has turned out to be the perfect songwriter for the Muppets, and I hope his talents will return in future films.

The interplay of Sam the Eagle (who plays a CIA agent here) and his Clouseau-esque Interpol rival is particularly amusing and their song is my favourite. I wish they had used the full-length soundtrack version in the movie, which sadly omits a verse. I don't normally buy film soundtracks, but the Muppet movie ones are worth it.

So, for fans, don't expect the constant joy and emotion of the previous film. But this is still a five-star movie. If the next is half as good as this, I'll still be pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Family Movie, a Delight for Children (and Adults) of All Ages, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
This is a superb and highly enjoyable family film. As a boy in the 1970's, I loved The Muppet Show. As a man aged in his 40's, I've been a big fan of the comedy of Ricky Gervais. However, I've never watched any of the Muppet movies.
When my 12 year old daughter persuaded me to buy this DVD, I was a bit sceptical, but I'm glad that I did.
It's the best family film I've seen this year, apart from, perhaps, Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes - Dawn of the Planet of the Apes [Blu-ray + UV Copy] .
Ricky Gervais plays Dominic BadGuy, ostensibly a tour promoter, but in reality, the right hand man of Constantine, the World's master criminal. Constantine is a frog, Kermit's doppelgänger, languishing in a Siberian gulag. Dominic persuades the Muppets to make a comeback, by going on a tour of theatres in Europe.
Constantine escapes from the gulag, and frames Kermit so that he finds himself imprisoned in the remote Siberian prison. The criminals then use the Muppets tour as a cover for their thefts of artwork from a museum and priceless artefacts held in bank vaults. The film is interspersed with absolutely wonderful song and dance routines, even Ricky gets into the act and proves that he can sing and dance (we already knew he could "dance" from his infamous routine in The Office - The Office 10th Anniversary Edition - Complete Series 1 & 2 and the Christmas Specials [DVD] ).
The script is unfailingly witty, with one or two slightly more risqué (but delicately referenced) jokes, for the benefit of adult viewers. The strength of the script, and the affectionately drawn characters of the Muppets, mean that the film has only a peripheral need for CGI.
The cinematography is lavish, with a lovely use of colour which is on a par with an Austen Powers movie - ( Austin Powers - International Man of Mystery [DVD] [1997] ). Dudley and Constantine carry out their robberies in Berlin, Madrid and Dublin, pursued by an indolent, bungling, Inspector Clouseau type French detective. Ultimately, the criminals want to heist the Crown Jewels from the Tower Of London, and as a cover, they arrange a wedding for Miss Piggy and Constantine to take place at The Tower.
As I watched this smashing film, I very fondly remembered the old Muppets TV show, which I'd watch each week back in the late 1970's.
All the old favourites are here, including Kermit, Fozzie Bear, Miss Piggy, Animal, the Swedish Chef, and Waldorf and Stadler. Numerous celebrities make fleeting appearances, including Ray Liotta, Salma Hayek, Stanley Tucci, Danny Trejo, Celine Dion, Tony Bennett and James McAvoy.
Both my daughter and I were hooked from the opening scene to the closing credits. If you're looking for a wonderful, perfectly executed family film, either for your own family, or for somebody else, this is an exceedingly good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Goodnight Danny Trejo...., 7 May 2014
Kermit and his friends are approached by Dominic Badguy to go on a world tour. But this is all part of the sinister plan of Constantine, the world's most evil frog, to become the greatest thief of all time.

After making sure that Kermit is jailed, Constantine impersonates him as cover for his scheme.

While Sam the Eagle and Inspector Napoleon investigate, the Muppets find that Kermit has changed.

Only when Walter, Fozzie and Animal realise the truth, is there a chance to prevent Constantine from pulling off the crime of the century......

Muppets Most Wanted is a delightful movie from beginning to end, harking right back to the original TV series that started it all, and the musical numbers are much better this time, than the 2011 reboot.

Songs like The Big House, are toe tapping wonders of genius, and I've not laughed out loud at a film for a long time.

Gervais is good as the main erm, Badguy, and he handles somebody else's material really well, even though he does manage to get in his David Brent dance into the movie.

Fey is also good, her accent intentionally dodgy, and the scenes in the prison are some of the funniest the film has to offer,thanks to Clement, Trejo, and Liotta.

It's not big on narrative, but it does have a sound story, and some Muppet's get a little sidelined in this, Gonzo having really little screen time.

All in all, it's The Muppets, and if your a fan, you will find something here to enjoy, its a proper family film, and one that's worth seeing you.

Great cameos too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and feel good movie, 11 April 2014
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
Since a child, I share fond memories of the Muppets. I enjoy watching the Muppets as a 35 years old. The Muppets: Most Wanted is an entertaining and feel good movie. I am a huge fan of the Muppets..The Muppet Movie 1979 and Muppets Manhattan are few of my favourite films in the series. I still enjoyed the new release.

The plot is about an evil frog known as Clonstantine. He replaces Kermit with the intention of framing the Muppets through a series of crimes. Ricky Gervais plays a key role. I will not comment on the significance of his role, as it would act as a spoiler. I tend not to add spoilers in my reviews. The innocent Kermit ends up in a Siberian prison in place of the evil frog. Poor Kermit misses out on an European tour of the Muppets, as it not the same without his presence. Kermit hilariously entetains prision inmates and is chased by a mad Russian prison guard. Do the vulnerable muppets realise that Kermit is a fake? Will Kermit clear his name? There are plenty of laughs and musicals. The musicals are cheesy and catchy. The personality of the muppets steal the show. The Muppets are known for creating chaos and show their own distinctive personality. The original muppets are featured such as Gonzo, Frozzie, Rolf, Animal, Scooter, Miss Piggy and so on. The nostalgic days are relieved through the musical shows. It feels good watching these moments.

Muppets: Most Wanted is great family entertainment film. Disney has added a new dimension to the franchise, since acquiring the exclusive rights. It is a popcorn film to enjoy. I would recommend the movie, if you are a fan of the muppets and love a good feel good movie. Great nostalgic memories. Thanks for bringing the muppets to the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVILEN FROGEN,, 6 April 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
Another Muppet film, so you know what to expect. Corny jokes, song and dance, and spoofs of otherr films. In this film Constantine utilizes a Mission Impossible escape and replaces Kermit with the goal of doing "Pink Panther" type of crimes.

Where else are you going to see Danny Trejo and Ray Liotta perform a song and dance in their long johns? Tina Fey looked like she was having fun in her role as a prison warden. Of course they are Muppets so there are tons of cameo roles for established stars.

Good popcorn fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just what should be expected!, 4 May 2015
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
Got to say that, although there are overwhelmingly positive reviews here, the negative ones take ,e by surprise. Okay, the plot is not in any way up to the standards of the Pixar films, but how could it be? As a character amusingly points out during the film, this is actually the seventh Muppets film and total originality is not going to be on the agenda. But the strength of the Muppets, despite its ownership now by Disney, is that it can still within the first five minutes mock studios in their ongoing search for franchises, mock Pixar itself and also recognise its very nature as self-aware 'product'. But, aside from Ray Liotta's hypnotised turn in an incredibly minor role (he was much better the last time he was drafted into the Muppets family), where else could you expect to see Ricky Gervais, Tina Fey, Salma Hayek and Christopher Waltz together onscreen alongside a frog and a pig? And when the jokes are this good, and my 6 year old son laughed throughout, I'd have to call this instalment of an endless franchise a real success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The sequels never quite as good" sings Kermit in the opening song and it's hard to argue with him. This isn't as good as the excellent previous Muppets film but it's not at all bad and still has enough going for it to make it worth a watch at least.

It's got a suitably absurd plot this time out - a Kermit lookalike master criminal infiltrates the Muppets clan in order to take them on a world tour and eventually steal The Crown Jewels from The Tower of London. All the gang are present and correct as you'd expect, there's a whole host of brief celebrity cameos as well as more sizeable roles for Ricky Gervais, Tina Fey and Ty Burrell.

It's the same kind of anarchic fun you'd expect from a Muppets flick - spoof like gags and spontaneous songs which mostly hit the mark but it doesn't have quite the same inventiveness and freshness of this mob at their best. So overall it's still amiable and hard to dislike, making for an enjoyable ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but Gervais was the biggest muppett at all., 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted (Blu-ray)
This film was great fun and highly enjoyable - however, Gervais was a major let down, demonstrating his inability to act, amazingly being outclassed by ecery muppett in every scene. Even Rizzo's cameo had more passion and emotion than Gervais' entire performance. He was simply just not interested in this film at all, and it showed. Stick to the sit-coms and awards ceremonies and stay off the big screen. Maybe it would have helped if someone had stuck their hands up his back and directed him that way through the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've loved the muppets for years and was worried this film ..., 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
I've loved the muppets for years and was worried this film wouldn't live up to the 'the muppets (movie)" however I am pleasantly surprised!
The sorry line is fantastic, the songs are catchy (you can't help but sing them!!) and the characters are funny! Beat muppet movie ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My boys and I loved this at the cinema, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] (DVD)
My boys and I loved this at the cinema, and we now continue to enjoy it at home. A bit naughty sense of humour and Kermit in peril might scare toddlers but otherwise great fun for young and old (especially if like me you grew up with the muppets!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muppets Most Wanted [DVD]
Muppets Most Wanted [DVD] by Ricky Gervais (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews