Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIVETING
WARHORN (Sons of Iberia)The story drew me in and kept me spellbound till the very end. The pace picks up fast and barrels along. Emotions envelop and action is vividly depicted in great choice of words and metaphor. One is totally absorbed in the history and culture of long ago Spain in a tantalizing tale with fascinating fictional characters. History, ecology and story...
Published 11 months ago by Merryl Leverington

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I would give this 7/10.
Some of the proof reading needed improving and how many times can you use the word 'yup'.
Still that is a only the smallest of criticisms overall a great read well researched certainly a page turner will look forward to Caro's return in 2014.
Tony Hollier.
Published 11 months ago by ANTHONY HOLLIER


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RIVETING, 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
WARHORN (Sons of Iberia)The story drew me in and kept me spellbound till the very end. The pace picks up fast and barrels along. Emotions envelop and action is vividly depicted in great choice of words and metaphor. One is totally absorbed in the history and culture of long ago Spain in a tantalizing tale with fascinating fictional characters. History, ecology and story woven together wonderfully and with author's notes and maps makes for excellence. I look forward to the next saga of Caros and his inimitable companions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Gripping from start to finish with some entertaining characters
A good story line well with a read hopefully more to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, full of action, adventure, history and fight scenes that come to life, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book immensely. I like a book that has strong characters in it, ones who you really get to love and hate along the way. Caros the young trader who knows nothing about how to become a warrior, his heart set on revenge. He learns through the other wise warriors and facinating tribes what it takes to become the hero warrior everyone sees in him especially Hannibal Barca. Loved the banter between Neugan the tracker and Caros. Fantastic fight scenes, you can actually picture yourself on the various battlegrounds, the tension unreal, the men and horses anxiety, the smells, sweat,rage and thirst for blood. If you like action, adventure, love, history, then this is the book to read. Well done to the author, can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I would give this 7/10., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Some of the proof reading needed improving and how many times can you use the word 'yup'.
Still that is a only the smallest of criticisms overall a great read well researched certainly a page turner will look forward to Caro's return in 2014.
Tony Hollier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish delight, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Stephen M. Lock "Hendonman" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Quite an usual aspect of ancient history and the incessant tribal warfare and empire building. An excellent introduction to an Iberian warrior, albeit reluctant at first, and I am looking forward to the next episode. Thoroughly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warring tribes in ancient Spain, 16 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written, fast moving story set in a time and place that not many of us will be familiar with. Bauer has to be congratulated on his thorough research into the period and his skill at conjuring up this pre-Christian world, with its many warring tribes. Definitely a book for the boys and a great start to his Sons of Iberia series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Loved this a real page turner great characters and good plot . in the genre of historical fiction which I love this was up there with the best .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
I found this book highly entertaining and a cracking good read, cannot wait for more adventures of Caros. There are obvious e book typo errors but did not detract from my enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, bloody and a good read, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Caros' life is ripped apart when his family are brutally murdered in an act of war. In the aftermath his lot falls in with warriors but from free will that he stays. The need to redeem his father's warhorn drives him on to punish the enemy and in the process he discovers a cunning for strategy and battle. His days of being a merchant lie behind him as he picks the path of war and his lot falls in with Hannibal (of elephant reknown.)
The battle scenes were brutal and bloody, and I admit to feeling a little queasy on one occasion. Warhorn is well written and the writing does evoke a reaction. I especially liked how the author described simple things such as Caros washing after a battle and scrubbing the blood and gore away.
A touch violent for a 5 star but a well deserved 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warhorn, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WARHORN: Sons of Iberia (Kindle Edition)
Very good historical account of an part of history that I have not looked at. I enjoyed every part of this book and would recommend it to any one that like history and Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WARHORN: Sons of Iberia
WARHORN: Sons of Iberia by J. Glenn Bauer
£1.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews