Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it.
If my history lessons had been as engaging and funny as Howard of Warwick's tale of the days following the Battle of Hastings, I might have learnt something other than the date.
Published 8 months ago by Clemmie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slow slow
After reading the Brother Hermitage books which I enjoyed I thought I would give this a try.
It's written in a similar style to the other books but without the depth of characterization. This I have found has made it a bit tedious.
I would not recommend.
Published 3 months ago by leonardo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it., 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
If my history lessons had been as engaging and funny as Howard of Warwick's tale of the days following the Battle of Hastings, I might have learnt something other than the date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So THAT'S what happened!, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Forget what history tells you about The Battle of Somewhere-Quite-Near-Hastings, this is the real stuff. Of course, Harold took one in the eye, but that doesn't mean it killed him - lots of people looked up at the wrong time, and they just pulled the arrow out (with the eye in most cases) and carried on. Bit like the Black Knight in Monty Python ("That? Just a scratch"). So the search for Harold begins, in the guise of research for The Domesday Book. What happens on the way is hilarious; you just can't wait to see what the various factions get into next. Normans, Saxons, Vikings, all roaming the countryside for their own purposes, most of them not the brightest buttons in the tin and all of them aware that Mad William (now the Conqueror) gets a teeny bit peeved if he can't have his own way; the same can be said for the Danish King for that matter, so they are all quite keen to succeed. A first-hand account, set down almost one thousand years after the events, may, it is true, have got changed a bit in the telling and re-telling. So, OK, this story may not actually be entirely, or even approximately, true - in accuracy terms probably on a par with the dodgy dossier - but it is hilarious, both in plot and dialogue, and the funniest read you will have for the next thousand years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If Pratchett wrote history, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Irreverent account of what could have happened (but probably didn't) following the Battle of Hastings. A romp through medieval England. Great fun. Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark humour history, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable (if shortish) read, full of a dark humour that had me in mind of the late Tom Sharpe. Wouldn't say I found it laugh-out-loud funny, but found a subdued chortle on most pages.

The kindle edition has a number of rather sloppy proof-reading errors which - although they didn't spoil my reading pleasure - means that I give it four rather than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This one will get you right in the eye, 13 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Dursley, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Howard of Warwick introduces a whole series of new characters in ths one. Brother Hermitage appears only in passing.
This one could easily be entitled "1066 and All That" as it centres around the days immediately following the Battle of Hastings.
The humour is just as good, if not better than the previous books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Liz Bailey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
I like Howard of Warwick's mad stories. They're rather Monty Python and very amusing. This was particularly crazy, with a completely lunatic take on the Battle of Hastings. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the Life of Brian meets the Norman conquest!, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent and funny book about the Norman invasion and the subsequent events leading to the creation ( eventually!) of the Doomsday Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh if with some distinctly dark humour, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Liked it. A rather earthy look at the aftermath of the battle of Hastings from the jaundiced view of the poor blighters who would have been there plus a fun plot about Harold . The one with the eye problem. Ludicrous but fun. Worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1066 but not as you think of it!, 3 Jun 2014
By 
J. Negus - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Good fun: could it really have been like this? Did Harold really survive...? You can imagine that the situation might really have been that confused!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great short reads, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One) (Kindle Edition)
Monty Python with a murder mystery. Once i read the first i was hooked have read all books published at moment waiting for more from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Domesday Book, (No, Not That One)
1.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews