Customer Reviews


494 Reviews
5 star:
 (442)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album so far this year
Excellent soulful voice and powerful lyrics
No doubt a new worldwide superstar.
The Best Album of 2014 released to date.
Published 3 months ago by Inga

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the vinyl. It's not worth it.
The vinyl version of this LP just sounds wonky. I was really excited about this record and it disappointed. The quality was just lacking. It lacked the energy present in the digital tracks and while the vocals sounded in-tune, the music behind it sounded strangely out of tune. It was hard not to cringe at certain points.
Published 3 days ago by Daniel Sepe


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album so far this year, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent soulful voice and powerful lyrics
No doubt a new worldwide superstar.
The Best Album of 2014 released to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best debut album I've ever purchased!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
Absolutely love this album. Sam's voice is stunning. There's not a bad song on the album. Love love love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the months of waiting!, 26 May 2014
By 
N. Negus (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
I pre ordered this CD back in Feb.......Received it today and its straight on! Love it......Mine has 14 tracks on the CD and on the cloud player so not sure what the other reviewer is referring too....Love Sam Smith, he is so refreshing, sings from the heart.....A truly lovely album. Have tickets to see him at the end of the year in Birmingham. Hope that comes around quicker than the album release has!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a bow Sam Smith, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
It's so refreshing to hear a true male vocalist rather than the usual pop voices that are around today. Sam is a talented singer, versatile and can easily slip into different genres like all the great male vocalists can. But his songwriting skills are also impressive for someone so young.

Highlight of the album is the soulful, pain infused Stay With Me - it's one of those songs where you stop whatever you are doing to listen to it. Also Restart harks back to the funky R&B dance pop of the 80s, a real treat for the summer!

On a side note, not great from Amazon - only 10 tracks are available on the cloud. Not impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Crafted and Melodious!, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant Album! Well crafted melodious songs sung from the heart. There is not a bad track, no fillers, every song has it's own merit. Best collection of songs since Adele's 21
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a voice, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
This is probably the best album I have bought since 21 (Adele) this man's music is mesmerising. I love the whole album, each and every song is unique. His voice has such a fantastic range and I can't stop playing In The Lonely Hour. It's a truly wonderful album from a gifted artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth waiting for...., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
A great debut album. You will not be disappointed.... all good tracks with that unmistakable amazing soulful voice. Well done Sam Smith! I downloaded MP3 and got all 14 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
I just like to thank Sam Smith for releasing such a quality album...this is by far one of the best albums I have in my collection. Every track tells a story I would highly recommend this album if you like something relaxing, it's a definite thumbs up from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the slow lonely hour, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have liked a few more uptempo numbers but no getting away from that fantastic soulful voice. Living up to all the hype and everyone should see him live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I took a chance with this, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Lonely Hour (Audio CD)
Id only heard one track just once when I ordered this and could have been very disappointed.Thankfully I love it.Some of the songs get really stuck in your head.Im so glad I took a chance.I have a VERY varied taste in music so wouldnt be able to say who this would appeal to but since buying it it has become apparent it is very popular!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Lonely Hour
In The Lonely Hour by Sam Smith (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews