Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, entertaining read
An apocalypic action drama with a bit of romance thrown in. Our hero, Aron Atherton is on a dying world, filled with remorse as he wasn't with his family at the time the solar storm hit the Earth, making large parts of it uninhabitable. He spends his time fishing, drinking moonshine, and occasionally fixing the communication structure. He isn't interested in being one...
Published 5 months ago by Fiona Messenger

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm
A Sci Fi story that is just about readable,I cant say it was a really bad book,though I can certainly say that it isnt a really good one either.
as it is a Kindle freebie I suppose I shouldn't grumble too much!
Published 11 months ago by tone1428


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, entertaining read, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
Fiona Messenger "honestfi" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
An apocalypic action drama with a bit of romance thrown in. Our hero, Aron Atherton is on a dying world, filled with remorse as he wasn't with his family at the time the solar storm hit the Earth, making large parts of it uninhabitable. He spends his time fishing, drinking moonshine, and occasionally fixing the communication structure. He isn't interested in being one of the thousand people who are being taken to Mars to develop the colony there, nor in the politics involved in deciding who should go. Then an old friend persuades him to get involved after one of his tech buddies gets killed by pirates. Another friend gets close to revealing a conspiracy, and then disappears. Like it or not, Aron is now in deep.

This book doesn't dwell too long on the reasons for the apocalypse, and only hints at the problems caused by it - e.g. freak weather. This isn't really a "fight against the elements" disaster novel, but an action novel solved in the usual way with guns, knives and...grappling hooks. There is bit of blood and gore, and some stomach churning bits, but considering I can barely read a James Patterson without feeling sick, I don't think the descriptions are too bad - at least I didn't dwell on them, and neither does the author. He moves it along, good, fast action in every chapter, with a good strong plot, nasty bad guys, good guys armed only with their brains and a few knives and their personalities do shine through.

In criticism - considering this novel is set at least 100 years in the future, I thought technology was somewhat lacking, as if the author didn't want to go there in case it suffers the disease of many predictors - getting it wrong. The data mat that is described is pretty much invented today, we will probably have something close in just a few years. OK - he uses the "solar storm" as an excuse not to describe any new technology, but I would have thought there would be more imaginative transport than solar powered boats and flying machines not unlike the helicopters we have today. I was also fairly confused during the techie explanations. However, as I say, this isn't what the novel is about - it's about action and escapism with a flawed and geeky guy at the centre. And a lot of moonshine.

You may think the novel somewhat cliched and stereotyped, done a hundred times before etc etc, but this book isn't aiming to be a prize winner - just an entertaining story with an unlikely hero, and in that it succeeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
A Sci Fi story that is just about readable,I cant say it was a really bad book,though I can certainly say that it isnt a really good one either.
as it is a Kindle freebie I suppose I shouldn't grumble too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Skies, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
Another end of the world story. However the story is quite well written and the story moves along at a good pace. If you are looking for a not to challenging story I would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars post apocalyptic paradise, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
I have been reading a lot of post apocalyptic fiction, especially if it is free, and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. The book was in depth enough to follow easily, not too many characters,yet enough to pique interest and feel empathy. The plot was a little far fetched, using 'off world' influence as well. Definitely enough material for a sequel, or further books. A good easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
GS Fields has good voice in this book - the prose is tense, the hero taciturn. I'm not too enamoured of his world-building (I find the amount of technology in daily use hard to believe in this setting (12 years after a solar storm wiped out most of the planet's life and infrastructure) - surely most of that stuff would have broken down by now, with replacement parts getting scarce. And the plot loses the plot in the last couple of chapters. But it's a decent read until that part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but engrossing, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
This book is a little shorter than the ones I usually read, but the story was enough to grip me. The characters come across a little one dimensional at times, but when it's told in the first person from one characters POV, that's to be expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, a real page turner, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant book. The sci-fi elements are mostly in the background, with the story focusing on several inhabitants amongst the survivors on a chain of tropical islands.

Life isn't easy for the survivors, and it's made far worse by roving packs of pirates who try to prey upon those on the islands. The survivors are trying to both stay alive and decide which lucky few will get to leave on a transport for the fledgling Mars colony.

The characters in the story all feel real and I soon found myself caring about them and their community as a whole. This is a real page turner, and there's at least one twist in there that I didn't even begin to see coming. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
I only bought this book because it was free. Very glad I did as it held me enthralled throughout. Well written and very exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Vanishing Skies (Kindle Edition)
Lots of missing words and bad sentences (typos). But didn't detract too much from an imaginative story. Good twist near the end. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Vanishing Skies
Under Vanishing Skies by G.S. Fields
£2.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews