Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
178
4.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 February 2014
If you've played previous Lego games, you will have a basic idea of what to expect with this movie tie in.
The Lego Movie Videogame doesn't deviate from the previous Lego games formula, so if you have any experience with previous Lego games, you should be able to get right into this one without too much of a tutorial.
As always, you must lead a band of chunky plastic characters around a colourful world, filled with enjoyable, if un-difficult puzzles and enemies who fall to pieces when you kill them. All the environments are made from Lego bricks and so blasting and blowing up objects, creates some awesome scenes of colourful carnage.

You move from one set piece to the next with minimal difficulty, but there's so much to do in between, so this never gets old or boring. You collect various items and in-game currency, which activate cheats that let you re-play completed areas the way you like, or unlock a plethora of additional characters, and sometimes you get to build and use special vehicles or structures by playing one of the many mini games on offer. The hub section is particularly cool as you can simply hop into a vehicle and drive around town, or just go around smashing up the scenery to collect money and this is simple, yet extremely fun to do.

The graphics and sound are absolutely brilliant, despite the fact that you play in a cartoonish Lego world, it almost feels real due to the high quality of the visuals and sound design, which are absolutely top notch.

The story itself is simple enough and quite immersive but is a lot shorter than some of the previous Lego games, such as the Lord of the rings for instance, which is the games only major let down.

I have yet to see the Lego movie itself so I can't comment on how faithful the source material is to the movie but this game does have all the ingredients, for adults and kids alike, to find something to enjoy for a good 12-15 hours.

It is also fit to mention that there are lots of areas in game, which you can't access on your first play through, these can only be accessed using certain unlockable characters, which gives the game the added bonus of great re-play value (but I have yet to play it through twice upon writing this review, although I do plan to)

Overall, The Lego movie videogame is a rich, colourful and enjoyable romp which remains faithful to it's Lego gamers fanbase, the only downfall is it's short runtime, which leaves you wanting more when the game ends. Kids will just love the colour and ease of play, while adults will appreciate the more serious aspects of the gameplay on offer. There is a 2 player split screen option but I can't comment on this as I personally, have only played the single player mode.

8/10 Could have been longer but a great addition to the Lego universe none the less.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
After enjoying the Movie this was a really great way to relive it. I found the Lego Build puzzle annoying but generally great and I replayed all the levels to get the mini kits etc. It become more fun after unlocking the flying characters eg. Superman
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
The first few times the game progressed to candy land and froze. Restart and same again. Tried to inform the maker TT Games with no luck however there may have been an update as the game seems to progress now. Nothing special about the format though from previous Lego games. More geared to very young children.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 April 2016
“The LEGO Movie Videogame” is a third-person action-adventure game, following the story of ‘The Lego Movie’, and forms part of the ongoing Lego series of games. It’s a great deal of fun – involving both action and comedy – and, if you’ve enjoyed the other games in this series, I think you’ll like this one as well.

You get to control various characters as seen in the movie, making use of Lego pieces to progress through the different levels. Initially, you play as Emmet – a ‘regular builder’ in the Lego world – and as you proceed so Emmet becomes a ‘master builder’ (just like Batman, Benny, Princess Uni-Kitty, Vitruvius, and Wyldstyle). Your task is to stop an evil tyrant from taking over the Lego world.

This game has the look and feel of the previous instalments in the Lego franchise. It’s easy to play, and is suitable for children and adults alike. It’s a very bright, colourful and vibrant game – and looks good on the PS3. At under £15 it's a bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
My 7 year old asked Santa for this game. He is thrilled with the game itself. Both he and his 6y old brother have loved all the Lego PS games, which are age appropriate for little ones. Arrived on time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
Bought this for my grandson, he thinks it's fantastic, he says its the best game he has played and he should know.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Seems a very difficult game to manoeuvre around. My kids (who are very game savvy) has been on the same part of the game for months. I'm constantly following walkthroughs on YouTube etc to see how you do certain parts of the game. It's not an easy game at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 February 2014
Great game, If you've played the Lego video games before then you will know what to expect, lots of missions, lots of building and lots of destruction.

My boy of 10 has had pretty much all the lego games and we reckon this is head and shoulders above the rest, loads of characters with varying powers and abilities, you get to jump, climb, drive some brilliant vehicles.

We haven't seen the Lego movies but guess the game is based on what goes on in the film which looks great fun.

Brilliant
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
My 12 year old loves this game as he has done with all the Lego PS3 games.
Has all the characters from the movie which he has seen so makes the game even more enjoyable.
A little more difficult than other lego games as he is stuck at the mo and getting a little frustrated,however if it was easy it would be finished in a matter of hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
My 9 year old son pestered me for 2 months for this game. Great game, continues the Lego DNA from previous titles. Completed in about 25 hours. But has huge replay value with unlocks and secrets. Great graphics and sound.
.
highly recommended for Lego fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

£15.00
£13.99
£12.91

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)