Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,328
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

NO PLOT SPOILERS.

In this film Captain America (Chris Evans) is attempting to catch up. He is losing some of the dorkiness which made him lovable. He teams up with the Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) because she tested well with male audiences in the 8 to 80 age bracket. Iron Man is mentioned, but it seems the rest of the Avengers on on vacation during the struggle for humanity.

This film has a decent plot (i.e. fitting bad guys for good guys) with a good mix of action and drama. It even has some light moments such as when our twosome are among some old computers and Black Widow does her 1983 "WarGames" voice and proclaims, "Shall we play a game?" Of course Captain America can't catch the humor.

Great popcorn film that explodes on the screen. I enjoyed this more than the recent Thor film.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Great film, and it looks great in 3D. This is one of my favorite Marvel films, I actually prefer it to the Avengers. The plot was great. There was a LOT of action. Absolutely everyone got a beat down! And the 3D effects were great. I highly recommend this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
Could be the best Marvel movie yet, great casting, great acting, not just a green screen fight fest, this is a well thought out thriller that gets better on a second viewing, the 3d is superb but doesn't really add anything to the movie.. Great stuff..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
The movie is very well done - well acted, plotted, scripted - all of that. At over 2 hours I thought it might drag, but it does not. The pacing and mix of action to dialogue is just great.

Chris Evans is better here than in Avengers - with more scope to develop the character, he really brings it to life and I totally believed him as the Sentinel of Liberty. He was suitably emotive during scenes of stress, and he definitely kept up with the pace of the action (I'll get to that a bit more later). He is also witty and charismatic, which was something I didn't get that much of in Avengers Assemble. Brief mention his suit choices (yes, there's more than one) being really well done, totally in keeping. You'll know what I mean when you see the film.

The support cast here is equally skilled. I love Scarlet - she makes Black Widow a much more rounded character here, and has some of the best lines in the script. Sam Jackson is still the definitive Nick Fury for me, even though here he does show his age. One scene in particular had me cheering for him to succeed!
New addition to the MCU - Falcon, is well-done also. His introduction ("On your left") feels natural and authentic, and when the gear change happens for him, it does so credibly. The actor is good too - not heard of him, and can't remember his name, but why should that matter? Edit: Anthony Mackie is Falcon.

The plot, whilst fairly complex and convoluted to begin with (but not quite Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy!), is nevertheless easy to follow as it goes on, and has some twists and turns which I found fresh and exciting. There are also some Easter Eggs for comic historians as well, so look out for those.

Now, I have to mention the action. It is superb. Captain America has somehow amplified all that super-soldier serum and now acts as if turbo-charged. It was exactly how I imagined him to be. The shield is awesome, and he uses it with fantastic skill and grace. I'm getting goosebumps just remembering the various manoeuvres he pulls off using this.

Cap is also a lot more athletic and seeing as he has to keep pace with the Winter Soldier that's absolutely essential.

The Winter Soldier himself is enigmatic, foreboding, seriously good at what he does, and manages to scare with his sheer implacability. He has a development arc in this film too, and without putting spoilers in, what happens is very affecting. Cannot omit mentioning one confrontation he has with Black Widow which really excited and scared me at the same time!

The only thing about it that I thought was a little implausible is the scale of the action - it's an order of magnitude greater than we've seen Captain America handle solo before, and sometimes his actions and achievements against such epic danger jar as being beyond the laws of physics. But hey, it's Marvel, it's superheroes, it works.

Final thought - can't believe they managed to up the game so much from The First Avenger. I liked that first film, but it didn't exactly thrill me as I thought it should. This is brilliant, and almost knocks Avengers Assembled off my favourite film pedestal. The only reason it doesn't (and it's very close) is because that film had the Hulk, Thor and Iron Man in it as well as Cap.

Even greater expectations for Age of Ultron now! Gah!
66 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
I'm giving this movie 5 stars. Based on the historical comics written about this character it would be truly impressive if this amazing character can be portrayed properly on the big screen. Well the people behind this production did exactly that. The first movie for Captain America was ok. Certain bits of the movie did show some of the history of the character such as the transformation and impressively the showing of a young and frail looking Steve Rogers. What did cause disappointment in my opinion was the capabilities of Captain America was not shown properly.

Comic book fans have already read about this character and know what this character can do. With all of the latest technology that a movie can utilised there is no excuse why this character should come across as dull, boring but more importantly to not appear as a super hero according to the comic book. It is the comic book that should dictate how the character should be presented on screen and this latest production did exactly without no failure. A super soldier whose has an Olympic level of Martial Arts knowledge, someone who is at peak physical perfection, an expert military strategist and due to the serum who is also resistant to disease and fatigue.

The directors of this film captured exactly how this character is suppose to be. Hand to hand combat could not of been done any better compared to classic 'late night' martial arts movie back in the day. In the Avengers movie you get to see a sample of this ability when Cap was up against the Chutari on top of a police car. However it takes this movie to really show any fan or anyone who does not really know Captain America what he is all about. His shield, just like in the comics, was utilised in every situation, both defensively and offensively. Now this is so important for the character as this is what makes Captain America who he is.

Very impressed by this movie and I do believe that in terms of action this is the best Marvel movie so far. Avengers was good and that held the gauntlet previously. But now that this movie is released the bar has been raised and what could come out of this are future movies showing how each characters abilities are utilised properly without any disappointment.
33 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Captain America: The Winter Soldier is one of the best Marvel movies that I have in my collection. I didn't get the feeling Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely wrote and squeezed in too many characters who are completely unnecessary to the story plot (some writers do this to accommodate the whims of the producers). The feature length of 2 hours 16 minutes is just about right: the storyline is tight and free from dragging scenes; irrelevant subplots were minimized, if not eliminated altogether. The dose of well-planned, unique fight sequences is more than enough to satisfy any action film junkie. Finally, its picture and sound quality are both outstanding- this reference blu-ray will surely showcase the capabilities of one's home theater setup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Probably my 2nd fave Marvel film after Avengers. Much better than the original and you can tell that a lot of money has been invested, and invested well in this movie. Great plot, acting, action sequences and FX.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2016
SPOILER REVIEW!
Good:
. The action was very entertaining
. The chemistry between Scarlet Johansson and Chris Evans was fantastic
. The story was very well and a deep personal story
. Made you genuinely care about the characters in the film
. Made me cry when Captain America said to Bucky he isn't going to fight him anymore as you could tell Bucky meant so much to him and he couldn't stand fightiong him anymore even if that meant him dying
. The film had a very good villain who was compelling and not just evil for the sake of it
. The scale and stakes felt high in the film which was good to see for a superhero standalone film
Bad:
. At times you could tell scenes were shot on a green screen but for the most part the cgi was good.
. It did get boring at times although this was very little of the time
Conclusion:
4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Brilliant Marvel Film. It's not often the sequel turns out to be better than the original but in Captain America 2 that is exactly the case. Chris Evans, Scarlet Johannsen and Samuel L. Jackson are all brilliant in returning as their Marvel alter egos. Robert Redford is a welcome addition to the Marvel universe. I would put this alongside the first Iron Man and Avengers films as the best Marvel films in recent years. Also look out for UFC Fighter GSP who turns up as a henchman who takes on Cap. Great stuff. 5 stars.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
A chilling tone, tight direction, and fantastic fight sequences set this addition to the canon apart from others in the superhero genre. It even manages to exceed expectations, with a strong villain by Marvel standards, a clever tie-in with Marvel's TV series 'Agents of SHIELD,' and events with long-standing implications for the MCU. Fight scenes are tense, though occasionally it's hard to tell who's doing what to whom. But they have the bone-crunching crack of realism sometimes lacking in comic book movies.
A riveting score from Jackman and a typically large-scale climax add up to make this one of the strongest superhero movies in recent memory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)