Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars42
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2014
Not quite as good as his previous two books, it seems rather hastily written in parts and relies more heavily on what seem to be googled results rather than in-depth knowledge.

Peter Dennis appears to be turning somewhat crass too. And given that there is a fine line between treasure hunter who respects the past, and looter who just wants the goodies, his disregard for the damage caused by his impatience when he knows of no reason to rush, could easily shade him across that line.

As with the previous two books, there is a rather easy-going style to action sequences so it isn't edge of your seat reading but it rarely bores either. Just a few areas where he gets wrapped up in all the various explorers.Not a lot of surprise twists either. The baddies turn up on cue, the heroine gets kidnapped most times when she is left alone and Dennis continues to fight and shoot his way out of trouble.

So a solid, entertaining read that doesn't quite live up to his best but is still one of the better archaeological adventure series out there. As long as the author avoids the temptation to kill off central characters for artistic effect and so plunge the hero into an abyss of despondancy and alcohol, I shall keep looking for new books by this author.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Well its okay, some parts are really good but I think this writer badly needs a good editor. Occasionally its very basic and reads a bit like an essay and then it gets back on track only to flounder because things in the story line do not quite hang together correctly. Nice try but I struggled to finish it due of these issues. I have read many of these books and this one uses similar story lines to others.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
after reading the first two books by this author . i had to buy this one and i wasnt disappointed the storyline is good with all the elements of treasure hunt with the baddies included
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Reads like a drawn out dramatised history lesson with one or two real shoolboy howlers thrown in along the way, like the huey(Helicopter) which was overtaking a jeep because it couldn't fly slowly enough (Pity for all those troops that used to have to get out of them while they hovered) and the meeting by Drakes statue overlooking the harbour at Plymouth(It actually stands on the Hoe and overlooks Plymouth Sound which may have been an anchorage in Drakes day but you cannot see the modern harbours from there)
There are others which can drive you mad if you let them.
It is quite an entertaining read in plsces but I'm afraid that my reason for being unable to put this down was to get it finished as quickly as possible
Not a patch on the first two
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Once again this is a great Boys' Own Adventure, spoiled (for me) by poor editing and some basic grammar errors. A decent proof-reader or editor should have corrected schoolboy errors such as when to use "you and I" or "you and me", and especially when "its" or "it's" is relevant. Noyce clearly enjoys researching the history for his novels and this adds authenticity to the search, but again the editor should curb his enthusiasm for piling in quite so much information. The lectures slowed the flow and impetus of the plot and I lost nothing by skipping pages of description or information. Aside from these perhaps pedantic views, I enjoyed all three of his novels which I read one after the other. They are great poolside reads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
intreging fanciful read you can lose your self in realfiction yet wonder if there isn't some truth in what is being read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
I'm afraid that this book is one long grammatical error. It is impossible to get into the story because every other line is grammatically wrong. Words are repeated, descriptions go on forever and spurious information is used as padding. I am sure there is a story in there somewhere, but at 65% through I gave up
Please edit this book before you let anybody else read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
Was looking forward to the new adventure but it did not seem to have any depth to the book and just replied on the characters to pull it along. I was left with the impression the author was just cashing in on previous success. As a result I will not be bothering to purchase the next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Unfortunatly after enjoying the first two books in series, it felt like the author had run out of steam and was going through the motions. Several facts were repeated it seems to add lines to pages and the characters hadn't evolved through this story like the previous ones. Shame..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
This being the third book in the series is by far the best so far. Full of action which by the way it has been written makes you feel you are there as the action takes place. A very good trilogy and I hope that it is not long before Julian continues with stories about Peter Dennis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse