Customer Reviews


516 Reviews
5 star:
 (363)
4 star:
 (108)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film
I remember when I went to the cinema to watch this when it first came out; I was absolutely blown away by it, Tom Hanks pulled of an amazing performance as well as Emma Thompson. Not enough credit has been given to this film which is such a shame. I highly recommend this,
Published 9 months ago by index

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expectations unfulfilled
I had expected much more of this film after recommendation from one of my daughters. I cringed at the Mrs. Banks' rudeness and now believe that little of it was true to life. Surprisingly, because I've always really like Tom Hanks' acting, I didn't think much of it in this film particularly in the scene near the end when he had travelled to England to try one last time...
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. S. G. H. Green


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 7 Mar 2014
This review is from: Saving Mr Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I remember when I went to the cinema to watch this when it first came out; I was absolutely blown away by it, Tom Hanks pulled of an amazing performance as well as Emma Thompson. Not enough credit has been given to this film which is such a shame. I highly recommend this,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The unstoppable force meets the immovable object., 31 Mar 2014
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Mr Banks [DVD] (DVD)
An engrossing film about Walt Disney's struggle to persuade P.L. Travers to let him make a film of 'Mary Poppins'. Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks are superb as Travers and Disney. Despite the fact that Travers was obviously an extremely difficult woman my sympathies are, on the whole, with her. Disney's film is marvellous in its way, but his Mary Poppins is not Travers's, and it is understandable that she didn't really want the character she loved moulded in the Disney image. But his patient and untiring struggle to get Travers to let him have his way is fascinating to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous trip down memory lane, 30 Mar 2014
Adored Mary poppins as a child, this film brought back great memories. Emma Thompson is brilliant, fantastic cutting dialogue. Very funny
Tom hanks amazing as Walt Disney.
Basically loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pears...., 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: Saving Mr Banks [DVD] (DVD)
Walt Disney's daughters begged him to make a movie of their favourite book, P.L. Travers' "Mary Poppins," so he promised them he would.

In his quest to obtain the rights, he comes up against a writer who has absolutely no intention of letting her beloved creation get ruined by Hollywood. But, as the money grows short, Travers reluctantly agrees to meet and hear Disney's plans for the adaptation.

Walt pulls out all the stops. Armed with imaginative storyboards and songs, he launches an onslaught on P.L. Travers, but she doesn't budge.

But Walt discovers the truth about Mary Poppins, and together they set her free.....

Brilliant is one word to describe this movie, and it's all thanks to Thompson. Her portrayal of Travers is wonderfully complex. At once, you see a meddling Battleaxe, but at the same time, you see a child begging to come to the surface, and you cannot help but like her, despite her little outbursts.

Hanks knows he's not going to outshine Thompson, so he is wonderfully restraint as the big man, and it's to his credit, he's a joy to watch too.

Its funny and equally heartbreaking in parts, and the best parts of the film are set in Austrailia, these set the foundations of the narrative, and really add gravitas to the Disney scenes, honestly, this is Farrell's career best performance, even if he does seem to be channelling Johnny Depp on occasion.

If you are a fan of Mary Poppins, this is a must, and if your not, it's still a fascinating insight into one woman's love of her work, and how much it means to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificently sentimental story that prompted audible sobbing in the theatre, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Saving Mr Banks [DVD] (DVD)
As always, no spoilers whatsoever in this review because that's just plain inconsiderate.

Saving Mr. Banks is a dual narrative portrait of the author of Mary Poppins and the creative team at Walt Disney that worked to bring it to the big screen. In one thread (1961) we have the curmudgeonly author behaving like a stark raving... well, curmudgeon as she tries to exert control over the creative process. In the other thread (1906, Australia) we unwind the story of her grim childhood that makes her a curmudgeon in the first place.

This movie has a lot of things to say not the least of which is to cast an entirely different light that beloved American classic of childhood. Mary Poppins ain't quite what you think it's about as a kid (but then what good movie IS what you think it's about when you're a kid). It's also a powerful demonstration of how our childhood influences us as adults sometimes in ways that we don't quite grasp until we look back on them from a great distance.

It's also interesting to see behind the curtain of the creative process. Avoiding spoilers, the author's primary objection is that Mary Poppins and the Banks family have become, in truth, her family over the years and sharing that vision and letting someone else have a piece of them is frightfully difficult. It does make a person wonder if all authors have this same struggle when crossing mediums.

Lastly, I'm a sucker for sentiment but this movie had the audience blowing its nose and audibly sniffing for a good hour. It's an incredibly intimate portrait. However, the kids won't think much of it and the group in the theatre with me was 50+ for the most part. All that said, highly recommended for anyone with a sentimental streak. Best movie I've seen in a month or more.

PS: The patient who sit through the credits will be treated to some photos from the movie's production and a section of the recorded conversations between the author and the production cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 April 2014
By 
T. Hatchman "tina-Niko-Hatchman" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Mr Banks [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a true work of art. Light hearted with a feel good factor. Loved it from start to finish. This will please young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great film. and a must see. sublime acting all around, 19 Nov 2014
This review is from: Saving Mr. Banks (DVD)
really enjoyed this film.
I had forgotten what it was about till I got it through the post and put it on.
I always loved mary poppins as a child .my children have enjoyed mary poppins to and watching the film you don't realise how much went into the production of this film at the time.
this film is a great way to see how real life situations can be, with a good imagination, turned into something great.
the cast are outstanding, but you wouldn't expect any less from tom hanks, emma Thompson and colin Farrell.
they all play blinding roles, emma is just out of this world she portrays the character brilliantly.
all the scenery and props are so realistic it really makes you think its the 1960's again.
all the supporting cast are great aswell. a perfectly picked cast that work together on the film so well.
shed a tear and now want to watch mary poppins again.
just a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'LET'S GO AND FLY A KITE', 24 Mar 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two of the names that get my attention, the magic of childhood movie-making
'Walt Disney' and one of todays finest actors 'Tom Hanks'
The film is the true story of how the film 'Mary Poppins' came about.
The author 'P.L.Travers' (Emma Thompson) is down on her uppers, she's almost
broke, she's not written a book for some time, the royalties are no longer paying
for her life-style.
'Walt Disney' (Tom Hanks) wants to adapt her book 'Mary Poppins' into a movie,
to do so he has to have her permission to go ahead.
She takes a flight to L.A to reluctantly discuss his proposals, on arrival her hotel
room is stacked out with Disney Characters (toys and puppets).with the courtesy
of 'Walt'.............She is not amused.
'Walt' has pursued his dream to turn the book into a film for twenty years having
promised his then young daughter he would do so.
'Pamela' has agreed to listen to the proposals 'Walt' and his team have though
she is in no mood to make compromises, and will not be easily impressed.
Every thing suggested early on is rejected out of hand by 'Pamela' she even has
a thing about the colour 'red' and will not discuss any form of animation.
'Walt' and his team become frustrated as every idea is knocked back, the situation
looks seemingly impossible, but 'Walt' isn't about to give up, he wants her signature
on the contract.
'Pamela' apparently like 'Walt' have ghosts from the past, she often reflects on events
that shaped her life during childhood, yet, it had inspired her in the writing of the book
'Mary Poppins'
'Walt' has to find a way to understand the lady to achieve his ambition with her blessing
to go ahead and create the story they both want.
There are many amusing confrontations between 'Walt' and his team with 'Pamela'
The film, sometimes very funny, often touching and deeply moving, a tale that will
almost certainly draw you in whether you like the film 'Mary Poppins' or not, the film
which is 'the making of 'Mary Poppins' is quite simply ....a must see.
A DELIGHTFUL FILM.
Great performances throughout with superb picture and sound quality.
Special Features:
* Deleted Scenes - 'Stargaze' - 'Nanny Song' - 'Pam leaves'
* Behind the scenes - 'The Disney studios-from 'Mary Poppins' to present.
* Behind the scenes: - Let's Go Fly a Kite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pitch Perfect Performances, A Film With Heart, 19 April 2014
By 
Andrew D Wright "Andrew W." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saving Mr Banks [DVD] (DVD)
This is a lovely film, crass, brash Americana meets post-colonial stiff-upper-lippiness! Tom Hanks does a great job of playing a kindly Uncle Disney version of the eponymous Walt, all paternalism and Apple Pie but Emma Thompson is the total show-steeler with her rendition of the psychologically damaged, ice-maiden that's PL Travers.

Through flash-backs PL Travers early life traumas are spilt for us delicately, stitching together a picture that sees the slow destruction of the deified figure of her father into the alcoholic shadow he became. We see him fail, repeatedly, we see these events impact on her mother all the while in the present of our story, 1960s America, we see Walt Disney and writers of the motion picture screenplay for Mary Poppins trying to melt PL Travers icy heart. She needs to sign the rights over so the movie can be made and she is extremely sniffy about some of the frivolous directions they seem to have taken her character.

This is a quality movie, gentle, thought-provoking and effectively braiding its stories set in different timelines neatly and completely in a way that was very satisfying. We all know that PL Travers relented and Mary Poppins got the Disney treatment and in one of the most touching moments in the film we see Emma Thompson's character crying buckets as the bank manager dad returns at the end to sing and dance enthusiastically ready for kite-flying. The epitomy of fatherliness and good times absent from her own upbringing and the antithesis of her own dad's ignominious ending. Of course, truth and biography have been tweaked here to make a more complete story I'm sure, but it has been done in such a loving and respectful way that both Disney and PL Travers emerge as sympathetic figures.

Well worth a couple of hours of your time.

**** (Four stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saved from sentiment, 17 April 2014
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Mr. Banks (DVD)
Wonderful performances from Emma Thompson - superb as P.L. Travers who wrote Mary Poppins - and Tom Hanks, who never disappoints, raise this film above the average. It could have been a rather boring account of the stand-off between Travers and Disney over the details of creating a film of Mary Poppins, but instead the interaction between the two characters is fiery, feisty, compelling, and compassionate. The gradual thawing of Travers's implacable opposition to 'trivialising' her beloved heroine through Disney's patient wooing of this difficult personage is a small masterpiece of acting and delicate balance between the two protagonists.

The back story of Travers's own troubled upbringing in Australia, her devotion to her wayward, alcoholic father (Colin Farrell), her despairing mother (played beautifully by the lovely Ruth Wilson) provides interesting contrast and enlightens the viewer into Travers's reasons for developing her 'difficult' persona, as well as revealing the truth behind the creation of one of Disney's best loved characters.

Well-produced, leisurely paced, comfortably portrayed, with pertinent clips from the the actual film of Mary Poppins, and excellent back-up from the supporting cast, this is a properly professional adult movie without sentimentality, with dignity and grace and everyone 'scrubs up well'. All in all, a much more satisfying film than I expected, and all credit to the marvellous Emma Thompson and perpetually talented Tom Hanks. A great film for all the family especially anyone who loves Mary Poppins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saving Mr Banks [DVD]
Saving Mr Banks [DVD] by Tom Hanks (DVD - 2014)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews