Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Beautifully Crafted Songs
Beth Nielsen Chapman has built an enviable reputation as one of America's most gifted songwriters writing material that has been covered by artists as diverse as Bette Midler, Emmylou Harris, Neil Diamond and Roberta Flack.

Now, on her latest album, she uncovers twelve of her beautifully crafted songs that she has never recorded before but which have been...
Published 11 months ago by Angel Delta

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music let down by poor CD sound
I love Beth Nielsen Chapman's music (consistently 5 star material), so it comes as a real disappointment that the sound on this CD is so poor. Poor in the sense that 'brick walling' compression has been aggressively applied throughout the disc, making it almost impossible to listen to. If nothing else, Beth's music needs a sensitive presentation (as per her previous...
Published 2 months ago by Philbee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Superb artiste, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Any one who likes great songs with a superb singer can't go wrong with this album. Can't wait for the proposed box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Feb 2014
By 
A. Gray "DG" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
I heard Beth at Celtic Connections when she sang Pry without ceasing. Such a beautiful poignant song and very meaningful for me it brought tears to my eyes. Came home and searched for it and up came Uncovered. the whole album is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beth covers the hits she wrote for others, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
The album title is very clever, playing on the likelihood that Beth recorded demo versions of these songs for others to record. Beth has never officially recorded any of these songs for her previous albums, and this provides her with an opportunity to do just that, although she has written or co-written so many songs that only a small selection are presented here.

Sticking with officially released recordings, the originals were by Jim Brickmann and Rebecca Lynn Howard (Simple things), Alabama (Here we are), Andy Griggs (Sweet love shine), Muriel Anderson (Pray), Don Williams (Maybe that's all it takes), Faith Hill (This kiss), Willie Nelson (Nothin' I can do about it now), Tanya Tucker (Strong enough to bend), Bonnie Raitt (Meet me halfway), Mindy McCreedy (One in a million), Lorrie Morgan (Five minutes) and Mary Chapin Carpenter (Almost home). Beth co-wrote most of these songs with other writers.

Sadly, the booklet does not contain any specific notes about each song, but Beth has recorded this album in America, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Of the songs, I was already familiar with some of them and Beth's own versions are generally mellower. I enjoy Beth's versions, and on first listen, I think I'll highlight Nothin' I can do about it now, one of the few songs here that Beth wrote by herself.

This is a wonderful album that reminds us what a fantastic songwriter and singer Beth is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BNC at ther best, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Not often I buy a CD and don't end up skipping half the tracks; this gets played non-stop every time and every track a winner. Saw her live in UK recently backed by Red Sky July - both brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buying CDs online., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
This was a present for my wife which arrived the next day after ordering online from Amazon.
We are a little bit old fashioned ( in our 70s now.!! ) & so still like to handle our music CDs on much the same way as reading our books with the actual book in hand. It is still a nice feeling to hold a new book.
As for this CD it proved to be a very good choice which we both enjoy.
The only reason for my 4 star rating was that as it featured duets for most of the tracks thus diluting Beth's truly gorgeous voice.Other listeners might really like that aspect so could give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beth - sublime, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Saw her live and bought the album. Her delivery of these tracks is great and bears comparicon with the performances by other better known artists. Love Beth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good To Hear!, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Its a really interesting record of the 'originals' written by BNC but far more associated with recordings by totally different artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
excellent and diverse songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beth's Return, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
I had been waiting for a new release from BNC for what seems like years. The album's title is I think rather clever. This is basically a retrospective look at some rather good songs, which had been previously written for and recorded by some very talented singers. Included are the likes of Alabama, Don Williams, Faith Hill,Willie Nelson, Tanya Tucker, Bonnie Raitt, Mindy McCready, Lorrie Morgan and Mary Chapin Carpenter. .Recording songs already recorded by others, leads to the production of 'cover' versions. However, as she wrote the songs herself , perhaps they could be said to have been 'uncovered'. With such talent reciording your songs, and other great artists singing vocals on the album, I think it would be very difficult to leave her out of the list of top female singer songwriters of the last few years. My favourite BNC album is still Sand and Water though. If you haven't heard it, I think you have nissed something quite special.

Beth has had some hard times and I wish her, and her family, all the happiness in the future.

Many thanks for the hours of pleasure you have given me, Beth. In the words of Nanci Griffith, 'Thank you Kindly'.

Steve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
great songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

UnCovered
UnCovered by Beth Nielsen Chapman
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews