Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Elf
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:56 Mins
There have been a lot of reviews for this excellent portable audio solution-this is only the second time I have made a video review(after many years of using Amazon) because I think this is a great product at a great price!-there are so many brands 'out there'and I have had countless desk top speakers mostly 'Creative' who also do a similar...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. Charles De Greeff

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sWho wants a speaker that shouts at you?
Nice sound but unusable for us because of the extremely loud voice announcements which it makes when connecting, disconnecting or has a low battery. We can't risk using it since it keeps bellowing out announcements, making us jump and waking the baby. No options to switch off or adjust volume, or to make any configuration changes.
Published 3 months ago by eiamjw


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Elf, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. Charles De Greeff (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
Length:: 1:56 Mins

There have been a lot of reviews for this excellent portable audio solution-this is only the second time I have made a video review(after many years of using Amazon) because I think this is a great product at a great price!-there are so many brands 'out there'and I have had countless desk top speakers mostly 'Creative' who also do a similar version but far more expensive (I'm sure they sound great)but back to THE ELF they really are worth every penny and deliver a sound that punches way above it's price-just my penny's-worth but if you are fortunate enough to own a tablet you will be delighted with these.The have been reviews suggesting some conspiracy about all the positive evaluations I hope this eccentric review will help others to decide/purchase.Charlie(Troyes -FR)ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pick of the sub-£30 BT speakers., 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
After trying several of the main offerings in the £15-£30 bluetooth speaker bracket, I settled on the ELF, as it had the best overall feature set. Reasonable price, good quality sound, decent battery life (although this is only initial reports), and better than average bluetooth range. Also, looks nicely understated, with matt rubberised body and simple buttons with no flashy branding.

Only negatives I can really think of is the alert tones, when using Siri/pairing etc are a bit loud, and the blue light that continually flashes when paired....but this can be sorted with the low tech solution of a bit of black insulation tape.

As an aside, after comparing both, this appears to be exactly the same as the Bolse BT speaker which sells for £7 more. The only difference is the branding, which some may seem as a plus, the speaker grill design and packaging. Everything else is identical down to the sounds/speech alerts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing speaker for the price, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
For £23, this is an excellent bluetooth speaker. It is very solidly built, and while it doesn't exactly stand out design wise, it still looks pretty good. But the sound is the best thing about this speaker. Obviously you're not going to get masses of bass from something this small, but there is decent bass for the size. It's the midrange and treble where this speaker really shines - very full and precise midrange and good treble that doesn't grate. There is also no sign of distortion at high volumes.

It filled a large kitchen/living/dining room open plan area on holiday recently, which is what this speaker is ideal for. The battery keeps going for a long time - I haven't checked exactly how long, but the 8 hours quoted seems reasonable. It is perfect for taking away on holiday as it is small but delivers a big sound.

I would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sWho wants a speaker that shouts at you?, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
eiamjw (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
Nice sound but unusable for us because of the extremely loud voice announcements which it makes when connecting, disconnecting or has a low battery. We can't risk using it since it keeps bellowing out announcements, making us jump and waking the baby. No options to switch off or adjust volume, or to make any configuration changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The benchmark for budget portable speakers., 14 May 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's easy to get blasé about modern digital speakers, particularly at the lower end, where competition has become so cutthroat that consumers can practically take it for granted that we can get something that can fill a room for less than a round of drinks.

This is one such speaker, I got mine, delivered, for less than 11 quid. To be fair, that will get you 7 pints of £1.49 IPA in The Justice Mil in Aberdeen, although I've never been to a Wetherspoons (or any pub), where everyone buys the special promo, but I am heavily digressing here so I'll summarise and just say that this is bargain-basement cheap.

Unboxing is a similar experience to opening a new iPhone, using the same slide off smooth paper finish that everyone seems to have adopted, you get your usual micro-usb cable and paper instructions, plus a 3.5mm cable.

It's fairly weighty for it's size, presumably it has a sizeable Li-ion battery in it. It is, doesn't creak and feels fairly well made, it's essentially a Jawbone Jambox clone.

Turning it on, you'll get the usual beep and a sampled status voice, there is an issue when pairing with multiple devices, where it will connect to both simultaneously when both are in range whether you want it to or not, and even if you remove the speaker from your pairing list, the speaker will not forget and complain audibly that paring wan't successful. A factory reset would almost certainly resolve this, however there appears to be no way of doing that, which is a bit annoying, but not a huge deal.

You also get a full complement of controls on the top, something often missing on far more expensive speakers, not a main concern for me as I tend to use the playback device to control, but once to have.

I played back music from a variety of genres, and spoken word via a few podcasts, I did direct A-B comparisons with a Sony SRS-BTS50, a vastly more expensive speaker, but similar in terms of audio specs - 2.5+2.5 watts, plus passive bass radiator.

Without going into detail, the Elf can go bit louder and has a brighter sound, and the Sony has fuller, deeper bass and a warmer overall sound. The Elf is more prone to distortion and case vibration on certain bass driven tracks, particularly Deadmaus/Kascade "I Remember" and "Real Joy" by Fono. Acoustic and string based music, pop, rock etc is more tolerant than deep house bass lines, however you can still get the speakers to fart a bit if you max out both source and speaker, I find notching down the volume by one on both devices resolves this, while still offering volume levels comparable to the Sony.

Overall, the Sony does sound a little nicer, and is less prone to distortion, has a nicer designed case, NFC etc. But the fact that for relative pennies, I managed to get a device that not only compares very well, sonically to a speaker that retailed for £130, but actually manages to beat it in terms of volume and arguably clarity in certain circumstances, can't be ignored.

Put it this way, half a decade ago, you couldn't even get an XMI mini 2 this cheaply, I paid over £15 for one of those in 2009, and while those little golf balls are still great little squawkers (better than hotel LCD tellies, I've actually used and XMI to make them more audible!), these passive radiator speakers are a quantum leap in comparison, and now we can get them for same price. Even the battery life manages to be in the same ballpark.

Taking the technical and audio niggles into account, I still can't give this less than five stars for the money. It's about to be an awesome little gift for a family member.

Side note, the box claims 5+5 watt RMS, but I would take this product pages claimed specs of 6 combined (3+3) as more likely to be accurate. Think of this as having 2 XMI minis plus a mini sub-woofer in a small box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for all music loving holidaymakers!, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
I can't believe you can get such a rich sound from such a tiny box! The Bluetooth range is reviewed as being a little limited but hey, this is designed for close proximity use and is fine when used in the same room as the transmitting device. For under £20 this has to be a must purchase for any music loving holidaymaker. If you don't have a Bluetooth device, just plug your MP3 or pocket CD player in using the lead provided and get a lovely big sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly loud, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
The Elf gives out a surprising volume of sound given its size. As long as you stay within the same room the bluetooth connection is good. Definitely does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, good price., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect! performs very well given it's size and price. I use it around the house and it's loud enough even for small social gatherings. The price is good value, and cheap enough that I don't feel guilty having it in the bathroom when I shower or leaving on the grass if I'm doing yard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for bringing on holiday, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The ELF - Ultra Portable Mini Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker for All Devices with Bluetooth Capability + Siri Compatible - 8 hours Playtime (rechargeable battery) / with Built-in Mic for use as a Powerful Handsfree Speakerphone (Black) (Electronics)
Small speaker, great for bringing on holiday, sound is surprisingly good for all the size of it. Used it for beside the pool and couldn't really have asked for anything more. Overall it's been great value for money and I'd definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good with a couple drawbacks, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sound quality: Quite good, if you locate the speaker wisely, you'll get enormous amount of bass out of this little fella due to its active bass diaphragm. 40mm drivers provide good sound quality (with a some acceptable distortion at highest level).

Sound level: Not too high in an open field for example, enough for indoors. And again, try corners of the room, it improves the sound quality and level...

Build quality: Exterior build quality is not very high, but it's quite good for this amount of money. It dropped a couple of times (one time 2meters, others were 30 to 50 centimeters) The metal part got some damages but everything is fine. Nothing happened to the thing, so I'd say its quite stiff.

Color: It is exactly as it seems on the photo (BLUE) however, I've ordered a RED one for my friend and it is not as it looks like on the photo, its way cooler and darker; so if you like dark-ish red and black, don't hesitate to go for the red one.

Battery: Battery life is very long especially if you don't listen at peak power. Didn't do any measurements but I think its as it says on the specs.

Bluetooth: Now, this part is why I gave 4 stars to this speaker. Connecting is usually OK, but I have to both turn off my computer's bluetooth and turn off the speaker and pair again because the sound quality is too low sometimes. And the range is quite bad as well, mine is definitely not able to maintain a stable connection after 5 meters. (iPhone 5S and Late 2011 MacBook Pro) My friend said she couldn't connect it to its Windows Laptop as well. But of course you can use the 3.5mm cable all the time, which would save a lot of battery as well.

Connection ports: USB charging port got a bit dislocated and now it doesn't accept every cable for charging but still works. 3.5mm port seems OK, didn't use it very much though.

OVERALL CONCLUSION:
If you want a relatively cheap portable speaker with high sound quality, go for it! Definitely worth the buy with ~20 pounds. There are worse speakers for almost twice this price tag on the market, don't waste your money on those... I'd go for 4,5 stars if it was possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews