Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new style
Acoustic is a skilful reworking of selected tracks from the albums Tri-State, Group Therapy and Sirens of the Sea (under the OceanLab name) as well as a new track, Making Plans.

The switch to an acoustic and more orchestral sound has the effect of slowing the tempo of a lot of the tracks, giving greater focus and clarity to the lyrics and impressive vocal...
Published 6 months ago by Frederick Barnstaple

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I love their dance stuff but this hasn't got me yet
A bit boring.
Published 27 days ago by RichInLeam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new style, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
Acoustic is a skilful reworking of selected tracks from the albums Tri-State, Group Therapy and Sirens of the Sea (under the OceanLab name) as well as a new track, Making Plans.

The switch to an acoustic and more orchestral sound has the effect of slowing the tempo of a lot of the tracks, giving greater focus and clarity to the lyrics and impressive vocal performances. Also, it’s likely this album will appeal to new fans who haven’t heard the trance originals.

The tracks that stood out the most included You Got to Go which was slow, chilled out with ZoŽ Johnston’s soothing voice and a piano motif, as well as switching into a downtempo section that reminded me of Zero 7 in their Simple Things era. Can’t Sleep works very well with flourishes of strings and a jazzy trumpet. Good for Me, perhaps my favourite track from Tri-State, is also included with the addition of guitar strumming and percussion. Love is Not Enough adds to the later stages of the album with a bit of a folky influence and warm sounds.

The acoustic approach is a worthwhile move and displays Above & Beyond’s skills in multiple genres. The depth of instrumentation and the live band add a more timeless feel to the tracks and fans of the originals will enjoy hearing their favourite tracks in a new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Are Above & Beyond!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
Wonderful album. The interpretation of the tracks to an acoustic format is just amazing. They work so so well.

Can't fault it! Listen and love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking album, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Cameron Noble (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
I had the rare pleasure of being at the Porchester Hall to watch this being recorded. It was a wonderful event, but what was most incredible was how some of the songs brought several audience members to tears. They were genuinely emotional performances by A&B, Zoe Johnston et al, and you can feel this when listening to this album. In any case it is fantastic to hear classic trance tracks re-arranged in this manner, I just wish more so-called 'trance' artists were brave enough to do the same.

Very few albums are of this calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars always loved above & beyond/oceanlab music, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
always loved above & beyond/oceanlab music, & this is a relaxing, chilled out take on some of their best vocal tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I love their dance stuff but this hasn't got me yet, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (MP3 Download)
A bit boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album IMHO, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
A stunning album. Great collection of songs, with the mix of male and female vocalists really adding to the musical journey for the listener. Thoroughly recommened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful listening experience, 10 May 2014
By 
J. S. Simpson (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
Great album, demonstrating the versatility and talent of Above and Beyond. I has become a favourite play in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars World Class, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
I love this CD, it's a constant favourite for in the car after a hard day. brilliant vocals, great music and some absolute classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (Audio CD)
Great album!! Above & Beyond are just brilliant !!!! Great songs with a completely different take on their original tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A&B Acoustic, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acoustic (MP3 Download)
I've always loved A&B for their cutting edge tunes. This album is certainly in amongst my top 5 ever albums. A chill out twist to the boys trance/dance tunes. Amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acoustic
Acoustic by Above & Beyond (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews