Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for a quick egg sandwich
This small 5" diameter pan is great for a quick egg sandwich in the morning as its small it takes no time to heat up and a normal egg doesn't have room to spread out thinly and burn at the edges. It's also great for eggs on top of gammon.

Being small, eggs are the only thing you can really cook in it as even a sausage or small bacon rasher will struggle to...
Published 14 months ago by Thrud Fan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teeny tiny pan
This is a very small but perfectly formed Tefal frying pan primarily made for the cooking of a single egg. Whilst this may be useful for someone who often cooks one egg I found that eggs do not cook as evenly as when using a larger pan and spooning over oil and thus I will be reverting back to that method in future. On a positive note the eggs come out in a perfect circle...
Published 12 months ago by K. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teeny tiny pan, 17 April 2014
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very small but perfectly formed Tefal frying pan primarily made for the cooking of a single egg. Whilst this may be useful for someone who often cooks one egg I found that eggs do not cook as evenly as when using a larger pan and spooning over oil and thus I will be reverting back to that method in future. On a positive note the eggs come out in a perfect circle so this works well for putting on a muffin. Although I won’t be using it for cooking eggs, it may come in handy for toasting spices, melting a small amount of butter or other tiny kitchen tasks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice for a quick egg sandwich, 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Thrud Fan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This small 5" diameter pan is great for a quick egg sandwich in the morning as its small it takes no time to heat up and a normal egg doesn't have room to spread out thinly and burn at the edges. It's also great for eggs on top of gammon.

Being small, eggs are the only thing you can really cook in it as even a sausage or small bacon rasher will struggle to fit.

Small and compact so easy to store the Tefal non stick works well I could flip my egg over to cook the top easily, I used a wooden spatula to turn it.
Only down side it that if used on a gas hob it could be a little unstable depending on how the hob is designed, my cooker gas hob was fine but you may need to get an adapter for yours.
I've added a few pictures (one with a pound coin to show the size if the pan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Small, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This item looks like it came out of ‘Honey I shrunk the Kids’, and frying pan. It really is that small, and I must concur with the ‘Light’ review, you can fry your one egg - but if you want your egg over easy - how do you get your utensil into the pan? I believe this pan has very limited uses, except maybe for novelty factor. While the quality seems to be there, the balance of the pan just seems off to me, however, that said my partner has used it about half dozen times with reasonable results. The chances of the user burning their hand, or indeed the handle, while using this pan are disproportionately high given its size. Any potential buyer should really weigh the pros and cons before purchase and ideally check it in a store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take just one egg and fry it, 22 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a selection of frying pans of different sizes, from mini to a giant wok and this 12 cm diameter one is certainly the smallest. And is perfect for the frying of a single egg, as the small base means the egg is neatly shaped in the base. If a perfectly round shaped single fried egg is your thing, go for it.

This has one slight advantage over my existing smallest frypan (15cms) - which I thought was small till I got this doll's size one - this can also be put into the oven - as long as the oven is on low heat. So, if the oven were already on, it could be useful to toast pine nuts, flaked almonds, quinoa etc this way, rather than doing it manually on top of the stove. But it would have to be doll like portions of the same.

As is usual for Tefal, you are advised to use non metal spatulas Actually use of a spatula would be a bit difficult as it is so small, and the sides are steep - but a tiny amount of oil is all that is needed and you can just tip the pan and slide the egg straight out, sunny side up - it might be a bit fiddly should you want to turn that egg as you would need less curve to the sides and a larger base to enable the spatula to slide under.

The durabase cooked my egg evenly over its tiny bottom!

Deducted one star for the awkwardness of getting your one egg `over easy'. Not a problem for me, I'm a sunnysider!

Tefal advise doing an initial seal and heat with oil before you cook your first one egg wonder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cutest frypan ever!, 24 Feb. 2014
By 
Margaret7 (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Never thought I'd fall in love with a frying pan, but this little chap is the business. Yes, you can cook one egg or a bit of garlic or heat up your spices for a curry in any old pan, but THIS pan makes it special. It produces a perfect round egg that slides off onto your toast, looking neat and tidy - and it is the perfect size for those small jobs. Saves washing a large pan and, like all Tefal frypans, it is a piece of cake to clean. It is totally practical - deeply cute - and I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small But Perfectly Formed, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
Old Timer (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This pan is just so gosh-darned cute you'll probably squeal, I would have done if I wasn't a grizzled pensioner. It's actually more diminutive than the product photo suggests, and you should check 12cm on a rule before ordering to avoid disappointment.

When Tefal say One Egg they're not kidding, and no way can you get two in unless they were laid by something considerably smaller than a chicken. But the tiny size does mean it heats up very quickly, so an egg sarnie - obviously with a slice of cheese and a blob of ketchup - is prepared in no time. After use, a wipe with a kitchen towel makes it pristine again and ready to prepare the next healthy snack.

Can you recall the last time you showed a visitor your latest frying pan? You can't, I know you can't, but you will be producing this small object of desire for the joy of seeing their reactions, that's almost certain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly tiny, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
R. Johnson "r_johnson194" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice little pan, big enough to fry an egg, although there is not enough room to make the white thin but I don't mind this. I've also used it to make mini pancakes.

There is not really much else you can make with this as it is so small, so its uses are limited, but for eggs and pancakes I've found it very good. The other thing I like is that it is perfect roll/bagel size, so perfect for making fried eggs to be used as filler.

I'm really impressed with the non-stick. It seems much better than my larger Tefal pan, but this may be due to age. Eitehr way I had no issues at all with pancakes sticking.

One word of caution, I found that none of my electric hobs were really small enough for this. What it meant was that there was a large area of exposed heat when using this. You're best off positioning the pan at the edge of your hob so that the handle hangs off the edge. I wasn't thinking the first time I used it and nearly had a nasty surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for a single fried egg, or as a toy., 8 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This little pan, with a diameter about the size of a CD, is perfect for two tasks, and two tasks only.

Firstly, for frying or scrambling one egg (or two very very small eggs). If you want a perfectly round, self-contained, well-presented fried egg- for a cooked breakfast or putting in a bacon sandwich (mmmmmmmm)- then this is exactly what you need. It's perfectly suited. You might struggle a bit if you want to keep turning your egg over, but if you love your fried eggs, this will make you very happy.

Secondly, once cleaned, our young daughter loved it as a toy. It's so small that it was almost the right scale to be used in her toy kitchen set, and she was really happy that we were letting her play with a real pan and not a plastic one!

For both purposes, it's nicely non-stick, washes easily, no problems...

This would make a perfect little gift for that friend of yours who's single and loves doing fried eggs. (or something)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good at what little it does, 17 April 2014
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tefal's "One Egg Wonder" is a high quality non-stick frying pan, which is ideal for those smaller frying or shallow-pan heating tasks. As such, it is not one of those pans which would be high on the shopping list of anyone equipping a kitchen from scratch, unless they lived alone and only cook for themselves; even then, this pan's diminutive (12cm) size renders it of somewhat limited use. Rather, the pan is aimed, I suspect, as the speciality market (or at the "what do you buy the cook who has everything?" market!)

What it does do it does very well indeed, however, being sufficiently weighted not to be over-balanced by its handle, and thick enough in the base to cook evenly. The non-stick coating is of Tefal's usual durable high quality. You do have to be careful not to have the flame up too high if using the pan on a gas ring, as you risk melting the handle, but otherwise this pan is a joy to use and should give a lifetime's service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very tiny pan., 16 April 2014
By 
E. E. Hughes (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tefal A1990022 12 cm Ideal One Egg Wonder (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very tiny pan; it is dwarfed by all my other pans, even the small ones. There is not much you can use it for. You can squeeze a single egg into it (as the name suggests). I have mostly been using it to fry spices, chillies or garlic, in butter or oil, which I pour over something else just before serving. For instance purple sprouting is really nice with some butter and finely chopped chillies.

The pan is non stick and so cleans very well. Food also cooks very evenly in it (although I think the size prevents it from cooking unevenly). I have to use my very smallest (gas) hob on low, so as to prevent the handle melting.

Overall I have given this four stars rather than five, because it is a useful pan for what it does, but it is too small for much else. A slightly larger pan would be preferable, as it will give you more flexibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews