Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy
I'm really pleased with this laptop.

It's surprisingly lightweight and extremely quiet (much more so than the old laptop it replaces). I'm not a fan of glossy screens, but this one isn't too bad (I was intending to add an anti-glare film, but have decided it isn't necessary). The keyboard keys don't travel as far as on a desktop keyboard, but provide enough...
Published 10 months ago by Tim

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to work on this machine
Nice spec, but prepare yourself for at last 24 hours to up graded to 8.1 and to remind all of the preloaded Microsoft bloatware. After that, you should be OK.

Great sound from this silent-running machine.
Published 10 months ago by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Good at present but as an amateur I still find setting up email and printers etc a bit complicated and of course never used windows 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good!!!, 24 April 2014
By 
N. Shah "Free Spirit" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
My hard drive failed 7 months after purchasing it. When I phoned Amazon they said I would need to contact the manufacturer first to see if they can help. Asus basically said they will not replace or refund the Laptop but would be willing to fix the hard drive which would take between 7 - 10 working days. Poor service!!!!

Once again I contacted Amazon and told them I was not happy to have to wait 7-10 working days for a repair. They have now agreed to refund me for the laptop once I send it to them and they have received it. Still leaves me without a laptop to work from!!!

Not sure if Asus Laptops are poor quality or if I just got unlucky. Either way, I will not be purchasing Asus again!:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great value and quality, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
margesimpson "wifi" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
a came to asus through the media players they produce which i found to be efficient and reliable . what you want ?? right??. so on finding this one and needing a new laptop i impulse bought it on the spot the price is very good when compared to similar spec other brands and i had experience with the product brand. i have to admit i love this one not only is it much faster than my old one , i like the minimalist styling of the case, the speakers sound good and it does what i need it to and provides plenty of storage, its also lighter and thinner than my old one which makes it much more portable . my old laptop would only hold enough charge for a few hours of use so this is so so much better. i must be a rare breed as i quite like windows 8 but windows seven was much easier to navigate. easy to set up and use right out of the box . good for students and others, now to dump that laptop and get that old desktop out of my house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Superb piece of kit.- excellent value for money. Two weak points: short battery life (4 hours) and too many "tiles" with no description of their purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Really sleek design, good performance & very light. Also does not heat up like other old laptops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do your Windows 8.0 research first!, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
CRPB (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
This might be a good laptop, although screen housing is flimsy and trackpad feels breakable. And the numerical keypad is upside down (7/8/9 on top row) for some reason.

But the big downer is Windows 8. Stuck in the update/configure/fail loop for the second day so no chance for me or kids to actually use the machine. Not an out-of-the-box experience that Microsoft should feel proud of.

Failure to update, then upgrade to Windows 8.1 (as Microsoft says I can) will lead to this machine being returned. More cost and more hassle for me, Amazon and Asus, I assume. Perhaps both companies and others in the same boat should kick Microsoft's butt for selling software and services that are clearly not fit for purpose.

Best to google windows 8.0 update problems for this or other laptops before buying. Wish I had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Update: Rubbish - DO NOT BUY - the laptop's hard-drive failed after 2 months, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
The product is full of bloatware and the first update took 12 hours - not impressed, plus Asus customer service is appalling, I've contacted the company twice already and haven't had a response - I'll go for a better quality brand in future.

UPDATE: the laptop's hard-drive failed AFTER JUST TWO MONTHS. This laptop is so badly made, the back panel came off and I had to tape it on, then get it fixed (Asus customer service ignored my emails AGAIN and I needed it sorted asap). Two days later the hard-drive failed, the bios screen suddenly appeared and that was it.

I strongly suggest you look elsewhere and avoid Asus products. There's a good reason they are cheap - build quality is very poor and the company clearly spends very little on customer service and support. I guess you get what you pay for but there are other laptops from better quality brands with a similar spec in the same price bracket that are far superior (and don't ignore their valued customers' requests for assistance), wish I'd done my research better before I had the misfortune to buy this model.

All in all, an extremely negative experience from start to finish and a huge disappointment and hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great laptop but plagued by windows 8, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Great laptop but plagued by windows 8, unfortunately couldn't update it and the loud fan meant it had to go back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect..., 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
First thing's first, the computer arrived really quickly.

It is really fast and really reliable and it is worth the money you pay (keeping in mind it is a budget good performance computer).

However, the only bad thing is that it only comes with a 30 day trial for Microsoft office, which it really bummed me out, since you can usually get deals where you get a whole free year.

Nonetheless, if you are looking for a good not so expensive computer, this Asus is the way to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars He is delighted with the product, 7 Nov. 2014
By 
T. Hawkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Brought for my son's 13th birthday. He is delighted with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews