Customer Reviews


465 Reviews
5 star:
 (361)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sexy, emotional romance with a wounded heroine and a hot, macho Scotsman
This romance is told in first-person from Jocelyn's POV, and what a character she is. She's twenty-two, an American living in Scotland, trying to find some way back to living life without actually examining the hurt and pain she carries with her everyday. It's hard to live life fully when you're denying your emotions and keeping people at a distance. It's sort of a half...
Published 22 months ago by S. Richards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On Dublin Street
As a teenager, Jocelyn Butler left America and all the painful memories of her dead family and moved to Edinburgh. Now in her 20s she is moving in to a new house on Dublin Street, where she gets to know her new roommate Ellie and her attractive brother Braden. However, can Joss protect her heart from both of them or will her arrangement between her and Braden grow into...
Published 17 months ago by Amethyst Bookwyrm


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sexy, emotional romance with a wounded heroine and a hot, macho Scotsman, 7 Sep 2012
By 
S. Richards (Deep South) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
This romance is told in first-person from Jocelyn's POV, and what a character she is. She's twenty-two, an American living in Scotland, trying to find some way back to living life without actually examining the hurt and pain she carries with her everyday. It's hard to live life fully when you're denying your emotions and keeping people at a distance. It's sort of a half life, and she knows it. I think that's what I liked most about Jocelyn: her raw honesty with herself. She knows that she has issues and that she keeps an emotional distance between herself and the world, all in the hope of not being hurt again.

I liked this heroine, her toughness and her bluntness. Many times she was sharp, even hurtful to some degree, but even with all that, I never stopped liking her. And I'm one to turn on a character in an instant, but Jocelyn made sense to me, and all because the author wrote this young woman with a very genuine emotion, with very geniune character, and with a whole lot of depth. There's a truth to Jocelyn, and when you read her words and her thoughts, you see and feel all that she's hiding and revealing. I was impressed with her emotional journey and how she took me along with her on that ride. For all the toughness, there is a vulnerability to her, a fragility that's touching.

As that hot Scot pursued her, I felt her passion, her fear, and her longing for more. There is so much chemisty between her and Braden. Right from their first meeting, the attraction is instant, and it made each page fly by. I wanted them to get together, couldn't wait to read it. As she resisted him, it only made him more curious and more interested in her, and it made me frustrated and eager! All that delicious sexual tension between them, building and growing with each interaction until Braden was finally tired of playing her game of being pushed away. He turned it on full-court press, and he was awesome doing it. He's described as tall and hunky with pale blue eyes and sexy-messy dark hair, and for me, I kept seeing my favorite hunk, Henry Cavill, in that starring role. Quirky smile, all cocky and charming, and sexy as hell.

I loved Braden, especially when he went caveman on Jocelyn, being growly, jealous and territorial of her. I loved when he told Jocelyn that he didn't like to share, had no intention of sharing her and that she was his and his alone. This very alpha attitude just added to the sex for me, passionate and erotic, reflecting all the longing and need both characters were feeling. The sex was plenty hot but also intimate as well. Jocelyn was no match for Braden and his intensity and his will. He's having sex with her and all the while staring into her eyes and making her see him and all he was offering. I loved that.

I think this romance had just the right amount of angst for me personally. Jocelyn resisted, she was hard and prickly and required some work, and there were problems along the way. Even towards the end of the story, when Jocelyn goes deeper into self-protective mode and when I'd thought Braden had done something that made my stomach clench and completely flip-flop in dread, I rolled with it, riding out the angst and was rewarded with a sweet HEA and epilogue for the struggle. Really very good and satisfying, a sweet and emotional romance with a wounded heroine and hot, macho Scotsman who persisted and got what he wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read....., 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantasically well written book with a gripping story line that has you hooked from the beginning.
The characters are all extremely sexy and charming in there own very unique ways(certainly gives your imagination a wake up call). The author takes you right into the heart of Edinburgh and gives you a real feel for the people,area and life style. It is lovely to be able to relate to a book so vividly as I have oftern visited edinburgh.
As for the adult side of the book what can I say amazingly descriptive and relevant to the story line rather than just placed into the script to heat things up.

A must read as far as Im concerned and in my personal opinion overshadows certain other books of this nature that are currently available.

Cant wait for the next one thank you once again for another amazing book Samanatha.
xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Dublin Street, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book the story was very believable and written in a way that was easy to relate to, as the characters were all wonderful without being cheesy or OTT. Joss is just on the right side of sassy and cool without being too vulgar therefore she gets away with it and I love her character. Braden sounds hot, very handsome, witty, good sense of humour and loyal with a good heart, perfect man in my book. the sizzling chemistry and hot sex between these two is palpable and I couldn't put the book down. The rest of the characters brought together a very good story line which was more than just filling in between sex scenes as a lot of books do and the style of writing is good and made the book a real page turner for me. I want MORE please from this writer she tells a good tale and her characters are brilliant. GREAT READ 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - read the reviews and they were right!!, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes you read a story and can't believe that it's fiction, the author writes the characters so believably that you feel there is life experience there, I would be very surprised if this author hasn't experienced extreme grief it's so palpable throughout this tale.

This is a wonderful story of Joss, an American girl in Scotland who answers an advert for a flatmate and after getting the place realises that she's already met the brother of her co-habitant Ellie. Yup, she's met Braden and therein begins a tale of a building sexual tension that nearly melted my kindle!!!

Joss is running away from facing her grief after an astounding tragedy that killed her family in America and she has got along just fine by not allowing any strong emotions to affect her - yea right - she managed this for 8 years but taking this flat and meeting Ellie's family just started chipping away at her armour and she painfully struggles to deal with this.

The story is heart-wrenching, the romance is erotic and very, very HOT. The characters are all likeable and believable.

Just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did I miss something?, 1 April 2013
By 
Liane Adam "fairy" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Paperback)
I saw all the good reviews and thought this would be good, but I found it quite unbelievable, predictable and it lacked a decent storyline.
Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read dross, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
If you want something to send you to sleep, then read this - not what you'd call a thrill a minute. No storyline either. From the moment it started it was only going to end in a certain way - save some time by reading the first and last chapters only. What's with this American way of spelling - the author is Scottish. Also a spot of proofreading wouldn't come amiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On Dublin Street, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Paperback)
As a teenager, Jocelyn Butler left America and all the painful memories of her dead family and moved to Edinburgh. Now in her 20s she is moving in to a new house on Dublin Street, where she gets to know her new roommate Ellie and her attractive brother Braden. However, can Joss protect her heart from both of them or will her arrangement between her and Braden grow into something more.

I have read and really enjoyed Samantha Young's YA books and decided to give this a go even though it is not my normal type of book. On Dublin Street is a quick read and I enjoyed it more than I thought I would.

Joss is an interesting person who is stubborn but also very vulnerable which likable in a character. Braden is a good male lead but I did not like how possessive he was. My favourite Character is Ellie as I feel we have the most in common and I liked how sweet and nice she is.

While I liked this book I'm not sure I will read Down London Road as I'm not sure how Young will deal with the ME/CFS of the main woman's mother, as I know people with this illness and would hate to see it dismissed. I would recommend On Dublin Street to people who like nice and easy to read romance novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Million times better than Fifty Shades!, 29 Jan 2013
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
This is not my usual book and to be honest after reading Fifty Shades anything that is compared to that would put me off. However the fact that is was set in Edinburgh (somewhere I know well) I decided to give it a go. It had me hooked from the start. It is nothing like Fifty Shades in that it actually has a story! I thought Joss was a great character and the fact that eventhough she has a tragic past she is still in control of how she wants her life to be. Yes there are sex scenes but these are part of a natural progression of the story not just put in there to sell books. The descriptions on Edinburgh were great and I could see the places in my head. I can't wait to read more adult fiction from Samantha Young. If you are put off this book by thinking it is a fifty shades rip off it isn't give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I wanted to create something beautiful in place of all the ugliness.", 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
Have you ever gone into a book pretty sure you will enjoy it because of the blurb and from what you have seen from other reviews but then when you read it you are actually shocked at how much you absolutely loved it? Well that is what happened to me with On Dublin Street. I really needed this book! I have been reading a lot of young adult novels lately and while I love them sometimes you just need an excellent, well written contemporary adult novel. And WOW this book fit the bill perfectly. The chemistry and romance between Jocelyn and Braden was on fire. The characters were believable and more importantly they were lovable. And I am not just referring to the two main characters, the side ones are just as lovable.

Honestly I found it so hard to put this book down once I started. As always there has to be a way for the characters to meet and in this case they share a cab ride. Holy hot Batman! I knew there was no way at all that I was going to be able to put this book down after that scene. How can so much hotness come from a scene where not even a single kiss is shared?

"Most women would be taking advantage of my imprisonment in the taxi with them-chew my ear off, shove their phone number in my face...as well as other things."

"Wow, you really think a lot of yourself."

He grinned back at me, his teeth white but imperfect and his crooked smile sent an unfamiliar shot of feeling across my chest.

"I'm just speaking from experience."

... and that is just a small snippet. Trust me when I say it is an awesome scene and it is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the awesome scenes in this book. I always tend to highlight favorite passages on my Kindle and by the end I am pretty sure that most of the book has just been saved in my clippings. Like I said, there are just so many great scenes.

Jocelyn (Braden refuses to call her by her nickname Joss) is troubled. She faced horrible tragedy at a young age and since then has closed herself off and never lets anybody get very close. She does have a couple of friends but they know nothing about her past and to be honest she probably only keeps them around because they don't press her with questions.

Braden is devilishly sexy but he is also kind, generous, arrogant, sweet. cocky, and witty. I loved Braden from day one and I never looked back. Usually in a book there is a moment when your feelings change. Yes you may go back to loving the person but something will happen and you will temporarily dislike them. This never ever happened! Braden Carmichael has successfully made it to my top ten fictional men, in fact I think he could have easily broken the top five. Braden is not without his issues, he has been burned in the past and a lot like Jocelyn he never lets anybody get very close, with the exception of his family. The love he has for his family is heart-warming and I also loved them so much. They are hard not to love to be honest.

Something else I really enjoyed about this was the way the author incorporated Jocelyn's therapy sessions. The switching to a session is seamless and it was our way of learning a bit more about her past as she doesn't open up to anybody else. I loved the therapist! She was insightful and quite funny in the end.

There are just so many great things about On Dublin Street. I could go on and on about it's awesomeness for ages but I'm sure you would get tired of reading it. I only hope I have managed to convince you to read this book. I have already made a friend of mine read it and she also could not put it down and is now in love with it. Two more of my friends will be reading it very soon and I am sure they will come to the same conclusion as me... On Dublin Street is one of the best books I have read in 2012!

"I feel like I'm missing something really important when you're gone. So important I don't feel like myself. I've never felt like someone was mine before. But you're mine, Jocelyn. I've known that from the moment we met. And I'm yours. I don't want to be anyone else's, babe."

Christine
Rainy Day Reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, want more!, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Dublin Street (Kindle Edition)
American Joss moved to Edinburgh after a tragedy, and is very guarded with her emotions. She briefly meets the very sexy Braden when they both go for the same taxi. There is then a chain of events that leads Joss to meet new people, and start to re-visit past emotions that she had locked away after her heartache. I was so engrossed in this story, I couldnt put it down. The attraction between her and Braden smoulders along, you are desperate for them to get together and sit back and watch the sparks ignite. I would love to see more in this series - more about Joss & Braden, and also the other characters in the book like Ellie & Adam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews