Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncovered - Beth Nielsen Chapman
I have always enjoyed BNC's music and had several previous albums. Bought this in anticipation of a recent live concert. Should have loved the concert apart from an incompetent sound engineer who couldn't get the right balance between band, soloists etc, so have enjoyed listening to the music in the privacy of my own home.

If you like BNC this is another...
Published 1 month ago by Bald Kiwi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad.
Quite a lot of old marterial.

Pleasant listening, if not spectacular.

Good material for car journeys, but not to impress your guests.
Published 1 month ago by robert hawke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncovered - Beth Nielsen Chapman, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Bald Kiwi (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed BNC's music and had several previous albums. Bought this in anticipation of a recent live concert. Should have loved the concert apart from an incompetent sound engineer who couldn't get the right balance between band, soloists etc, so have enjoyed listening to the music in the privacy of my own home.

If you like BNC this is another album where she is back in her "happy place" (one of her first albums while thoughtful, was written shortly after her husband died of cancer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Beautifully Crafted Songs, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Beth Nielsen Chapman has built an enviable reputation as one of America's most gifted songwriters writing material that has been covered by artists as diverse as Bette Midler, Emmylou Harris, Neil Diamond and Roberta Flack.

Now, on her latest album, she uncovers twelve of her beautifully crafted songs that she has never recorded before but which have been significant hits for other performers. The collection features an impressive array of recording luminaries who have lent their talents to make this album a celebration of true Americana and was recorded in Northern Ireland, Wales, Scotland and Nashville.

The album opens with Beth's deft keyboard intro to the lovely, lilting "Simple Things" which was a hit for Jim Brickman with Kim Carnes providing backing vocals. "Sweet Love Shine" was co-written with the late, lamented, Waylon Jennings and his wife, Jessi Colter, contributes backing vocals while the track is underpinned by the distinctive sound of guitar legend Duane Eddy.

On "Almost Home", a hit record for Mary Chapin Carpenter, Beth is joined by Gretchen Peters, Suzy Bogguss and Matraca Berg on a compelling, piano led reading of the song. "Here We Are" was a #1 hit for Alabama that she wrote with Vince Gill who duets with her on this re-working which has some striking electric guitar in the mix. Lorrie Morgan hit the charts with "Five Minutes" and she joins Beth on this very catchy number.

"Pray" is a gorgeous song with an almost hymnal quality and Beth's ethereal voice, cello, harp and pipes convey a haunting quality that is complemented by the voices of Amy Grant, Ruth Trimble and Eilidh Patterson. "Maybe That's All It Takes" is an exquisite ballad that was a hit for Don Williams and here she is joined by premier Nashville sessionman, Darrell Scott.

Probably the best known song on the album is "This Kiss" which was a big hit for Faith Hill. Beth's recording of this song is good by any standard and although it doesn't have the immediate impact of Hill's version, with its dramatic guitar intro, it does have a more understated appeal of its own. The exciting, blues sound of "Meet Me Halfway" was a hit for Bonnie Raitt and features some sterling work by Bonnie's guitarist, George Marinelli and also serves to illustrate Beth's versatility as a performer.

From bluegrass and country to the pop, folk, blues and celtic influences that the album calls upon, this is evidence not just of Beth's abilities as a songwriter but her strengths as a performer, too. In uncovering these songs she has given them a fresh dimension and has surely made them her own, once again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BNC at ther best, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Not often I buy a CD and don't end up skipping half the tracks; this gets played non-stop every time and every track a winner. Saw her live in UK recently backed by Red Sky July - both brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buying CDs online., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
This was a present for my wife which arrived the next day after ordering online from Amazon.
We are a little bit old fashioned ( in our 70s now.!! ) & so still like to handle our music CDs on much the same way as reading our books with the actual book in hand. It is still a nice feeling to hold a new book.
As for this CD it proved to be a very good choice which we both enjoy.
The only reason for my 4 star rating was that as it featured duets for most of the tracks thus diluting Beth's truly gorgeous voice.Other listeners might really like that aspect so could give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beth - sublime, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Saw her live and bought the album. Her delivery of these tracks is great and bears comparicon with the performances by other better known artists. Love Beth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good To Hear!, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Its a really interesting record of the 'originals' written by BNC but far more associated with recordings by totally different artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Quite a lot of old marterial.

Pleasant listening, if not spectacular.

Good material for car journeys, but not to impress your guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars soulful, uplifting and beautiful songs, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
I could listen to this CD over and over. Instead of verbalising a prayer I played 'Pray' in church, which was very well received.
Anyone who likes thoughtful, beautiful songs would love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beth at her best., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Beth is such a great song writer that it's hard to remember how many hits she has written for other people. Had the privilege of being at her performance at Celtic Connections in Glasgow when she sang most of these songs and told the stories of how and when they were written. A great album, full of fantastic songs, talented musicians and great singers with beautiful voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album as usual from BNC, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncovered (Audio CD)
Classic BNC with a twist This album showcases her songwriting talent to the full . Good track follows good track .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d26aa14)

This product

UnCovered
UnCovered by Beth Nielsen Chapman
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews