Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pepys
I wanted an easy to read version of this all time classic and it gave me just that without taking away the detail of the times. It gives a fascinating insight to the period and bringing it to life.
The seller sent it virtually straight away, so all in all it was an excellent purchase.
Published on 11 Jan. 2013 by Michelle Twemlow

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expurgated Victorian version
If you are chiefly interested in Pepys' public life then this is an informative read. However, as well as being 'concise' it is also a heavily expurgated version with much of the colour and texture of Pepys' observations leached out of it. Much of the detail of his personal and domestic life has been cut and certainly the more colourful passages about his sexual exploits...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by A. Murray


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expurgated Victorian version, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
A. Murray (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are chiefly interested in Pepys' public life then this is an informative read. However, as well as being 'concise' it is also a heavily expurgated version with much of the colour and texture of Pepys' observations leached out of it. Much of the detail of his personal and domestic life has been cut and certainly the more colourful passages about his sexual exploits. Just as one example, the famous entry for October 25th 1668, when Pepys' wife catches him in an embrace with their maid, Deborah Willett, is absent altogether. So while this version still holds some interest - Pepys was a lively writer on most subjects - it really is a pale and stuffy remainder of the original. Would definitely not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars all the best bits are missing, thanks alot victorians, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now, you're not going to read Samuel Pepys diary, unless you are keenly into your history. Thus, the fact that this is a very challenging read for your average layman is no suprise and is infact a welcome challenge,(both in a gramatical, and stamina sense)

His first hand accounts of dealing with the duke of york (future James II) and other exciting figures, plus the great plague and the fire are well known, and paint a fascinating human picture of these people and events that is lost in text books. What is also well known is how candidly Pepys recorded all his sexual exploits, drunken evenings and quarrells with his wife etc.

I knew that it would be hard work to plough through all the 'Naval regualtions' and 'venison pasties', but i told myself the amusing anecdotes of his ongoing sexual harrasment of his servants wife, and various flings with women would be my reward as i trudged through....

However to my distress, half way through i realised that this version of the diary is the very first abridged version that was released to the public, by the victorians, (his manuscripts had been resting in coded short hand for the best part of 200 years before anyone decided to de-crypt it). Victorian moral censorship, meant that all refernces to sex and the majority of references to domestic disputes were completely cut out, leaving nothing but inoffensive daily routine and the current affairs.

whilst still an absolute wealth of first hand history from the Restoration, i couldnt help feeling ripped off by the cutting of the famous sexual licence of the time. if i had the stamina, i might read a different version which included those bits, but i dont think i ever want to pick up that 700 page monster again.

glad i read it, never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pepys, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted an easy to read version of this all time classic and it gave me just that without taking away the detail of the times. It gives a fascinating insight to the period and bringing it to life.
The seller sent it virtually straight away, so all in all it was an excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An easy read of a fairly complicated book. All the interesting stuff in compact (ish!) Form. Can be dipped into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Concise Pepys Diary, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent service.etc but slight variation to generalised description:IE some wear and tear to spine/cover and tanning to pages.But acceptable for personal use and excellentt value.Just slightly misleading if you wanted it for a gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting., 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrived very quickly and was 'as new'. I have read a few chapters, as it is not really for 'light reading', but very interesting and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 2 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unless you want to read the original, full, diaries, this is probably the book for you. The translation from Pepys' shorthand has been expertly done, enabling easy reading without losing the flavour of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews