Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last an Affordable Laser Measure!
I've been put off by the high price of the other laser measures in the Bosch range, so I was pleased to see this new more affordable offering. It really is simplicity itself to operate with just two controls; 1. the sliding on-off switch, which also deletes stored measurements and 2. the red 'hold' button which saves your reading and turns off the laser. I don't feel that...
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Mark Hanson-Vaux

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disapointed
I purchased this in a bit of a hurry, and I was hoping it did a bit more, it only measures in metric and being of the older gen. I have to convert it to feet and inches, plus it only has a 2 number memory. Having sadi that it works fine.
Published 4 months ago by bucko


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At Last an Affordable Laser Measure!, 24 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Mark Hanson-Vaux (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
I've been put off by the high price of the other laser measures in the Bosch range, so I was pleased to see this new more affordable offering. It really is simplicity itself to operate with just two controls; 1. the sliding on-off switch, which also deletes stored measurements and 2. the red 'hold' button which saves your reading and turns off the laser. I don't feel that the metric only readout is a hardship really because let's face it, when you shop in a DIY shop these days, all the measurements are metric. Someone (quite rightly) pointed out that it doesn't come with a case and like them I was a bit disappointed about this but I suppose it's a pricing issue (hence the one dropped star). However, I found that Specsavers hard plastic glasses case (current issue) is a perfect fit and it holds the device without it rattling around. I'm sure I'll look back in the near future and wonder how I ever got along without this neat little device!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Measure Once., 13 Jan 2014
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Bosch PLR15 Digital Laser Ranger finder is a small and very easy to use range finder.

The PLR15 is for most jobs and weather conditions a direct replacement for a tape measure for most circumstances. It does need a target to point at - you can put some card if you are measure to a drop off edge. To set the PLR15 up you need to put the included batteries in; point the Bosch End away from your eyes and point at something between 15cm and 15m away. In about 1/2 a second you will know how far away the dot is. The distance (measure from the back of the device) is output on a green and black display that is easy to read in most all light conditions. Besides the switch there is one button; hold - press it and the display keeps the last measured value till you press it again. It is resoundingly metric; so if you are needing imperial distances you may want to stick with your tape measure.

On some surfaces it can take some time to settle the measurement down - I also found it occasionally floating between a few mm of the distance. As it measures the reflection of the laser beam this can happen as there are some super unreflective surfaces (like glass) that it can't measure accurately. The PLR15 does has some inaccuracies in its measurements - the manual lists it as +/- 3mm at 25C; it gets worse as the temperature deviates from that. Your existing tape measure is likely as bad (they aren't calibrated and the more you use them the worse they become so don't take it as a big negative; just don't expect it to be perfect. If you want to use the PLR 15 as a ruler; finding exactly 1.5m from your target you can slide it along the surface and the display more or less keeps up in real time (just remember it measures to the end away from the laster.)

One thing you do need to do is protect the optics; and here Bosch have let you down a little - there isn't an included case or clip to keep it away from everything else in your toolkit. So if you do keep it in your pocket make sure your keys are elsewhere. That considers the PLR15 is pocketable easy to use (and generally significantly faster) replacement for a classic tape measure. So long as you think Metric it is a simple easy to use tool that gets quick accurate measurements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wow Measuring Machine, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Z. Herbert "solaan" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The device is smaller than I expected; it is very neat and little enough to slip into a pocket.

It comes with two AAA alkaline batteries and a multi-language manual. The manual has a set of tiny stickers which say (in multiple languages) not to stare into the beam. The appropriate one can be stuck over the German printed label of the tool.

Be aware: on arrival the unit is in the 'On' position. When inserting the batteries with the switch down, the laser automatically starts working. Be very careful because it is important not to point the laser at people, animals or yourself!

It measures from the rear edge of the tool to where the laser touches a surface. The minimum distance it measures is 15 centimetres up to a maximum of 15 metres.

The measurement is metric only and is shown in metres. For examples 33cm 2mm is shown 0.332m. I found this method of displaying the measurement a little confusing to start with and I have to be careful not to misinterpret it.

There is a large, red Hold button which freezes the measurement reading so that the tool can be moved and the distance noted. The display shows two readings. This can be the current active and last held or the last two held measurements. Pressing the Hold button turns the laser off.

The display is bright, clear and the numbers are shown in a large, white, LED calculator style font on a black background.

The packaging says there is an accuracy +/-3mm. Of the measurements I made against my metal tape measure, the readings were identical to the millimetre with the tape although my tape doesn't measure beyond 5m.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Little Device, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
Bought this digital measurer a while ago. It is brilliant. Compact, easy to use and very accurate. I have found it particularly useful for measuring longer distances which can be a real problem with an ordinary tape measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
Excellent product everybody should have one or to of product excellent working 100 percent ok speedy delivery excellent that is why i give it five stars excellent Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than a tape measure!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
Incredibly accurate, and above all saves a huge amount of time. No more faffing around to get the tape measure straight over a long distance, or trying to mark and remeasure as your tape is too short for the wall. Battery life seems good, it certainly doesn't need replacing every five minutes or anything. Its small size doesn't detract from its build quality, and means it can easily be slipped into a pocket or tight spaces such as wall cavities - try measuring that with a tape measure!

One small drawback is its inability to measure accurately below about 5cm from the lens - but to be fair this is never particularly easy with a tape and I normally end up using a steel rule instead.
I am hard pressed to think of a job that more than 15m range would be necessary in a DIY scenario, but if you do have very large measuring needs then you will need to head towards the more expensive parts of Bosch's laser measure range. I don't find it a problem at this price point though.

Overall, while the price seems high compared to a 5 tape measure, the ease of use and time saved more than make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable accurate and cheap, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. A. Cresswell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
The display is a bit difficult to read in strong sunlight, otherwise it has no drawbacks - it just works.
Only limitation is the 15m range - but if you don't need more than 15m it is an ideal tool for the toolkit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
Smart bit of kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and awesome., 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
This lazer measure is awesome. I'm a carpenter and I can literally find a million uses for this that I didn't even think about while I was buying it. Makes the job so much faster and easier, for example, you need to measure the length of the skirtings to cut to exact, but the bottom of the plasterboard has a gap and your tape measure keeps going under the gap. Not with this baby, and trust me, it is precise to the milimetre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good product, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder (DIY & Tools)
I use my rangefinder to measure bathrooms as part of my job and this works a lot better than a tape measure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bosch PLR 15 Digital Laser Rangefinder
44.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews