Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 75 original 1950s and early 1960s classics..., 22 Jan 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
The Songs of Pomus & Shuman, 75 Original Classics, NOT3CD139

One of the most important rock and roll writing teams of the late 1950s and early1960s, Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman composed more than 500 songs between 1958 and 1965. Mort Shuman composed the music and Doc Pomus wrote the lyrics, they achieved their greatest success writing for The Drifters and Elvis Presley, who recorded more than 20 of their songs.

Between 1959 and 1961 they provided The Drifters with hit songs that included "This Magic Moment," "Save the Last Dance for Me," and "Sweets for My Sweet."

Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman also began writing songs for Elvis Presley including "Surrender," "Little Sister," "Suspicion" "Marie's the Name of His Latest Flame" and "Viva Las Vegas"

This new 3 CD set has running times of CD1 59.47; CD2 58.46 & CD3 60.13. The line notes are by regular Michael Healthy. Illustrated with 10 small black & white photographs inside and portrait on cover. This looks and sounds great with The Songs of Mann & Weil, NOT3CD142.

CD1 covers 1956-1962; CD2 covers 1955-1962 & CD3 covers 1956-1961. The late 1950s features heavily as does 1960. For those who like familiar names you will know Elvis; Bobby Darin; Cliff; Billy; James/Jimmy Darren & the ever young Jess Conrad singing the title song from his film Rag Doll.

Another excellent song writers compilation from Not now Music and at a very very reasonable price. Sound transfers very clear throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Name that tune ? There's plenty here to start with ., 21 July 2014
By 
Howard Griffiths (Radio station gtfm 107.9 or www.gtfm.co.uk tune in and enjoy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
Hidden Gems from two great song writers . There must be plenty of "bubbling under"recordings here at a modest price {must buy a "BILLBOARD 100" on of these days} Excellent UK& US recordings to enjoy "A" & "B" sides.

Just one moan , which won't cause me to any deductions in "stars". I wish NOT Music would alter their design in their presentation of these albums , the track listing on a grey background , white writing and the Artist in red , very dazzling to read under almost any light , if they were not listed here on Amazon it would be a job knowing what's on track listing .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These songs bring back good music memories, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
A lot of artist bring a lot of nice songs and hits. Certainly a number of songs will bring back memories. The quality of the sound is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of happy music., 22 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. Kimberley (Tamworth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
These composers amazed me with their variety and success. I knew about half the songs so the ones I did not know were great to hear. I only came by this CD through browsing and had never heard their names before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Older artists, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
great songs from artists most people only had A sides

Good to hear some B sides sound well with lesser known artists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous CD, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Barbara A. Hearman "Babsie H" (berkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
For all lovers of this music this is a brilliant CD to be played often. I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
I was intrested in some of the tracks I found on this release. I am pleased with the albums.
Fine sound quality.
Learned to appreciate some - to me - unknown recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good 60s pop, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
These were amongst the best of the early pop writers along with Leiber and Stoller.Most songs are winners with a few bummers.If you haven't got these in your collection,then it is a must.Sound quality on a few a bit dodgey,but all in all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
Great historical album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songwriters, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. M. Keating (Clacton on Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman (Audio CD)
What a fantastic album. I had no idea what brilliant songs they wrote. It was great hearing these artist songs again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman
The Songs Of Pomus & Shuman by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews