Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking read
after reading the first two books by this author . i had to buy this one and i wasnt disappointed the storyline is good with all the elements of treasure hunt with the baddies included
Published 16 months ago by D. Cryle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad starter
Well its okay, some parts are really good but I think this writer badly needs a good editor. Occasionally its very basic and reads a bit like an essay and then it gets back on track only to flounder because things in the story line do not quite hang together correctly. Nice try but I struggled to finish it due of these issues. I have read many of these books and this one...
Published 15 months ago by Huge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad starter, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Well its okay, some parts are really good but I think this writer badly needs a good editor. Occasionally its very basic and reads a bit like an essay and then it gets back on track only to flounder because things in the story line do not quite hang together correctly. Nice try but I struggled to finish it due of these issues. I have read many of these books and this one uses similar story lines to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cracking read, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
D. Cryle (warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
after reading the first two books by this author . i had to buy this one and i wasnt disappointed the storyline is good with all the elements of treasure hunt with the baddies included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hunter or Looter?, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Not quite as good as his previous two books, it seems rather hastily written in parts and relies more heavily on what seem to be googled results rather than in-depth knowledge.

Peter Dennis appears to be turning somewhat crass too. And given that there is a fine line between treasure hunter who respects the past, and looter who just wants the goodies, his disregard for the damage caused by his impatience when he knows of no reason to rush, could easily shade him across that line.

As with the previous two books, there is a rather easy-going style to action sequences so it isn't edge of your seat reading but it rarely bores either. Just a few areas where he gets wrapped up in all the various explorers.Not a lot of surprise twists either. The baddies turn up on cue, the heroine gets kidnapped most times when she is left alone and Dennis continues to fight and shoot his way out of trouble.

So a solid, entertaining read that doesn't quite live up to his best but is still one of the better archaeological adventure series out there. As long as the author avoids the temptation to kill off central characters for artistic effect and so plunge the hero into an abyss of despondancy and alcohol, I shall keep looking for new books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
intreging fanciful read you can lose your self in realfiction yet wonder if there isn't some truth in what is being read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Hard Work, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Reads like a drawn out dramatised history lesson with one or two real shoolboy howlers thrown in along the way, like the huey(Helicopter) which was overtaking a jeep because it couldn't fly slowly enough (Pity for all those troops that used to have to get out of them while they hovered) and the meeting by Drakes statue overlooking the harbour at Plymouth(It actually stands on the Hoe and overlooks Plymouth Sound which may have been an anchorage in Drakes day but you cannot see the modern harbours from there)
There are others which can drive you mad if you let them.
It is quite an entertaining read in plsces but I'm afraid that my reason for being unable to put this down was to get it finished as quickly as possible
Not a patch on the first two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun!, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Once again this is a great Boys' Own Adventure, spoiled (for me) by poor editing and some basic grammar errors. A decent proof-reader or editor should have corrected schoolboy errors such as when to use "you and I" or "you and me", and especially when "its" or "it's" is relevant. Noyce clearly enjoys researching the history for his novels and this adds authenticity to the search, but again the editor should curb his enthusiasm for piling in quite so much information. The lectures slowed the flow and impetus of the plot and I lost nothing by skipping pages of description or information. Aside from these perhaps pedantic views, I enjoyed all three of his novels which I read one after the other. They are great poolside reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A silly caper., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Childish, mis placed humour and shallow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Gripping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How good is your history?, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
Jeanne Spencer "Clarence" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
It is just fantasy but it is fast moving and certainly gripped me. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Needs editing, 26 Jun. 2014
By 
TerryB (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drake's Gold (Peter Dennis Trilogy Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I'm afraid that this book is one long grammatical error. It is impossible to get into the story because every other line is grammatically wrong. Words are repeated, descriptions go on forever and spurious information is used as padding. I am sure there is a story in there somewhere, but at 65% through I gave up
Please edit this book before you let anybody else read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews