Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars23
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.03
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2014
Interesting novella. I finished in one sitting.
It makes me wanting to read the news. And how I wish it ends differently.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
I haven't read such a disappointing book for a long time. On the plus side it's a short disappointing book. I'm not quite sure what I was expecting, but a story about a woman who has secretly lived in a cupboard and the world's most boring pernickerty man wasn't it. This is French existentialist twaddle at its worst- and I am a languages teacher who ENJOYS teaching French existentialism. Book clubs will probably love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
It is hard to believe this is based on a true story of someone who lived in someone else's home and stole from their fridge without the homeowner's knowledge. This is a heartwarming, poignant tale. I would recommend it to fans of arthouse literature. It's written by a Frenchman but he seems to understand Japanese culture rather well. An impressive story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
A very strange storyline. This kept me turning the pages, simply to fathom the plot. Never read anything like this before. Title suggested nuclear connection; kept looking for it (it's NOT there).
Worth reading if you haven't got a book you MUST read...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I found this brief novella very touching in the way it raises questions about how we live our lives, our sense of community, our responsibility for others. It only took a day to read but I think I will find the ideas and characters haunt me for far longer .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
An interesting concept but far too short. I didn't expect it to end when it did. I can envisage a further storyline ,developing the characters even deeper. A disappointment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
only a small book but a joy to read. it is well written and is translated with great care. this book stayed with me a long time after I had finished reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
A story that stays with you after reading. Two narrators bring completely different perspectives to this tale but who is right?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Based on a real-life story, this brilliant novel is a heaet-rending tale of alienation in the modern world. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
A very good read which I recommend to all who like a good book.
Interesting from the start to finnish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.