Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little more experimental than their last album, but all the better for it.
There are two sorts albums, those which draw you in right from the word go, give you a bunch of singles to sing along to, and a catchy opening song. And there are the ones that don't - they often get slated in the press because the critics can't be bothered to listen to the album more than once or twice. This is a real shame because these less instant, catchy albums often...
Published 4 months ago by Martin Leitch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
Some interesting ideas and some influences from the better bands ( Pink Floyd, Manson) but let down by poor production.
Published 1 month ago by mobsta


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little more experimental than their last album, but all the better for it., 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
There are two sorts albums, those which draw you in right from the word go, give you a bunch of singles to sing along to, and a catchy opening song. And there are the ones that don't - they often get slated in the press because the critics can't be bothered to listen to the album more than once or twice. This is a real shame because these less instant, catchy albums often prove to have more longevity than their single heavy counterparts.

Whereas Toy's self titled debut fell more into the former category, their latest, Join the Dots certainly doesn't. With the first album it felt like every other song could be a single, only a couple of songs here really feel like they'd be viable single choices. Not to mention the fact that it opens with a long, dreamy instrumental - another sign they're moving in a less mainstream direction. A couple of songs stand out instantly, but the majority of the albums requires a number of listens to really start to appreciate. If your willing to give it the time, though, it really starts to shine.

I've heard critics of band acuse them of sounding repetitive - that's nonsense. The album features elements of dreamy, krautrock, shoegaze, 80's indie, late 70's post-punk, 60's psych and more. Obvious influences include the Velvet Underground, Neu! And My Bloody Valentine, but that's just scratching the surface. The vocals are a bit of a love/hate aspect of the band, but personally I think they're great. Sure, it wouldn't be unfair to call them monotone, but who said that's a bad thing? What about Lou Reed (RIP) or Leonard Cohen? They don't exactly have the widest vocal ranges on earth but no one compains about them.

I've listened to the album something like 10 times since I got it a week ago, and the first time I was a bit non-plussed by it all, but I'm very glad I kept with it because the songs are now firmly stuck in my head, and probably will be for a long time yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark and dreamy trip, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
At the tail end of the year, when most critics have already written their best of lists Toy release their second album Join The Dots. This deserves to be added to those lists. Building on their first album TOY have delivered a psychedelic guitar driven album of songs that is more mature than their debut. It has numbers that build and gather momentum as they go. You Won't Be The Same starts as a standard guitar psych number that's been heard before but about half way in starts to gather pace, with guitar and effects taking over. In fact it the instrumentation here that works best as shown on the title track. A driven riff with effects leads into a vocal after more than a minute and then this is dispensed with to great effect when the guitars come crashing in - its almost Post Rock meets Psychedelia. It has some nods to other recent similar albums such as Tame Impala's Lonerism. However, there is a bit more focus here and more drive in the rhythm section. Its not that spaced out.

Join The Dots is a great follow up effort that shows a darker side to TOY. It has some great moments and promises much. I can only imagine that live this will be expanded to great effect. Until then enjoy this dark and dreamy trip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the reviews speak for themselves, 24 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (MP3 Download)
There isn't a review of this band where I have seen any negativity. They stick to what they do, they haven't got any time to be told how they should sound or act, they're too busy developing even more magnitude to what they've already achieved

Because of this, I think there isn't a music publication who can fault them in anyway. Music needs bands like Toy, art needs people like this to express themselves and reach out to as many as possible (and then be remembered)

I often guess the press like Toy so much because a band have come along and made something that stands alongside The Velvet Underground, but it stands on it's own without the comparison

It may take a few listens for new or fresh eyes, but there will be no regrets once you've realised the greatness they have produced here (and in the previous album)

Get amongst it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (MP3 Download)
Seen live and fell in love with both of their albums. The sounds scapes and long riffs are best suited for being played live but nonetheless the melodies and synthesizer ability easily match those of its predecessor (TOY). Get both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 14 Mar 2014
By 
mobsta "melmu" (wiltshire,england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
Some interesting ideas and some influences from the better bands ( Pink Floyd, Manson) but let down by poor production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Deception, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
After their amazing first record, that I love to listen, songs like "Dead and Gone" here I think yhey have forgotten something in the way, pop and not with the same enthusiasm, it's a pity!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An oddity - an album I really enjoy... but don't ask me to name a specific song!, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (MP3 Download)
I really enjoy this album - but I could not tell you one song from another! Admittedly I usually play this when I am reading (it works perfectly for that purpose as I can concentrate on the reading and let the music take up what concentration is left after) on my iPod Touch.

Very enjoyable, with nice psych touches but, for me, it gets played as background music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toy - Join The Dots CD, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
This was a present for my fiance for Xmas. We are both fans of this band, and it is a terrific CD. It did take a while to arrive, but thankfully got here in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first album, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Dr. Simon J. Carr "Civ-fan" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
This is a good album from Toy, but it just seems to lack the impact of the fantastic first album. I can't remember who does lead vocals, but he does an excellent job of being very mechanical with lyrics that have a lot of meaning. Just a little emotion would be a real bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the next big thing, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join The Dots (Audio CD)
The long first and last tracks could make a fine LP side of Neu influenced krautish rock, but when they venture beyond motorik instrumentals the vocals and lyrical concepts (I suspect) are too weak. Sort of like a less inspired version of Tame Impala. The band has some skill and the right impulses, but most tracks are too vocally bland and anonymous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa809be7c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews