Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond amazing, 25 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
I bought this album for a mere 5. I have paid 15 for other albums which I no longer listen to. When I put on this album, depending on which track it is, it sparks off some kind of reaction, whether I end up in tears ( Alien, Magic Hour) or ready to party (Compared to You, Beat Mama, The feeling Remains).
It is truly a classic album, as are all of Cast's albums. I feel deelpy saddened that some people are deprived of listening to a band as wonderful as Cast, because of the lack of recognition. Some people I know have not even heard of Cast and that is very sad.
Still, they will always be truly amazing to me, I would thoroughly recommend this album, and the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars castpop, 7 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
This album took me a couple of listen's to get used to it but after that you found what true music sounded like. This is a great album and anyone who does not have this lost without it. This is what 21 century rock n roll will sound like. This album is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 31 July 2000
By 
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
Cast - what can you say about them? A great singles band who have perhaps not received due credit when it comes to their long players. But Magic Hour deserves to be rated as one of the best albums of the 1990s. First single Beat Mama is rocky and catchy, and deservedly earned a place in the UK Top 10. From there, the album drifts through gorgeous ballads and rocky numbers until the wonderful closing track Hideaway and the hidden instrumental. The highlight for me is the unbelievably beautiful Alien, with a majestic string arrangement that perfectly complements the excellent vocals. John Power has surpassed himself in the writing of this album, and if you have ever liked any song by Cast, do not hesitate to buy this album. I promise you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2014 Deluxe 2CD+DVD la!, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Hour (Deluxe 2Cd + Dvd Edition) (Audio CD)
Cast's 3rd album, Magic Hour was originally released in 1999. Despite reaching number 6 in the album charts the album fell away fairly quickly and never sold as well as the previous two. The musical climate was changing and Cast wasn't immune. This is such a shame as I think this is a fantastic album with superb production by Gil Norton. Overall, this album is just a nose in front of Mother Nature Calls for me (John Power shakes his head in disbelief!)

This issue is from Edsel (under licence from Universal) and comes in a robust hardback book style case, very smart and more durable than the standard fidgety Deluxe versions that Universal have recently issued. The full album and b-sides are here and all lyrics are included even for the b-sides which is a nice touch of detail. Even the various remixes of Beat Mama are included. A DVD is included containing a new interview with John Power, both promo videos and a solitary TOTP appearance. Like the previous release Disc 2 is filled with BBC sessions from 1999, already released on the Cast BBC Sessions CD. A cover of The Who's, The Seeker is here. This was originally released on the 2001 Substitute: Songs Of The Who tribute album and its good to tie it up as an extra. All Bright which was a cassette-only b-side (also a bonus track on the Japanese edition of the album) is also included.

The interviews for all 4 albums are great but by the time we get to Magic Hour, John is struggling to remember the tracks on the album. In fact the 2nd half of the album doesn't get mentioned! I suppose this shows John doesn't have the same affinity with some of these songs as he does for the first 2 albums. For me that's a shame as I really love this album. Although if it were me being interviewed the next day for my album reissues I'd have read over the track-listing the night before, so at least I remembered the songs! You're so laid back John, but that's why we love yer.

A good release and hopefully the album will gain a few more fans from this reissue. Its uplifting sunshine music, highly recommended to anyone especially people have never been into the band.

P.S. Edsel, please send John Power a copy so he knows what songs are on it. Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cast 2013, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
what a rockn'roll album well overlooked, raw loud and a heavier sound buy now ! 5/5. party time people 1999 at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
If you've just discovered Cast on their reformation then you need to buy this album, aswell as All Change. I personally never got round to buying this album when it originally came out and don't understand why because have always been a fan and knew some of the songs, but having just bought it can honestly say am not disappointed. In my opinion this is better than Mother Nature Calls and nearly as good as the aforementioned All Change. Standout tracks are Beat Mama and the title track Magic Hour but there is more to the album than that. Without going into it too much I'll just say that it is what you would expect from Cast, solid drums and guitars with all the melody you could want and it really hasn't aged much at all. Maybe I'm getting old but there's a lot of pap music around these days, so when you buy stuff like this that you missed the first time it's like having completely new music in your collection and more than makes up for the lack of decent stuff around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3rd album successfully graduates from previous works, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
This wholistic disc got more of a spin than both All Change and Mother Nature Calls during my mid-late teens, and i would still reach for this disc now to give me a full and mature Cast experience, with the lads firing on all creative cylinders. This really is a complete melodic rock album with enough edge to keep you disappearing into the kitchen. Groovy, hooky, melodic and experimental at times, the production depth here is a progression from previous works and this stands out for the band. Also and most importantly, Power's voice remains excellent, and you get the sense this is the album he wanted to create. Every track contributes something different to connect and engage with, though i often skip Beat Mama at track 1, a weak single compared to the previous Cast 'hits'. One of the most played albums in my 400+ album collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Masterpiece, 7 Jun 2009
By 
L Thornton (South Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Hour (Audio CD)
I had only heard a few Cast singles before buying this album and what an album it is, how ironic and unjust that it didn't do that well when it was released - the truth is it's a real classic. After just a few listens I was really hooked and not just on the well known Beat Mama and Magic Hour which are great in themselves. Compared To You (almost an anthem), She Falls and Alien are all fabulous stand out tracks, full of catchy and inventive guitar riffs, great tunes and excellent vocals. For me, Dreamer is a personal favourite, I just love the synthesizer in this, the song is almost a mixture of The Beatles, The Byrds and The Who ... For anyone hesitating to give this a go, be assured that this album is packed with sheer Liverpudlian quality music and great arrangements - gutsy, melodic and magical, all power to John Power!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Hour (Deluxe  2Cd + Dvd Edition)
Magic Hour (Deluxe 2Cd + Dvd Edition) by Cast (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews