Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT ADDITION TO THE SERIES!
Bryant & May and The Bleeding Heart by Christopher Fowler is the eleventh book in the Bryant & May series and is as entertaining as ever. The Peculiar Crimes Unit is now headed by Orion Banks and comes under the jurisdiction of the City of London Police. As a woman who plays by the book in order to further her career, she is determined not to let her stint in the unit...
Published 7 months ago by the GreatReads!

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow unsatisfactory
I usually love these books. It felt padded out like bubble wrap. It performed its function but had too much air.
Published 11 months ago by Mrs D D B


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT ADDITION TO THE SERIES!, 14 Sept. 2014
Bryant & May and The Bleeding Heart by Christopher Fowler is the eleventh book in the Bryant & May series and is as entertaining as ever. The Peculiar Crimes Unit is now headed by Orion Banks and comes under the jurisdiction of the City of London Police. As a woman who plays by the book in order to further her career, she is determined not to let her stint in the unit ruin her careers and opted to play safe by asking the unit members to obtain prior sanction. But can a unit that is entrusted to tackle extraordinary cases as its name suggests follow the diktat of its new chief?

Two teenagers looking for a quiet place away from prying eyes witnessed a dead man rising from his grave in London’s St. George’s Gardens. One of them, Romain Curtis, is found dead a few days later on a pavement. As the PCU investigates the case, Arthur Bryant is tasked with investigating another puzzling mystery involving seven raven which disappeared from the Tower of London. Soon Bryant and his partner John May are surrounded by dead bodies as the two seemingly different cases intertwine.

Bryant & May and The Bleeding Heart by Christopher Fowler is a crime mystery that is a real joy to read. Cleverly plotted with its twists and surprises all the way to the end, it is a real surprise that author Christopher Fowler has managed to write a series that is both thrilling and refreshingly enjoyable even after eleven books. Arthur Bryant and John May are truly fascinating characters, and with each book there seems to be a new dimension to their characters. Fans who have enjoyed the previous books will definitely find this latest installment another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for Christopher Fowler, 6 May 2014
By 
L. Holyday "Lady B" (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fabulous book. I love each & every one of the characters who grow & become more interesting every book. This book is as mad as the others. Facts, loose ends, mad people, cats & Brant & May..the suave & scruffy detectives. This story grabs you from page one as they always do. All I can hope is that if they ever film it I can get a part!

Keep it up Christopher. I have to go back to the beginning to read the others slooooowwwwlllllyyy in the hope Mr Fowler hurries up & writes another one PDQ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... current series but that made no difference to the excellent read, these books can be read as a ..., 22 Oct. 2014
I jumped here to the end of the current series but that made no difference to the excellent read, these books can be read as a stand alone or in a series. This finds the team trying to uncover a dastardly plot involving a theft of the Tower of London ravens, grizzly body snatching in the local graveyard and a sprinkling of very inventive murders on their patch. In typical Bryant and May style they set out to solve them each using their own unique skills to track their potential suspects. Along to the unit comes a hot shot new boss from the Met with ideas of grandeur to tame the team and groom them in the way of modern policing but it doesn't take long for her to realise they will take absolutely no notice of her or her fancy methods what so ever! It's filled with the usual quirky folk, brilliant deductions from the wayward Bryant and the soothing calmness of May until they resolve their current crime wave and return to the unit to tend to what's important; that being the welfare of Crippen the cat and her kitties and why "the two Dave's" have electrified the towel rail in the men's toilets, absolutely priceless, I love these novels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely delightful book., 7 Jan. 2015
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: From Raymond Land to All Staff: So, it’s a new beginning for us.

The Peculiar Crimes Unit is now under the jurisdiction of the City of London and, as usual, their new top boss would like to see an end to the group. However, two crimes are keeping them in the game. A young man appears to see a body rise from a grave and claims it spoke. Have Resurrectionists returned? But what did the young man see that resulted in his murder a few days later? Someone stole the seven ravens, symbol of the British Empire, from the Tower of London. Only Bryant could discover a link between the two crimes.

How wonderful that Fowler includes a cast of characters, in the form of a staff roster, at the beginning of his books. And, right from the start, we are treated to the wonderful voice and humor of Flower. It’s a rare treat when an internal memo can be amusing.

It’s nice to have a true ensemble cast of characters, which each playing a significant role in the story and each being fully developed. Although the primary characters are James May and Arthur Bryant—what a wonderful relationship that is--Bryant took the lead here. He seems to have mellowed bit and we learn much more about his past, which is quite lovely, but we did not lose any of that which makes him so delightful. However, all the relationships are so well drawn, the characters transform into being actual people to the reader.

Fowler’s voice, wit and dialogue are such a pleasure to read…”Why have you got a house brick in there [Longbright’s handbag]?’ “Under British law you can’t stop a suspect with a weapon but you might be allowed to hit him with something that would naturally be in your hand at the time,”…. “PC Biggs folded her arms. No honest citizen should ever do anything that makes a police officer stand back and fold her arms.” There is also a delightful scene of the pathologist being thrust into a very different role than that to which he is accustomed. Flower is very good at doing the unexpected.

There is one small criticism and that is the inclusion of portents. Portents are really, really annoying, unnecessary and, rather than create suspense, have the opposite effect. They are also somewhat insulting to the reader as it’s as though the author assumes the reader won’t continue otherwise.

“The Bleeding Heart” is very clever with wonderfully logical explanations of crimes which seemed so odd. It is an absolutely delightful book.

THE BLEEDING HEART (Pol Proc-Bryant and May-London-Contemp) – VG+
Fowler, Christopher – 11th in series
December, 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bryant and May, 9 May 2014
By 
Myles parton (Arlington, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good episode in the series, but The Water Room is better. Still the problem is you always want more. Write quickly Chris Fowler and let's have Mr. Merry try for revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An homage to London and its people., 10 July 2014
By 
Jill Meyer (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Christopher Fowler returns with another excellent book in his Bryant & May series, "The Bleeding Heart". The books are part police-procedural and part homage to the city of London and its people. Readers of the series can't help but learn from Christopher Fowler's writing, while enjoying his peculiar "take" on society.

The "PCU" (Peculiar Crimes Unit) is a red-headed step-child of the London Metropolitan Police Department. Its charge is to solve crimes that basically the more conventional police don't want to get involved in. There are ten or so cops, along with one gender-changed cat, "Crippen", who make up the PCU and they work together, using unconventional methods to solve unconventional crimes. The plot of "The Bleeding Heart", which includes suicides, hit-and-run deaths, murders by cross-bow, as well as the supposed thievery of the ravens from the Tower of London, is, in the end, less interesting than the personalities of both the criminals and the crime solvers. Of particular note are the two senior-detectives - men in their 70's and 80's - Arthur Bryant and John May. They have worked together for 40 years and their pairing has honed their instincts for solving crimes that would have baffled more conventional cops.

Christopher Fowler does such a good job at writing his "Bryant & May" series that each new book is a treat. The reader returns to old friends - Bryant and May - as well as their fellow PCU officers, in the magical city of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fowler does it again!!!!!, 22 July 2014
By 
roland.green@nortonhc.co.uk (Bishop's Stortford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryant & May - The Bleeding Heart: (Bryant & May Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
I'm a huge fan of Christopher Fowler's books and particularly the Bryant and May detective series. What I really love about these novels are the notoriously complex plots involving things like the paranormal and black arts, but most of all it is the use of London and it's amazingly weird history that the author ensures us is based upon fact. As a recent new commuter I often think about returning to this series of books and discovering these parts of London steeped in history. The other thing I truly love are the returning characters in the series who you genuinely do care about and the inherent humour that comes with the tortoise-like ageing detective Arthur Bryant, not to forget Crippen the cat. This new novel features another fiendishly involved plot concerning people rising from the grave coupled with the theft of the ravens from the Tower of London, and the return of the dangerous nemesis of Arthur introduced in the last B&M novel. If unputdownable is a word, then it describes Fowler's latest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryant & May never disappoints, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryant & May - The Bleeding Heart: (Bryant & May Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
Another mad plot featuring the lovable, eccentric crew of the PCU. Filled with fascinating historical references that are brought to life against tge backdrop of London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bryant & May Still the Light of my Life, 12 April 2014
By 
L. Harris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryant & May - The Bleeding Heart: (Bryant & May Book 11) (Kindle Edition)
Every time I read a Bryant & May book I feel sad that maybe poor old Arthur will be pensioned off and every time I start reading a new one I am thrilled that the Unit is still intact. Please keep them on a life support machine if they are "too old" to carry on. My life would not be the same without them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Triumph!, 17 July 2014
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I’ve been reading Christopher Fowler novels for years now and they account for some of my happiest reading hours. Yet again, he’s produced another great story around the Bryant and May characters. This time a teenage couple believe they see a reanimated corpse in a small London square and one of them is subsequently killed in a hit-and-run.

If you haven’t read any of the Bryant and May books before you could read and enjoy this, but it would probably be better to start from the beginning of the series as the character development is one of the most enjoyable aspects of the books. This time we learn more about Renfield and his background and we get a healthy dose of Longbright (which I was incredibly thankful for!)

The only depressing thing is that I’ll have another long wait until we get the next installment 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews