Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy
I'm really pleased with this laptop.

It's surprisingly lightweight and extremely quiet (much more so than the old laptop it replaces). I'm not a fan of glossy screens, but this one isn't too bad (I was intending to add an anti-glare film, but have decided it isn't necessary). The keyboard keys don't travel as far as on a desktop keyboard, but provide enough...
Published 7 months ago by Tim

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to work on this machine
Nice spec, but prepare yourself for at last 24 hours to up graded to 8.1 and to remind all of the preloaded Microsoft bloatware. After that, you should be OK.

Great sound from this silent-running machine.
Published 7 months ago by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy, 19 Aug. 2014
By 
Tim (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I'm really pleased with this laptop.

It's surprisingly lightweight and extremely quiet (much more so than the old laptop it replaces). I'm not a fan of glossy screens, but this one isn't too bad (I was intending to add an anti-glare film, but have decided it isn't necessary). The keyboard keys don't travel as far as on a desktop keyboard, but provide enough feedback for fast typing. They are much better than the keys on a Sony Vaio that I also own. The touchpad works well, but is very large, and prone to getting nudged when typing. This was ameliorated after I updated the driver for the latest Elantech one from Asus's website, which allows for more customisation of sensitivity, and after I installed the free Touchpad Blocker application, which allows you to disable the touchpad when typing.

The Core i3 processor doesn't break a sweat doing any everyday tasks (web browsing, word processing, spreadsheets, etc.), and the integrated graphics chip handles mp3 and DVD playback effortlessly. Even basic CAD software runs very smoothly. This isn't a machine for a serious gaming fan, but for everyone else, it should be fine. 6GB of RAM is more than enough for Windows 8.1, and I doubt I will ever come close to filling the 1TB harddrive (which comes partitioned into two 500GB sections).

The only slight annoyances are that it took many hours (and I mean a lot!) for Windows to install all the updates (from Windows 8 to 8.1, and dozens of other system updates and drivers), despite having a fast broadband connection; and that there are only two USB ports, both of which are on the left side, and neither of which supports charging of devices while the laptop is in standby (despite there being an Asus "USB charging" application pre-loaded on the laptop).

You may be interested in my recent review of the similarly-specified HP Pavilion 15-p001na Core i3 1.90GHz, 6GB RAM, 750GB laptop, which is arguably slightly better still than the Asus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a Review of ASUS NOT Microsoft Windows, 17 Oct. 2014
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Can we PLEASE be clear here - we are reviewing an ASUS product NOT a Microsoft product. Other reviewers have made a similar point, but a number seem to give ASUS a negative review because of Windows 8. Windows, and in particular Windows 8 have issues which have absolutely NOTHING to do with ASUS. ASUS manufacture hardware NOT software. The ASUS product is very good at what it does and is fast, lightweight, attractive and has "Ice cool" technology. At the price it is excellent value. Windows on the other hand in my view, which seems to be shared by others has, and always has had, issues which lead to dissatisfaction. This would be the case irrespective of the hardware it was loaded onto. So to be clear ASUS and Microsoft are two different products and we are only reviewing the ASUS product in these reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asus Laptop, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Lovely laptop and I'm now pretty au fait with Windows 8 and have upgraded to 8.1 now. The only thing that is a bad design is the mouse which emulates a touch screen. It is not centred on the keyboard letters so I keep swiping when I'm typing. Apart from that there is nothing I'd change. Very quick and light, also doesn't get hot on my lap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asus Laptop is an excellent product, software processing is very fast, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Asus Laptop is an excellent product, software processing is very fast. it present various game and sofware. The quality of song are excellent, the camera image are accurate, the pixel are great. I really appreciate the fact it has a great memory capacity and ram designing the portable laptop as fast material. I am very pleased of this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
My old machine was a desktop using Windows XP. The difference was, as expected, vast. I am now finding my way around Windows 8 and also getting used to not having a mouse.On the whole everything about this machine is very impressive, the value for money, the speed of operation and the clarity f the screen. The only problem is the operator, but this is improving with practise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avoid initial Windows 8 update over WiFi!!, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
DM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
The hardware is stunning for the price. No issues there at all. But, I was VERY frustrated when doing the initial Windows 8 update. It took HOURS (approx 7-8) and then FAILED! I was gutted thinking I'd have to deal with a bricked device warranty. However, I searched the Internet, found many others with the same issue (who's to blame ASUS or Microsoft?) Several people suggested doing a factory reset (from a HD partition as no CD/DVD was included). I repeated the update over a *wired* connection to my router and it was quick (approx 1-hour) completed successfully and has worked fine since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to work on this machine, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Nice spec, but prepare yourself for at last 24 hours to up graded to 8.1 and to remind all of the preloaded Microsoft bloatware. After that, you should be OK.

Great sound from this silent-running machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An honest review, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
I purchased this as a replacement for my 6 year old ACER laptop.
After reading many reviews i finally decided to try the Asus X5500CA as the specifications exceeded my requirements for a sensible price. Once i got past my frustrations with Windows 8.1 and the associated changes for changes sake that are so loved by Microsoft I have started to explore its capabilities.
The first thing is the start up speed is much faster than previous versions of Windows.
The screen is clear and bright and the keyboard has a good positive feel.
The only thing I am still having problems with is the smart functions built into the track pad, but to be fair this is probably down to the operator more than the hardware.
If you are looking for a good laptop for general home office and family use then buy this one you could do a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Great piece of kit at a fantastic price. Quick, lightweight, long battery life and a perfect replacement for my old Asus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ASUS X550CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Dark Grey) - (Intel Core i3 1.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 1TB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8) (Personal Computers)
Great value at the price I paid. Could do with more USB ports but otherwise very happy with it. Read all the bad stuff about Windows 8 but have found it no problem - all the 'old' stuff is there if you look for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews