Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars235
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2014
No problem with the book itself, just the Kindle version. The text is not scalable on my Kindle Touch and its tiny in native format so you can't read it without a magnifying glass. Completely pointless. Maybe it will work on your Kindle, but it didn't on mine.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
My son loves this book
Recommended for young readers
There are many more books to read following this one to keep them entertained
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
Well written and very entertaining - doesn't matter if you have already seen the film a thousand times, as in my 7-year-old son's case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
If, like me, you have seen the movie and have decided to pass-up on the book, then you have made a grave error. Why? Because the movie based upon ideas from the current series of books, not upon any in particular. So little of the book is contained in the film that they become two distinct stores about the same hero - Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III.

Hiccup is not the archetypal Viking. He is, in fact, a near useless stick insect of a boy who, in this tale must find and train a dragon of his own or forever be exiled from the tribe of Hooligan. The boys, nine of them must first catch a dragon. Which is located conveniently in the dragon nursery, a hundred feet up the Wild Dragon Cliffs. Then they must escape with said dragon, in a basket on their backs whilst not waking the countless thousands of hibernating dragons.

From thereon in, it is simply a matter of training their captive dragons before the initiation ceremony. One small thing though, a Seadragonus Giganticus Maximus (more of a mountain than a creatures) has just been wash up on the beach by a storm and is hungry, even though it just ate another of its own kind.

Now, most dragons can be quite easily tamed with a good, strong voice, something that Hiccup lacks. So Hiccup has to find another way to train his dragon, Toothless, not only to remain a part of the tribe but also to rid the island of Berk or the monster on the beach. A plan is hatched and duly deployed but will a hairy bra stuffed with feathers be enough to see off the giant on the beach.

This book is written for children of around the age of 40. It is filled with scruffy sketches to make it look as though Hiccup had written it himself, truly briliant. There is huour throughout with many belly laughs. I cannot reccomend this book enough. Even my son (aged 10) loves it and has gone on to read more of the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
My son loved this book, he's 8 years old and it really caught his imagination. Well written, full of adventure and an excellent purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Awesome book. I'd read it before but it was a joy to pick up on Kindle, if you like dragons and a bit of mischief, this book is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
My 8 year old son loved this book. Great jacket design and the story gripped him. He's looking forward to reading others in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
excellent. recommended by a friend and not disappointed. bought for 7 year old who loves the story of hiccup and his toothless dragon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Great books. My son is really enjoying reading them. Bought the first three, nearly finished them so will be getting the next 3 soon!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
All ages loved this audio cd, stories kept everyone hooked on long car journey. Brilliant narration by David Tennet. Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse