Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars53
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£11.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2014
Acoustic is a skilful reworking of selected tracks from the albums Tri-State, Group Therapy and Sirens of the Sea (under the OceanLab name) as well as a new track, Making Plans.

The switch to an acoustic and more orchestral sound has the effect of slowing the tempo of a lot of the tracks, giving greater focus and clarity to the lyrics and impressive vocal performances. Also, it’s likely this album will appeal to new fans who haven’t heard the trance originals.

The tracks that stood out the most included You Got to Go which was slow, chilled out with Zoë Johnston’s soothing voice and a piano motif, as well as switching into a downtempo section that reminded me of Zero 7 in their Simple Things era. Can’t Sleep works very well with flourishes of strings and a jazzy trumpet. Good for Me, perhaps my favourite track from Tri-State, is also included with the addition of guitar strumming and percussion. Love is Not Enough adds to the later stages of the album with a bit of a folky influence and warm sounds.

The acoustic approach is a worthwhile move and displays Above & Beyond’s skills in multiple genres. The depth of instrumentation and the live band add a more timeless feel to the tracks and fans of the originals will enjoy hearing their favourite tracks in a new way.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I had the rare pleasure of being at the Porchester Hall to watch this being recorded. It was a wonderful event, but what was most incredible was how some of the songs brought several audience members to tears. They were genuinely emotional performances by A&B, Zoe Johnston et al, and you can feel this when listening to this album. In any case it is fantastic to hear classic trance tracks re-arranged in this manner, I just wish more so-called 'trance' artists were brave enough to do the same.

Very few albums are of this calibre.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2014
A stunning album. Great collection of songs, with the mix of male and female vocalists really adding to the musical journey for the listener. Thoroughly recommened.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Wonderful album. The interpretation of the tracks to an acoustic format is just amazing. They work so so well.

Can't fault it! Listen and love it!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I love this CD, it's a constant favourite for in the car after a hard day. brilliant vocals, great music and some absolute classics.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
always loved above & beyond/oceanlab music, & this is a relaxing, chilled out take on some of their best vocal tracks
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Great album, demonstrating the versatility and talent of Above and Beyond. I has become a favourite play in the car.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I've always loved A&B for their cutting edge tunes. This album is certainly in amongst my top 5 ever albums. A chill out twist to the boys trance/dance tunes. Amazing
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
First of all I would like to say this is NOT a live album as some reviewers on here think it is. This is a STUDIO album from Above & Beyond.
This CD is amazing, as always from A&B I have all there albums and to hear the change from electronic to acoustic is quite stunning.
Above & Beyond write acoustically anyway.
There's not one track on here I don't like but the best track is Making Plans which Tony sings.
It's the perfect album to relax to after a long day just beautiful
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
I have had a few above beyond tracks over the years mostly on trance compilations so I decided to purchase this album not really knowing what I would be getting and how it would work. Let me tell anyone who is unsure about buying this album this WILL blow you away it is without doubt one of the most stunning albums in my collection. I would have loved to have been in the audience to have witnessed this played out live what a privilege that would have been... One love
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.24
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.