Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hypnotic Album
There is no doubt that on this album Tinariwen have amended their sound, no doubt as a result of recording in California during their hopefully short-lived exile from their homeland. This has probably made it a little more "acceptable" to a Western audience,, but to my mind has made it among their very best. There is more space in the sound this time, which...
Published 9 months ago by JRE

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tinariwen's new album "Emmaar"
I was disappointed with this album, "Emmaar". A lot of the rhythmic qualities of earlier albums has been lost, replaced by typical American rhythms. There is no "lilt" in the tracks.
Published 9 months ago by Mr Stephen A Tyas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hypnotic Album, 15 Mar 2014
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
There is no doubt that on this album Tinariwen have amended their sound, no doubt as a result of recording in California during their hopefully short-lived exile from their homeland. This has probably made it a little more "acceptable" to a Western audience,, but to my mind has made it among their very best. There is more space in the sound this time, which highlights the intricate interplay between the instruments. The hypnotic rhythms and their unique guitar sound are intact. Reading the translated lyrics, the themes are of exile and loss and warn that peace imposed by force cannot last. Yet these downbeat sentiments are presented in music that uplifts and which it is impossible not to dance to, even sat in the car!
I can't wait to see them live again this July. For me, Tinariwen are one of the two best bands around at the moment (the other being the completely different The National).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
Great album start to finish. Well worth it if you are into east African music. Going to see them live because album was so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Jun 2014
By 
G. Walker "greyone" (Mirfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
I have been introduced to this by Robert Plant [not personally, unfortunately]. The music is wonderful, so hypnotic and it doesn't matter that you have no idea what the lyrics are! Nice touch, this CD includes a brief description of the theme of each track. Loving this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tinariwen - latest album, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
I like the idea of a crowd source funding for an album by independent artists. I have enjoyed the album and sorry that I wasn't able to be part of the World Tour as they are not coming to Australia - that I know of?

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tinariwen's new album "Emmaar", 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
I was disappointed with this album, "Emmaar". A lot of the rhythmic qualities of earlier albums has been lost, replaced by typical American rhythms. There is no "lilt" in the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love all their, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
Tinariwen are the masters of the desert b;ues. I love all their tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emmar Tinariwen CD, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emmaar (Audio CD)
Its not what i expected it dragged on to much with the music i have heard better music from Middle eastern artists, will not buy their Cd's again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emmaar
Emmaar by Tinariwen (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews